We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ski Inn(Girdwood)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trail Lake Lodge(Moose Pass)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveler rating
143
132
41
9
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
132
41
9
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprince william soundglacier cruiseplace to stayocean viewin house restaurantking bedjacuzzi tubgreat roomone night staycomfortable roomsfishing boatsno air conditioningbald eagleshalibutwhistleralaskatownhouse
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 340 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2017

This place is great. It is right in the middle of everything. The staff was fantastic at check in. They even gave us a room upgrade. Everything was clean and neat. The restaurant had some very tasty dishes. We stayed August 17/18

Room Tip: Ask for room 307
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ironfloor49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

Upon arriving we immediately decided we wanted to spend a second night and the staff went out of their way to rearrange other reservations to accommodate us. Whittier is one of the most beautiful locations we've ever been to. The scenery is beautiful and the hotel is part of it. The restaurant has excellent food. We had 4 meals there and they were all excellent. The rooms could use modest improvements but they are very nice. Things to think about:
Its Alaska....don't order hamburgers!!! Restaurant food all over the state is more expensive than in the lower 48. The prices here were somewhat mild in comparison. There are a couple of other restaurants but we didn't try them.
In much if not most of Alaska hotels don't have air conditioning. You won't need it
There are no fridges in the rooms
Choose a ocean view room!!!!!!
Bring a raincoat. Expect some soft rain but it won't ruin things. Seeing Whittier in the sunshine would be a sight!
Take a glacier cruise.
The Alaska Brewery draft beers are very good
Go fishing!!!!
Although there is a museum you can explore the entire town in a half day and you can walk everywhere.
Be prepared to take a few hundred pictures. Keep you electronics fully charged

Room Tip: Ocean view room port side third floor
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterGermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

$187. Good Value. Hotel is THE (only) town hotel. ~hundred years old. Room carpet seemed that old. Actually, though looking past the carpet, the hotel was in a great location, close to everything, great views of the sound. Plenty of hot water. Open fresh sea air. Ate at fish place at end opposite the hotel. Great fish & chips. The Best. Interesting story about the very old dormitory type buldings in town. No one eating at the very spacious hotel restaurant. Good coffee at hotel, but no one gets up before 8:00AM Bfast at a town bakery. Tunnel release on the hour. Something to talk about.

Room Tip: Stay on water side. Other side backs up to noisey parking lot with beer drinking.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GaryCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

In you’re going to Alaska you need to visit Whittier and while you’re there you might as well spend the night at the Whittier Inn. First of all, all of Whittier looks like something out of a Steven King novel. If you’re not familiar with Whittier do a little research, almost everyone in Whittier lives in one building, and the old building where they used to live stands sulking nearby. There is only one road in and out of Whittier and it passes through a tunnel, the longest in north America; this is a one lane tunnel that cars going both directions have to share with the many trains coming and going to Whittier each day. There is nothing uninteresting about Whittier. The hotel, I was fascinated by it because I thought it was probably built at the turn of the century and recently updated, but I was wrong. It was built in 2004. Common areas in the hotel are beautiful, but the rooms are small, poorly lit and the carpet in our room was filthy, the toilets are too small to perform two bodily functions at the same time (who designed these?), but I would still go back to Whittier and I would still spend the night at the Whittier, I just don’t go barefoot in the room. Dining area is beautiful and the food we had was very good. Just a really interesting place.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view with a view of the bay and the mountains, I think the harbor view might have been better.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safetydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

We didn't stay here. Only ate dinner at the restaurant. My husband had fish and chips and said it was very good. I had a burger and I wasn't pleased at all. There were large pieces of something all through it that grossed me out. The service was excellent.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank r0bin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews