We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”
Review of Inn At Whittier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn At Whittier
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittier
Certificate of Excellence
Glennallen, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were not expecting to stay in Whittier, but the ferry was broken. We felt lucky to get a room in the town, and it was at the "nicest" hotel.

Unfortunately, the amenities you expect from the "nicest" hotel in town in the lower 48 did not translate. There was not a fridge or microwave in the room, but there was one in the vending machine room. It was not a very comfortable bed. It just needs updating. Much of the furniture really needed to be replaced - lots of nicks and scratches.

I with give them kudos for storing our luggage while we took a "glacier cruise".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    119
    33
    9
    15
See reviews for
62
161
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel staff is extremely accommodating and hospitable! I originally had a reservation with the anchor inn but when I checked in the room hadn't been made up or cleaned. I got my refund and headed down the road to the inn at whittier. They were already closed for the evening but the bartender found a receptionist that could help my daughter and I out. The staff at this hotel is by far the nicest and warmest staff I've ever had the pleasure of doing business with! I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Screennameak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place must consider closing down and remodel. For the price they charge, it is absolutely a joke. This is a 2 star best western look a like at best. Please stay either at anchorage or outside of whittier specially during September time frame. Words can't describe how terrible this place can be during their winter season. There are no restaurants nearby and the hotel offers no service before 12 noon or after 9pm. If your flight gets in anchorage, stay there and shuttle in the morning to catch your cruise. Otherwise, you will experiment the true motel California.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ardy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie C, Assistant General Manager at Inn At Whittier, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We apologize for your experience and we certainly regret that we didn't meet your expectations on this occassion. Our beautiful timber framed building that sits on the water's edge was built in 2004 and is well admired and deeply appreciated by many our our guests. Whittier is a summer town that starts winding down after Labor Day. For the last 2 weeks of September, our restaurant was open for breakfast on the weekends and during the week we offered a free continental breakfast; our restaurant closed at 9:00pm during the week and 10:00pm on the weekends. It was unfortunate that you missed our dinner hours but I do believe our chef did offer soup and salad for you and your wife. The staff at The Inn did try to help the situation every way possible, with a room upgrade and help in finding a car to rent for the day to explore the nearby town of Girdwood. We do realize that at the end of September there is not much open in Whittier and we deeply apologize that this was not made clear at the time of the reservation. Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we do appreciate all feedback here, good or bad, as we strive to provide the best experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benllech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

You can't visit Alaska without the experience of driving to Whittier!
Our original intent was a quick there & back, but we then decided to stay.
Not a lot of choice, but 'The Inn' stood out head & shoulders above the others......
Not cheap, but the (Sea view) room was excellent, in-house restaurant was truly sensational (Although it was the 1st meal in America where I wish I'd ordered more!). Bar staff was the only weakness, more interested in chatting to her friends than anything else)
Excellent breakfast, ready to brave the tunnel home.

Room Tip: Everywhere is quiet, but the 'sea-side' rooms are amazing, sea runs right up to the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanehohe Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We (3 of us) flew into Anchorage a day before our glacier cruise on Princess started. Our Magic Bus motor coach didn't arrive at 9:30 so we called - I'd given my credit card but he said we hadn't confirmed so they didn't come. But Tim said - wait there. Patty came in Tim's SUV, picked us up and gave us the best tour to Whittier - stopped at a Turnagain Arm lookout, were amazed by the expanse of the mud flats. The tide was beginning to come in but we couldn't wait for the bore. Went thru the animal park for a few dollars more, stopped at the salmon stream and got to Whittier. We dropped our luggage then she dropped us about a half mile away in town. It was great. Had fish and chips at Varley's - halibut and cod. EXCELLENT! A must do! Looked into the little stores - you can send three or four kinds of salmon home from there. The town has an interesting history with everyone living in just 2 buildings. At the INN we had a two level "townhouse" which was in the main hotel. It had big windows overlooking the bay both upstairs and down. Big bed upstairs and pullout downstairs, full baths and fireplaces upstairs and down. Dining table next to the window with linens and glasses. The dining room had good food though a little pricey, expansive view of the water. It was cloudy and drizzly. Water was flat and glassy, and a seal and later an otter swam past. It was quietly beautiful. Next day we awoke to see the Coral Princess in the harbor, then the clouds began to lift. We didn't know we were surrounded by beautiful mountains. Cross the Inn you'll see a coffee/sandwich shop - eat the reindeer sausage croissant!!!! It was slightly spicy, juicy and not gamey. In the town there is shop with reindeer dogs sold on the street. try it. We took the Surprise Glacier tour (left our luggage at the Inn) then got on the cruise. I'd do all all the same way again and stay at the Inn in the townhouse (be sure you ask for an ocean view altho the mountains are beautiful too).

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view if you like that - the harbor and the bay are right under your window. Lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jomats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I planned a surprise trip for my husband who was deploying and we had an amazing time. The special was under $300 for a room with a jacuzzi, champagne and a fabulous dinner at their restaurant. The chef was so personal and came out to ask how our food was. It was only us and one other couple, perfection at its finest. This was a year ago and we are returning for our first wedding anniversary in December.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, OH
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Inn at Whittier was perfect for what we needed. We stayed the night before our ship arrived - actually we were able to watch the cruise ship come into the dock late at night under the stars. The rooms are small but adequate and the food was quite good. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Granted, Whittier is very small with a few places to shop - but it is meant as a port for Princess and for that reason it is quite nice. The little shops (open during cruise months) are fun and there are a couple of little cafes. If you are considering staying there to wait for your ship you would be so advised to check on transportation to Whittier before hand - it is limited to certain days from Anchorage and Fairbanks. We hired an individual shuttle at the suggestion of the staff when we couldn't obtain public transportation the day we had our reservations for. Be sure to visit the little shop that has Alaskan native craft items for sale!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgesaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
19.6 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
19 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
1,977 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glacier View Suites
Glacier View Suites
#3 of 4 in Whittier
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
116.8 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#15 of 17 in Talkeetna
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At Whittier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Whittier

Property: Inn At Whittier
Address: 5a Harbor Loop, Whittier, AK 99693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Whittier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn At Whittier 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the mouth of the harbor in Whittier stands Alaska's finest luxury lodging & dining establishment. As you leave the darkness of the Whittier tunnel, you will almost immediately view Whittier's landmark -- The Inn At Whittier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn At Whittier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Whittier Hotel Whittier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing