We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest, Kind, Professional and Clean”
Review of Anchor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whittier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Whittier B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 1, 2010

While the hotel is not the newest, it was very clean, the workers were kind and professional and the room well supplied and very comfortable. For the money, its the best stay in town and if you ever worry about your personal items... you won't have to here. My beautiful pearl necklace was accidentally left behind, and the owners and staff found it and made sure it made its way back to me.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrspearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2010

Am sorry if I sound judgmental, but some of the other reviewers sound a little too entitled! This is Whittier, people....just 200 people live here..and some of them decide to open a nice decent place for us to spend the night...yes, it's not a resort...it's simple, not pretentious...but the rooms are clean, the bathrooms cleaner, there is TV and internet and a restaurant/bar that is open really late. The staff are friendly. Pure heaven for a town this small, and given that the few other in-town accommodations are obnoxiously expensive!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SM1234085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Experienced an 4.7 magnitude earthquake while staying here. I was afraid the cinder block walls were going to fall on me. (and trap me with the previous occupant's garbage that was still behind the nightstand). Room had some kind of ionizer oder remover in the room. (was removed when we had exited the room) device does not work as room still smelled like old diesel fuel, mold and rust.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

I know that everything in Alaska costs a little more, and in some areas service runs on the rugged side, but the Anchor Inn is especially expensive and especially bad. eally run down (ie moldy smelling, rotten window panes, dirty rooms etc...) and it runs in the $60-80 range in the summer. I also had not one, but two motel employees unlock the door and walk right in for reasons I don't know. I 'chaired' the door after that. The spa up the street might be more expensive but maybe worth it even if you're on a budget.

Still, it was nice to sleep on a head that wasn't rising and falling like the ferry. Great views too.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Breal604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Do not stay here, ever!!! Well, where to begin... when you approach the building you are horrified. When you get into the building you cannot believe your eyes. The hallways... it seemed to us like a hotel for prisoners, the carpet has never met a vacuum cleaner. Now it cannot help anymore. The drinking tub in the hallway looked worse than the toilet that Evan McGregor enters in Trainspotting. The room itself looked a little better but smelled very bad. Although the bed and the towels seemed clean, you do not feel good if you know what is behind the door. Fortunately, we had our sleeping bags... Anyway, the ceiling was rusty, the furniture had probably been there since the first people had come to Alaska, the windows had not been washed since then, the cupboards were very (very!) dirty inside, there were hairs in the bathroom (do not want to know how long...), the light in the bathroom worked only from time to time, each sound from the next room could be heard, it was like our neighbors were in our room, etc. And this all was for over a hundred USD per night which was our most expensive stay in Alaska and the only one that was really awful! Seriously, the “hotel” needs a lot of work and plenty of bleach!!! Or to be rebuild. Or to be less than 10 USD per night!!! If you necessarily do not have to, do not stay here! Whatever you want to do in Whittier, you can do it in one day and leave before the dawn to avoid staying here overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OP255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

bad place, with no white goods in the room
small and with nothing special.
avoid it

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thor_odt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

The ceiling was dirty. The bedspread had holes, The window barely opened. ( there was no air cond.so the room was stuffy). The bathroom floor had hair on it. yuk.. The furniture was worn and beat up. The door to the room was more like an interior door. The carpet was a 70's orange. I dont feel the pictures they post acurately reflect what the rooms look like. If the price had been lower, I might have expected this but not at the price they charged. They should fix it up or lower the price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CalforniaFishingBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn

Address: P.O. Box 750, Whittier, AK 99693-0750
Location: United States > Alaska > Whittier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whittier
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing