We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in Whittier Alaska” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whittier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Whittier B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Whittier Alaska”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

If you have stayed at the Anchor Inn in Whittier before and not impressed, you must try their vacation rental unit. We tried it and loved it. It is actually in the Begich Towers, the only highrise building in town. The rental unit is almost 800 square feet... not shabby at all.

Looking out from the big windows from 10th floor, there is the Passage Canal (part of the Prince William Sound), majestic mountains, the glacier, the steep cliff that nests thousands of Kittiwake (the only gull that dives and swims in the water), the water falls, the cruise ships, and the busy tourists.

The kitchen is well equipped with microwave oven, convection oven, toaster, refrigerator, pots, pans, dishes, and utensils, etc. The little dinette is adequate for four. Imaging sitting there having a nice bacon and scramble egg breakfast while enjoying the scenic view... well, we were there.

There were two bedrooms, each of which has a closet, a night stand, a chair, and most importantly, a plush queen bed. The linens were fresh and rather new.

It was worth every penny to stay there. Will do it again next time and stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TimetoRelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
15
14
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

While the hotel is not the newest, it was very clean, the workers were kind and professional and the room well supplied and very comfortable. For the money, its the best stay in town and if you ever worry about your personal items... you won't have to here. My beautiful pearl necklace was accidentally left behind, and the owners and staff found it and made sure it made its way back to me.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrspearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

Am sorry if I sound judgmental, but some of the other reviewers sound a little too entitled! This is Whittier, people....just 200 people live here..and some of them decide to open a nice decent place for us to spend the night...yes, it's not a resort...it's simple, not pretentious...but the rooms are clean, the bathrooms cleaner, there is TV and internet and a restaurant/bar that is open really late. The staff are friendly. Pure heaven for a town this small, and given that the few other in-town accommodations are obnoxiously expensive!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SM1234085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, ct
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Experienced an 4.7 magnitude earthquake while staying here. I was afraid the cinder block walls were going to fall on me. (and trap me with the previous occupant's garbage that was still behind the nightstand). Room had some kind of ionizer oder remover in the room. (was removed when we had exited the room) device does not work as room still smelled like old diesel fuel, mold and rust.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

I know that everything in Alaska costs a little more, and in some areas service runs on the rugged side, but the Anchor Inn is especially expensive and especially bad. eally run down (ie moldy smelling, rotten window panes, dirty rooms etc...) and it runs in the $60-80 range in the summer. I also had not one, but two motel employees unlock the door and walk right in for reasons I don't know. I 'chaired' the door after that. The spa up the street might be more expensive but maybe worth it even if you're on a budget.

Still, it was nice to sleep on a head that wasn't rising and falling like the ferry. Great views too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breal604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

Do not stay here, ever!!! Well, where to begin... when you approach the building you are horrified. When you get into the building you cannot believe your eyes. The hallways... it seemed to us like a hotel for prisoners, the carpet has never met a vacuum cleaner. Now it cannot help anymore. The drinking tub in the hallway looked worse than the toilet that Evan McGregor enters in Trainspotting. The room itself looked a little better but smelled very bad. Although the bed and the towels seemed clean, you do not feel good if you know what is behind the door. Fortunately, we had our sleeping bags... Anyway, the ceiling was rusty, the furniture had probably been there since the first people had come to Alaska, the windows had not been washed since then, the cupboards were very (very!) dirty inside, there were hairs in the bathroom (do not want to know how long...), the light in the bathroom worked only from time to time, each sound from the next room could be heard, it was like our neighbors were in our room, etc. And this all was for over a hundred USD per night which was our most expensive stay in Alaska and the only one that was really awful! Seriously, the “hotel” needs a lot of work and plenty of bleach!!! Or to be rebuild. Or to be less than 10 USD per night!!! If you necessarily do not have to, do not stay here! Whatever you want to do in Whittier, you can do it in one day and leave before the dawn to avoid staying here overnight.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OP255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

bad place, with no white goods in the room
small and with nothing special.
avoid it

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thor_odt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
0.2 mi away
Glacier View Suites
Glacier View Suites
#3 of 4 in Whittier
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Alyeska Hideaway
Alyeska Hideaway
#2 of 3 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn

Property: Anchor Inn
Address: P.O. Box 750, Whittier, AK 99693-0750
Location: United States > Alaska > Whittier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whittier
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing