We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome

I have been renting boats and coordinating muti day paddle trips with Pete for over 10 years... read more

Reviewed September 24, 2022
copperriver2015
,
Denver, Colorado
Great trip!

Four adults on this trip, all with some kayak experience, but this could easily be done with... read more

Reviewed September 14, 2022
gemini6832
Read all 80 reviews
  
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
75
3
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
75
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rubber boots blackstone bay rain gear kayaking experience salmon unbelievable views few hours knowledgeable guides spend an afternoon bald eagles prince william sound highlight of our trip great trip pete natalie paddle kittiwake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 80 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2018

Dave led four of us on a day long trip into Blackstone Bay. We loved spending the day visiting the four glaciers deep in Blackstone Bay and learning about the wildlife. Alaska Sea Kayakers outfitted us so that we were completely warm and dry. Dave had a genuine enthusiasm for nature and was a very engaging guide. We loved his stories about the wildlife and the changes in the glaciers. It was a we'll spent day.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank campbelltucker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

Sights were breathtaking!! This was an awesome three hour kayak tour. Our guides were Anthony and David and they did an amazing job. My husband and I had a little more experience than some others in our group, so they allowed us to split up each taking a group and we were able to go further on the journey because of our experience. The guides knowledge of the area and friendly demeanor made this excursion an absolute joy. Our camera died, and Anthony used his personal camera to take a few pics for us so that we would have them!! Top notch service from this company.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

We kayaked on a very damp, chilly day, but it was still one of the highlights of our Alaska vacation. If you're anywhere near Whittier, this is a trip that is worth making. The tunnel to Whittier is a cool experience, and the tiny town sits on a beautiful harbor surrounded by mountains. We did the day-long Blackstone Bay trip and it was incredible - seeing so many glaciers from the water is just amazing and the guides (Anthony and Kevin) were nice, fun, and helpful. Alaska Sea Kayakers outfitted us to be dry and fairly warm all day. The trip also included a pretty nice picnic lunch and a short rock scramble to see the base of a receding glacier that I am glad we did even though it was at the end of a long day. Very cool!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank brittanypemberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

We had an incredible experience seakayaking in Blackstone Bay with our guides Kevin and Colton! We lucked out and the weather was beautiful!! We kayaked about 12 miles in all that day with an hour break for a yummy lunch (which was provided for us). The glaciers are magnificent and the scenery is gorgeous! We saw seals along the way as well. Our guides went out of their way to make sure we had a safe and fun trip! We highly recommend this adventure—it was well worth the money.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank lynetteengelken
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

We had a great Blackstone Bay kayak tour! Pete was very helpful in planning and was able to connect us with another couple to meet the trip minimum of 4.

They provided all the rain gear that you could possibly need (boots, jackets, pants). While it didn't rain as predicted, I was happy that we were prepared just in case.

I had originally looked at booking one of the boat tours in the area and am so glad that we decided to kayak. The view of Blackstone Bay and the glacier was beautiful and it was incredible to hear the glacier calving. The views / wildlife seemed much more intimate and closer being in a kayak versus being in a boat.

Lunch was a perfect break and we loved the hike at the end. I was a little worried that the day would be too long, but it went by so quickly and we really weren't very tired at the end.

Definitely one of the highlights of our trip!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank ella1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews