We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wasilla
Certificate of Excellence
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a nice place to get away from it all. We frequent the hotel to have some time alone. The breakfast is good, the suite is large, and the jacuzzi tub is devine. A must for anyone trying to steal away some time.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RDWNG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    144
    86
    29
    25
See reviews for
146
149
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Wow! What a nice looking Best Western. Good front desk people, attractive lobby, well equiped very clean room, good bed, and from the south rooms a wonderful view of a lake where airplanes land & take off. Everything else must be good. Bad! I normally do not expect to eat the free breakfasts, but today I did, and it was worser that usual, with the one poor employee unable to keep up. I still gobbled cereal + peanut butter & jelly sandwich because I was going to use their gym; Bad! The equipment is inadaquate and broken; no safe work-out is possible. Even the few delapated dumb-bells were incomplete piecemeal. Indeed, that is the case with most hotel gyms, but this place seemed more promising. However, the sauna looked ok.
So I give the hotel 4 star, and the rest 2 star.

Room Tip: Location is a bit far from resturants, but on a lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was a nice little surprise of a hotel. We needed a place to stay prior to flying out of Anchorage the next morning. I was so glad to avoid the crazy prices for poor quality of Anchorage hotels. It was a relaxing place to stay with more than enough facilities in town to take care of business. The hotel had a laundry facility.

Room Tip: I recommend a lake side view, each lakeside room has a deck with a screen door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmore30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We arrived to Best Western around 10:30pm after we were looking for a long time a place to sleep.. We thought Best Western will be too expensive for us and also we read bad reviews on it so we didnt want to try it. But after we saw horrible places we decided to have a look at Best Western. The receptionist was very nice and gave us a discount since we arrived late. The room was fair, the breakfast was nice, and the view from the dining room was beautiful! It's not a five star hotel but not a bad place to stay. We found it hard to find a dissent place to sleep in, in our trip to Alaska but Best Western was one of the good places we found. Check in late and u might get a discount we paid $99 before tax!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppySeed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Pros: View of lake, able to walk down to the water front, free wireless, clean/modern room, nice lobby with lots of taxidermy. An OK breakfast with french toast, eggs, and other basics provided. Overall, the facility was clean and presentable. For those who are Sarah Palin fans, you love the fact that her house is just four docks to the left the hotel's dock and his view able by boat/somewhat viewable from the hotel's docks.

Cons: Overpriced. Most people who are staying here are just for a day or less. Also, there is a nice bar and restaurant but it appeared dead -- meaning it was closed. Perhaps it's not open in the summer? Also - how about offering some paddle boats or kayaks to your guest to use? This hotel would probably do better if it took out the Best Western name and went solo/independent.

Overall: It was nice but again, overpriced.

Room Tip: Fork out the extra $20 and get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southpugetsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Il
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Dependable room with an incredible Lakeside setting. The grounds were kept very nice, with a private dock and a killer sea gull mother who tried to buzz me while I was walking around. Breakfast was so-so, didn't appear to be attended, but adequate.

Room Tip: Lake view would be worth it if you are doing more than sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t1andjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
838 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Best Western Lake Lucille Inn. My room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and had lots of pillows. There was a flat screen TV (without HD channels) and a refrigerator, but no microwave. Internet service was pretty good, though it took a while to connect. The view from my room and the breakfast area is spectacular, Lake Lucille with mountains in the background. Breakfast is pretty good. It included fruit, fresh pastries, eggs, sausage, biscuits, sausage gravy, juices, and coffee. Although the eggs were a bit overcooked, it was better than average for a mid range motel. Worth a night's rest stop if you're on your way to Denali driving from Kenai or Copper River.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room. It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasilla
4.2 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
16.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
12.3 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
5.1 mi away
Agate Inn, Inc.
Agate Inn, Inc.
#3 of 25 in Wasilla
90 reviews
7.4 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lake Lucille Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lake Lucille Inn

Property: Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
Address: 1300 W Lake Lucille Dr, Wasilla, AK 99654-7923 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lake Lucille Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Wasilla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wasilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lake Lucille Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lake Lucille Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lake Lucille Hotel Wasilla
Wasilla Best Western
Best Western Wasilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing