We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Nice Place and People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Wasilla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, IL
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“What a Nice Place and People”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This is a great place to stay. We had the "Fishing" room. It was very large and spacious and the bathroom was more than ample with double sinks, shower and new claw-footed tub. HUGE central room with apple computers available for your use at two different locations. Excercise equipment, pool and game tables, nice solarium on top, and beautiful views. No TV's but we had our own laptop that we could watch a movie on at night. The breakfast was VERY GOOD. Eggs, meat, and pancakes that would best IHOP, with fruit, cereals and plenty of choices available. Nice coffee machines with different individual choices in cappachinos, etc. I can't imagine anything that was lacking in this bed and breakfast. PLUS the owner sat down with us in the morning after she had served breakfast and graciously answered any questions we asked - even some personal ones about her business.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moodymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
57
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

If you come to the Inn from Anchorage, as we did, it seems like it is in the middle of nowhere. Actually, it is 1/2 mile from a Super Wal-Mart, and not far from a range of restaurants and other amenities.

It is 30-40 minutes from Anchorage, very near the intersection of the main roads that head either toward Denali and Fairbanks or Glenallen and Valdez.

There is a very nice view from the front deck, the large common area, and the observation room enclosed in glass on the roof. Not much to see from the rooms. As you can tell from the Inn's website, the rooms are decorated in different themes, tastfully.

Our only complaint was that there was not much to choose from for breakfast which was served at a set time to all guests. The homemade cinnamon buns were good, but they are not on my normal diet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RoySandlapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

A former dairy barn doesn't seem like the makings of great B n B but this place is great.
Very nicely decorated rooms in Alaskan rustic
Nice robes, soaps etc.
Several large common areas with pool table, fuse ball, iMac, wifi
Great view of mountains and valley from deck and glass room

There is not a lot to do or see in Wasilla but it's a good place to stop when traveling between destinations

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisuallyOriented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dassel, MN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed in many beautiful and interesting places in Alaska, but Pioneer Ridge's lodge-like, Alaska-themed rooms were by far the most beautiful and spacious. The huge luxurious bathrooms were worthy of a five-star hotel, and the many public rooms--livingroom, game room, sauna, rooftop lounge--were just as lovely and inviting. There are many displays of fascinating Alaskan items, including bearskin rugs, historic photographs, and sleds and harnesses from Iditerod races. We enjoyed a gourmet buffet breakfast in the morning, as well as an extended chat with our hostess. We all agreed that we'd make a point to stay here agin on our next visit. Hike and sightsee in the Anchorage area, visit Talkeetna, and then stay here on your way to Denali.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moxiesmom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2009

What a beautiful surprise! My husband and I and our friends stayed in Wasilla just to break up our trip from Healy to Seward, and we were lucky enough to find the Pioneer Ridge B&B. What an incredibly stunning place! We stayed in the Alaska Heritage Suite and were blown away by the décor and the space. The suite is probably bigger than some apartments, and the full kitchen and laundry facilities were very much appreciated bonuses. The view from the Alaska Room is incredible except that the view from the Aurora Room is even better! Our hosts, Shannon and Leny, were most congenial and provided us a wonderful breakfast. Our only regret is that we had to leave!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasider113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stopped here on our way through to Seward and wished we had more time to enjoy this beautiful B&B. We stayed in the Iditarod Room and our friends stayed in the Alaska Heritage Suite. The rooms were exceptionally clean and large with several beds in each room. Our bathroom reminded us of a spa with handmade soaps and thick cotton bathrobes to use. The hosts were very friendly and the breakfast was yummy! The views were unbelievable!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phaze06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

My husband and I had never stayed in a B&B before and chose this one after reading the Trip Advisor reviews. I can't tell you how impressed we were with everything at Pioneer Ridge. The decor, the accommodations, the food and the wonderful owners made us wonder why we would ever stay in a hotel again!! We didn't want to leave! It's obvious that a lot of time, effort and expense went into this property for the enjoyment of the guests. No cookie cutter decor here!! We stayed at other wonderful B&B's during our two week vacation and this one was number one in decor and spaciousness.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdirondackTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasilla
4.6 mi away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
2.8 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
3.6 mi away
Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Agate Inn, Inc.
Agate Inn, Inc.
#3 of 25 in Wasilla
89 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
8.4 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2221 S Yukon Cir, Wasilla, AK 99654-0586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Wasilla
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wasilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property, built on land which was originally a parcel from Roosevelt's New Deal, this remodeled dairy barn, has been transformed into a 10,000 sq foot, warm and inviting Bed and Breakfast. Each spacious, comfortable guest room is decorated with authentic Alaskana. In addition to the six guest rooms & cabin, our visitors have access to three relaxing common rooms The Alaska Room, The Midnight Sun Room (with a pool table, treadmill & sauna) the the Aurora room with its 365 degree views of the Matanuska Valley. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building. A full breakfast buffet is served in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing