We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B & B - Highly Recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Wasilla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, NH
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb B & B - Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in the Alaska Heritage room with 6 people. It was fantastic. The room was immaculate and everything was attractive and well appointed. The bathroom was quite nice as well, great glass bowl sink (although it needs to drain better).
The views were great from the windows in the main lodge. The full breakfast was excellent, although a little early at 8 AM (especially since we arrived around 10:30 PM). Overall, this was a superb B & B that I would recommend highly to everyone

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CommGen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
57
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We traveled throughout AK for 10 days. We stayed here at the end of our trip. The scenery we saw through our travels was amazing, but the scenery right from the common room of this B&B was equally amazing! The B&B has beaitful windows throughout, allowing you to see the mountains and Cooks Inlet.
Our room was spotless and very spacious. My husband and I said we would have stayed here longer if we started our trip with this stop.
Equally as wonderful was one of the owners, Shannon. She was a pleasure to just sit and chat with and very helpful. She made a yummy breakfast with a variety of options including fluffy pancakes.
We traveled with our 3 year old son, and it was great to feel so comforable with him there. So kids are definitely welcome and can have fun too. They have a giant fish carving on the front porch that he was riding with joy.
Definitely a great place to stay and so worth the cost of the room!
Oh and for my husband who can't sleep easily when light seeps in the windows, he got his best night sleep here. This is key when visiting Alaska in the summer and the sun doesn't go down.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallymack1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We ended our Alaskan cruise with an extra day in the Anchorage area. We left our cruise ship on Monday morning (7/2/2012) then took a transfer to Anchorage. We then rented a car and drove to the Matanuska Glacier where we went Glacier Trekking (see our review on Mica Guides). We were later than we thought, and I called the owner of Pioneer Ridge to let them know we would be late. "No problem - if we're asleep when you arrive, we'll leave a note on the door. Just come on in and make yourselves at home". It was after 10:30 pm when we finally arrived (with Alaska summers, you would have thought it was only 7 or 8pm - -the sun really takes its time setting!). Sure enough, there was a note posted on the door. She let us know where our room was and what time she would be serving breakfast. We settled into our spacious room (a queen bed and two twins with a connecting bathroom). We woke for breakfast, which consisted of fruit, yogurt, homemade blueberry muffins, and a scrumptious crescent-ham & cheese casserole. Several coffees (K-cup), chocolate, O.J., milk, and teas were offered, as well as cereal for those who preferred a light breakfast (or as a "side dish" for my 17 year old son!). The B&B was decorated beautifully, with each room having a "theme". We slept in the Iditarod room with a sled hung on the wall and numerous other sled dogging decorations. There was a Fishing room and several others. There was a game room with pool table, fooseball, library, and plenty of board games. We really wish we had more time to use this B&B as a base to do more day trips from, but alas, it was time to return to our "real lives". If we are ever blessed with the opportunity to return to Alaska, you can be sure we will be staying here again!

Room Tip: Make sure you get directions from her! There really aren't many roads in Alaska, but they do ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We originally wanted to stay at a hostel Anchorage, but decided on Wasilla since I figured out that I would be tired after a long drive from Denali. It looked like Pioneer Ridge was the best choice, and it was indeed the best lodging we've ever had. It's located near Fred Meyer, Walmart, Target, and a number of restaurants. About an hour's drive from Anchorage.

Though we arrived at 10pm and couldn't wait to wash up & get to rest, the first thing we thought when we drove through the gate was that this is an awesome place! We literally explored & took pics of the place & its surroundings for over an hour before we finally opened the door to our cabin which is like standalone, overlooking the the mountains & sunset. Almost next to our cabin are the pens of the goat, sheeps (which are so adorable) and chicken.

Our cabin is huge with quite special lamps. Only downside of living in the cabin is that you have to brave through the cold to walk to the main building to get to the bathroom. But each time I stepped out, I just had to go back into the cabin to get my camera to take pics of whatever new stuff I saw. We peeked into the other rooms of the building and they looked homely and cosy. The Aurora room overlooking the entire place was the coolest. The shared bathroom didn't feel "shared", but like more of your own. Toiletries provided are of pretty good quality. Love the Thomas Mangelsen photography of the bears in the main building.

The owner (and her coffee machine) was the next awesome person. Breakfast felt so personalized, as if she made it just for you!! She was also easy to chat with. My hubby said that we gotta come back here when we visit Alaska again in the future. Best place, best hospitality!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank broadshouldersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We are always glad when we find a match for our homestead cabin! We are glad you enjoyed it so much. Unique from our modern rooms in the main house, it allows those who want the rustic, Alaska experience to it first hand, with all the comfort conveniences close at hand.

Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to your next visit!

Shannon & Leny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

For our trip to Alaska, we stayed at 5 bed and breakfasts that were rated #1 in their area on trip advisor, and this one was our favorite. We traveled with two small children, and found the place to be family friendly. There was limited things that we had to worry about our kids getting into and breaking, where as other places we stayed at we were a little more concerned about things at their level they could grab and break. It was extremely well maintained, but we were still able to relax fully. Breakfast was great, there was always coffee and tea avaialble. Its at a beautiful location with great scenery. It was slightly more than the other B&Bs we stayed at but was worth the additional cost.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Iditorod room which was well decorated. However if we ever return, we would spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us. Having traveled a great deal with our own kids, we love to have a "kid friendly" atmosphere, so that you actually get to feel like you are on vacation! We'll be sure to save the Alaska Heritage Suite for your next visit.

Thanks,

Shannon & Leny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The wife and I stayed in the Iditarod Room and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was very nice and especially the bathroom. We enjoyed unwinding from our trip by setting and drinking coffee in the Aurora while taking in the views of the Matsu Valley. This was topped off by a truly great breakfast the next morning! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvianQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share such a glowing review. We are always delighted to know that our guests have been able to relax and enjoy themselves. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Shannon & Leny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast was perfect for our trip. I brought a high school basketball team to the Doc Larson Roundball Classic basketball Tournament in Wasilla, Alaska. The tournament put us up at the Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast. We could not be more pleased with how we were treated. Everyone in Wasilla was nice and courteous but the Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast was willing cater to any need we had. We had late games that we got back at late hours and there weren't any problems. We were able to go the the store to purchase meals for ourselves, keep the food in their refrigerator, and eat on our own schedule. There are also endless amounts of coffee, tea, and hot chocolate that went over very well with our entire traveling group. Regardless of the reason you are up here or the time of year, if you would like a great place to stay with fantastic panoramic views of the mountains than this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All rooms have multiple beds and a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coach_Simmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We love having large groups at our B&B, so we appreciate that you were willing to take the time to share your enjoyable experience. With the three large common areas in our B&B, we offer plenty of space to hang out with each other, enjoying the views, taking a sauna or playing pool or foosball!

We hope you are able to bring another team up to Wasilla again. We'd be glad to have you again.

Thank you,
Shannon & Leny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasilla
4.6 mi away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
2.8 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
3.6 mi away
Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Agate Inn, Inc.
Agate Inn, Inc.
#3 of 25 in Wasilla
89 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
8.4 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2221 S Yukon Cir, Wasilla, AK 99654-0586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Wasilla
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wasilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property, built on land which was originally a parcel from Roosevelt's New Deal, this remodeled dairy barn, has been transformed into a 10,000 sq foot, warm and inviting Bed and Breakfast. Each spacious, comfortable guest room is decorated with authentic Alaskana. In addition to the six guest rooms & cabin, our visitors have access to three relaxing common rooms The Alaska Room, The Midnight Sun Room (with a pool table, treadmill & sauna) the the Aurora room with its 365 degree views of the Matanuska Valley. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building. A full breakfast buffet is served in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing