We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agate Inn, Inc.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agate Inn, Inc.
Ranked #3 of 24 Wasilla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Maine
Level Contributor
291 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Beautiful room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Large, spotless, well maintained, and QUIET - plus a VERY comfortable King bed and a jacuzzi in this Jr Suite made this one of our best B & B stays anywhere - plus, the owners pet reindeer (or are they caribou?) are a major plus. Microwave, fridge, good tv - and breakfast goodies were just right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    11
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
33
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

It isn't often you have resident reindeer but they are here. We were able to pet them and feed them some dandelions which they love.

The room was nice. We didn't have time to use the whirlpool tub. Breakfast was cereal and muffins which was perfect. the pillows were too thick I ended up using one of my jackets so I didn't sleep much. I tried to find some local news on the tv but the directions were confusing for direct tv. I could watch cable but couldn't figure out the others.

Had to wait to check-in. I thought someone was supposed to be in the office from 4-6 but we had to make a call and have the owner come out. There was another couple wanting to check in right after us. I understand being a small place but if you say you are going to be there just two hours, you should be there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent 2 nights here. The room was very large and very comfortable with a small kitchenette. Although it was more expensive than other hotels in Wasilla we loved the setting and it was much more convenient to where our family lives. The only disappointment was not getting to see the reindeer as they were still in their winter area. Breakfast was just the right amount. We ended up having to leave a day early and the owner was extremely accommodating. We will definitely keep this place on our 'stay again' list.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed in the Susitna Cottage. It was very clean, big and spacious, with all the amenities. They even have a washer/dryer on the premises. Breakfast was already set up for the morning with juice and milk in the fridge. Close to down town, but not within walking distance. Friendly staff. Only about an hour away from the Anchorage airport so a great place to stay outside of the city. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kediq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was such a perfect place to stay - wish we could have stayed longer. The house was beautiful - loved looking at the beautiful rock collections. Couldn't keep my daughter away from the reindeer. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

What a great place. We had an apt. with full kitchen, living room, and 2 bedrooms (1 king and 1 queen). Breakfast was wonderful, included cereal, muffins, juice, milk, coffee, tea, and cider. We went to a super Walmart in town and got things to cook supper in the apt.. Reindeer were a bonus. These animals were amazing and truly loved by the owners.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena MI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I only wish we could have stayed here longer!! The room was wonderful, so clean and cozy! And the surprise was a herd of reindeer that are pets of the owners. We got to help feed them and pet them as well. The view of the lake was just spectacular! I highly recommend staying at this lovely Inn!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyKBAlpenaMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasilla
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lake Lucille Inn
1.4 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
4.1 mi away
Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
2.5 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
7.2 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Inn, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Inn, Inc.

Property: Agate Inn, Inc.
Address: 4725 Begich Circle, Wasilla, AK 99654
Location: United States > Alaska > Wasilla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wasilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Inn, Inc. 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique country-style inn provides luxurious suites, vacation homes, comfortable spacious rooms, and meeting facilities in a multi-building complex situated on 16 wooded acres. Agate Inn also provides complimentary continental breakfast, satellite television, phones with data ports, voice mail, high speed Internet access, a business center, laundry facilities, barbecue, and freezer space. Join the owners at 10 am and 6 pm to visit and feed the Inn's 6 reindeer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Agate Inn, Inc. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing