We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, okay food.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locals Pub and Pizzeria

Locals Pub and Pizzeria
Ranked #14 of 128 Restaurants in Wasilla
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Talkeetna, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good service, okay food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We sat in the bar area and I was happy to see that they were showing all of the college football games (with sound). We were greeted right away and the server was very friendly. Keep in mind this used to be Chili's... So it looks very much the same, they just changed a few decorations. We both ordered wrap sandwiches and I wasn't very impressed (a little expensive for being predominately lettuce). I would go back but I would try the pizza... Since that is the specialty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali-McCullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    25
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Pizza with some local specialties.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Locals is a very good pizza place, with a wide variety of pizza selections. They have some very original specialty pizzas that are a must to try.
Keep in mind that pizza in AK is a little more expensive that your local place at home.
Locals has a nice atmosphere, and good service as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not as bad as some of the reviews I have read.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

First off, I never read any reviews until I had set foot in the restaurant and ordered. Then I said oops. Lot of negative reviews for just 17 people writing in. Slow service, bad food, don't go! etc. We were surprised. The service was quick, friendly, and helpful. Having read that it would be a long wait, we were surprised to have our pizza in lees than 30 minutes. Was it good? Yes. Was it the best? No. But for all the wrong reasons. Never have I seen a pie so piled with toppings. My wife and I can usually eat 3 slices each, so we ordered a large. Mistake. We could only eat 2 each, and that was a reach. Crust was good, not soggy. Good flavor. Good sauce. LOTS of toppings to the point of way too much! But better that than the other way! I think they will get another visit from us. We have learned that the large is the size of a 17" rim on a car, so perhaps a small or a medium will do. Hope the nay sayers give the place another chance. I like the fact that it is local, and not a chain. Good luck in the future folks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food in Alaska”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had some great pizza and service. Everything was clean and the waitress was very friendly. There is lots of seating and no wait even at noon on a holiday. Prices are reasonable and a they have a large menu selection.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were hoping for more when we went here recently for a Sunday brunch. The food was ok, but just ok. And the music that was blaring might have been ok on Friday night, but not Sunday morning...maybe that is what spoiled it. It isn't what I would call a pub atmosphere, either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank golfsierra47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locals Pub and Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Locals Pub and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing