We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An eclectic menu with locally-sourced produce”
Review of Bistro Red Beet

Bistro Red Beet
Ranked #52 of 129 Restaurants in Wasilla
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bistro Red Beet is a small eatery dedicated to serving locally sourced Northern food. We are a from- scratch eatery serving simple, real food to real people. Our foods do not contain chemicals, and we do not serve processed food of any kind. Our menu changes weekly to take full advantage of seasonal availability in grown and gathered crops. Many summer mornings find our staff picking and collecting fresh produce while other times of the week we are fermenting and preserving specialties for the winter months. Our bakery is full of nostalgia and decadence offering breads, cookies, cakes, pies, candies and seasonal specialties. Bistro Red Beet is a dedicated allergy friendly eatery specializing in a gluten, corn and soy free menu and bakery. We are always delighted to have the opportunity to share our unique cuisine with our guests and look forward to your visit at our table!
Germany
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“An eclectic menu with locally-sourced produce”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What we really enjoy about Bistro Red Beet is their commitment to local produce, supporting Alaskan farmers and delivering healthy, alternative foods to the typical fried fare at so many restaurants. The menu is smaller than some, but the sandwiches, burgers and soups are all homemade from scratch. And don't forget to try a homemade brownie for dessert! Well worth the drive to Wasilla.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarwynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nixa, MO
Level Contributor
167 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“For "granola" people only”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Slow, not terribly friendly service, though our server was well informed. Oddities include having to walk to the front to refill your own water from a big red jug.

While its an intriguing variety of healthy options on the menu, and the smells were great, the execution was lacking. 4 of our party of 5 had sandwiches and all found the buns to be dry, too crumbly to even hold like a sandwich to eat, and tasteless. Their signature soup tastes like dirt. The $14 salad came with no bread and was so small it left me feeling hungry-though the salmon blueberry was tasty.

After lunch we were all hungry enough that we sought more food at the farmer's market. No idea how this place got Lonely Planet's #1 rating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Efusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, AK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and good food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

They make good home made food, and also food for special diets. They are very nice, and I'd definitely return and recommend it to a friend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank raven25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Freshly prepared sandwiches and desert”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you like specialty food this is it. Sample something different. Featuring fresh fruit and fresh vegetables. Healthy and great tasting alternatives. Wonderful bread and cookies.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, AK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Wonderland!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a great little place that offers an extensive menu of gluten free offerings where all the bread, dressings, and soups are gluten free! It is a very quaint, comfortable cafe that serves delicious coffee in a french press - and $5.50 for a large press got me 3.5 cups of delicious coffee...that in itself is worth a visit. There is a wonderful assortment of GF desserts that rotates on a daily basis, and they even do special order baked goods for the holidays, of which I am going to partake in a gluten & dairy free pie for my brother-in-law....the first baked good he will have had in years.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank crum77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Red Beet also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Red Beet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing