We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal in Alaska!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grape Tap

The Grape Tap
Ranked #1 of 129 Restaurants in Wasilla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best meal in Alaska!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This restaurant would be good in New York or San Franciso - in Alaska its's simply the best! From the first bite of their spiced nuts to the last morsel of a delicious fruit crumble, everything was exceptional. We shared a fillet, which was perfectly cooked, flavorful and tender. Our server was friendly, helpful and our meal perfectly paced. What a find the Grape Tap is!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmomadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    42
    13
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average after hoping for Above Average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Ambience is nice- service is good, but some of the food and 'lack' of it is an issue. Menu is very limited, and they were already out of two items halfway through the dinner service. Dates were overwhelmed by tons of bacon and cheese....Champagne was served at room temperature...and one of the meals had to be returned- burned. Portion size is a tad small for the above average prices. I must say that the star was the Tenderloin- cooked to perfection! Don't know if that will be enough to take us back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lettye2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So yummy...perfect ladies night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've been searching high and low for a tapas style restaurant in Alaska. I think Anchorage has maybe one or two but I've never been.
We made reservations (which is recommended) and were seating right away. The restaurant is such a cool, chic establishment...you would never guess you are in Wasilla, haha
Our waitress was very nice and helpful.
We had the flights of wine, the not so cheap dates (omg AMAZING), filet mignon sliders and two desserts (creme brulee and this huge but delicious oreo/peanut butter/brownie/ice cream cake.
Yes, the portions are smaller than in other restaurants, but that's okay with me...I am not big into the huge portions that are served now days.
Highly recommend....will be returning with the hubby :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank valhart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious. Wasilla's best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to The Grape Tap for our wedding anniversary and loved it! We made a reservation for 7pm on a Saturday night, and to my surprise it wasnt too busy. The service was great, decor was cozy, and food was phenomenal. My husband and I shared the "Not So Cheap Dates," and they were amazing. More sweet than savory, but my husband loved them; and he's not into frilly food at all. We also ordered the Morracan Scallops (4 large scallops on the plate,) the wedge salad, the grape tap greens, and the seared ahi. It was all delicious. They have an impressive assortment of wine and beer as well.
Definitely worth the extra money. Make plans to eat here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AkMamaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Doesn't feel like your in Wasilla, Alaska!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Wonderful! Just wonderful. Make sure you get reservations as this lovely spot is always, always busy! They are working on landscaping for a outdoor space, and it will be perfect for sunny Alaskan summer evenings. Only downfall with the Grape Tap is they don't open until 5:00!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 60880Anne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grape Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing