We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have to...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Totem Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you have to...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We got a last minute room in the main building which is with the restaurant. The rooms were very old, and had the bare minimum. Figured it would not be too good when we pulled in. The place is rather run down and aged. The staff would hardly put down their lunch long enough to check us in. But figured things were on Alaska time. There are coffee cans outside the rooms for the smokers. The door had been kicked in at one time, and the lock plates were re-attached. The frame was broke and put back together. Not too dirty, except for the shower curtain which had mold on the bottom. Bathroom door had kicked in parts. Nice short walk to the harbor. I would not have minded so much if it was $75, but it was $175 a night. We should have gotten a lot better. Breakfast in the restaurant was no good. At checkout, the staff could not care much about us. Just a room, but not much for the money.

Room Tip: Get one of the new suites or cabins instead of the old rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoMatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    38
    12
    13
See reviews for
41
47
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fairbanks
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Totem is great. The staff can't do enough for you. Spacious rooms.The suites sleep 4. Full kitchen. washer/dryer. 2 TV's. Cabins are also available. Best breakfast in town. Fast service and great waitress's. Walk to everything. harbor 3 minutes away.

Room Tip: no pool. suites are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuffleFairbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here during a conference. We stayed in a suite. The room was spacious, with laundry right in the room, a full kitchen, a big screen tv with DVD player, and a fully appointed kitchen. The restaurant in the main building was always quick and tasty with all the basic breakfast, lunch, and dinner items available to dine in or to go. The staff was very friendly and helpful, letting us do a late checkout with no extra charge. The room was reasonably priced, although prices are likely higher in the summer. My only complaint was the housekeeping. After three days our trash was still waiting to be emptied, we had not received new shampoo bottles or fresh towels, and our bed was made very sloppily. Although the room was basically clean you could tell no one had gone around the corners with a proper vacuum wand and the blinds and window sills not been dusted in some time. Sheets and towels appeared clean even if they weren't replaced during our four night stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Debji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasilof, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The family and I stayed in one of their newer suites for several days and were very pleased. With living room, bedroom, kitchenette, in room washer & dryer and super fast internet (for AK). All of these amenities made for a very nice stay for us during our time in Valdez. The staff was also very nice and accommodating. We would certainly stay in one of their suites again.

Room Tip: The suites are the newest addition to the Inn and are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I highly recommend this facility to any frequent traveler. I spend 3 out of 4 weeks a month "on the road" and Totem Inn/Restaurant has become my "rest" spot for the month. My two priorities are a great bed, and excellent internet. Totem provides these AND great food, (or a kichenette if I choose to cook {NOT}) AND Excellent customer service. The washer/dryer option was a real plus. I was especially impressed with the front desk person (Seth) who, on my first visit, went way out of his way to insure that I was satisfied with Totem. Great people, great rooms, fair prices, excellent service. If you travel a lot, or you are just looking for a comfortable place to rest these folks have my vote in Valdez.

Room Tip: I prefer the "suites" as opposed to the "rooms" because the are like small apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I don't recommend this place mostly because the customer service was lacking and the facility needed known repairs which went unaddressed. Upon our arrival, we found that the mattess pad on the hide-a-bed (couch) was filthy, with old blood stains, dried urine stains and pet hair. I might be able to overlook this, assuming that it was an oversight with the hide-a-bed not being checked. However, when we brought this to the attention of the operator she nicely informed us that she didn't have any clean mattress pads to give us but that she would be happy to make a note of it for housekeeping in the morning. Finding this answer unacceptable for a number of reasons, especially since we were being charged for that night's rest, my Sweetie took the dirty mattress pad over to the office with our complaints and returned with two clean mattress pads.

We reported the broken kitchen faucet, which spun around like the gals head in the Exorcist and we couldn't locate the hot water, to the maintenance person that came over to the cabin to turn on our hot water. He noted the problem but no one ever came over to fix it. We also reported the very dirty carpet to the attendant, who did come in and vacumn.

We paid extra for a cabin that had a kitchenette. No one told us that it was not furnished with any utensils, pots, pans, ect. (except 3 knives, forks and spoons, 3 mugs and 3 disposable plates and 2 cereal bowls). When we call to see if they might have just forgotten to stock the kitchen we learned that we had to pay $10.00 per day extra to get the pots, pans, etc.

But for the fact that it was the Labor Day weekend and the other hotels and B&Bs were booked up, we would not have stayed there the full three days. NO return trips planned by anyone in our group.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere is my only recommendation. I agree with the person above, once this place has your c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a lovely suite with full kitchen - loved the big fridge and clean and tidy cupboards. Corridors were stiflingly hot though. Really appreciated the washer and dryer but why put it in the bedroom? Good job my husband can sleep through anything (whilst I did the laundry!) Would have been very comfortable here for more nights but had to move on.
Reviews say that the Totem restaurant is perhaps the best in town. First, we had to go back to the room for ID for purchasing alcohol in the restaurant (nowhere else in the whole of Alaska asked us for ID) Then we had a long wait before we got drinks. Then another long wait for our order to be taken. We were ok with this as the UK is not known for speedy service, but when my food arrived my Copper River Salmon was disappointingly overcooked. Husbands steak was good and overall the restaurant was doing a good job catering for many without having any finesse for the few.
The young man on the desk at the restaurant entrance was exceptionally willing, courteous and helpful. I'm sorry I can't remember his name because he was really trying to do his best at his job.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W0RLDTRAVELJUNKIE, Owner at Totem Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Elaine,

Thank-you for your great review of our Hotel and Suites. In regards to your dining experience, I have spoken with both the Chef and the floor manager. We have now drafted a clear and concise policy on checking IDs. I'm glad your husband enjoyed his steak. Chef Jerid will speak with his staff regarding your review of the salmon.

Seth is the employee you spoke of and we will pass your compliments on to him.

Again, thank you for the great review and have a safe journey.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdez
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn
0.5 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
40.9 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#3 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totem Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Hotel & Suites

Property: Totem Hotel & Suites
Address: 144 E. Egan Dr., Box 648, Valdez, AK 99686
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Totem Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful hotel and suites combination, located 1 block from the harbor and Prince William Sound with the best breakfast in town! We look forward to your visit with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Totem Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Totem Hotel Valdez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing