We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much, but the best Valdez offers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Totem Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not much, but the best Valdez offers”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is a typical roadside motel, not at all what we were expecting. We stayed in the "business suites" because they offered a washer/dryer, but if they were a cut above the other rooms, I would not have wanted to stay in the other rooms. The washer/dryer were too small for much laundry (at this point we had been on the road for a week with a family of four) so we ended us using their main laundry facilities. In the end the place did what we needed - provided a clean, comfortable stay plus laundry.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzNoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W0RLDTRAVELJUNKIE, Owner at Totem Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Sorry you were disappointed with the size of the washer dryer that is in the room. I am glad you were able to make use of the onsite laundry facility that does have 10 full size washers and dryers. I am sure it made short work of a large amount of laundry. And thanks for the 5 star review of our restaurant.
Safe Travels
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    41
    38
    12
    13
See reviews for
41
48
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jubail
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is nothing to crow about per se, but there is a dearth of accommodation in Valdez and nothing to be had during the high season. That said, the hotel was relatively clean, the A/C worked, and it had an excellent shower. The location is also quite nice. The best part of the stay was the restaurant however. It provides excellent meals and relatively reasonably. Probably most important is the local "color" of the restaurant. Oft-times, tourists see nothing but other tourists. I see much poorer reviews by others, but having spent a great deal of time in AK, I have not come to expect much from its hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry-tate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W0RLDTRAVELJUNKIE, Owner at Totem Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thanks for the review. As a seasoned traveler I would really like to here what we could be doing better for next time for you. Feel free to e-mail me at mike@toteminn.com.

Best

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed in one of the cabins on a couple of nights when the bar got really going with very loud base music and yelling people, I did not get much sleep as it went way into the wee hours of the morning (past 3am). I called the front desk the first night and they said there was nothing they could do because there was no phone there. The bar is apparently owned by the hotel as well so I am surprised they are not respecting the stay of their sleeping guests. It did not improve the next night. The rooms are not very clean either. Don't stay here if you can.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelinglight22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years. The suites are quite nice- it is true, but not the standard delux rooms. I can truly say- the worst in 10 years of world travelling experience. If this was not a business trip- the room alone would ruin a vacation.
The room was filthy. It was adjacent to the restaurant's bathroom. I could hear the "business" transpiring there + everything in a number of adjacent rooms. Not only you hear everything, but the whole room vibrates from any motion nearby.
The complaint about backed- up bathtub did not yield results. Enough said, don't want to get into details.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Didzis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We made a mistake by staying here. We stayed in a cabin. When we complained asking management to contact us, they did not do so. Stay anywhere else if you can. We agree with other reviewers. Ask to see the room before completing your check-in. Nothing will happen once you've checked in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Layla0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The check in counter for this hotel is at the cash register of their restaurant. The help seemed much more interested in helping regular restaurant patrons than out-of-town tourists. They were not helpful with suggestions about local tourist spots. On check-out, I was ready to answer the typical question of "how was your stay". Again, the clerk was rushing through check-out processes so she could attend to restaurant guests. She didn't really care how our stay was. We stayed in their new wing. The room was clean, but they needed to attend to some maintenance issues such as a missing towel rack (some of it was still on the wall) and an electric outlet detached from the wall. There was no kleenex in the bathroom area. Surprisingly for Alaska, there were no blackout curtains in our room, just cheep levelor-type blinds. Needless to say, our room remained light most of the night. Stay here if you have to, but you might do better at another Valdez hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GonzoZap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

There aren't many places to stay in Valdez...a place that you should visit. Hotel rooms are scarce, but avoid this place if you can. If you go to Valdez, don't stay here if you can avoid it.

The floors in the cabins are filthy. We had two cabins and both were disgusting. The corners of the bathroom had so much hair in them that it made my hair stand on end. The hair had settled into a morass of black greasy dirt in the bathroom corners. The interior of the bathroom medicine cabinet had enough dirt to turn a white was cloth brown. We wouldn't consider putting anything in the cabinet.

We wore socks in the cabins and found our feet covered with black grime after walking around inside.

We asked to speak with the manager and were told no one was available. We complained and received no response.

Advice from our experiences:
1. Ask to see the room before they swipe your card to make sure you will be comfortable with the conditions.
2. Don't expect contact with the management if you have a complaint.
3. Explore other options if any are available.

Enjoy Valdez! It's a wonderful community and awesome environment!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McBolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdez
0.2 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
0.5 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
204 reviews
40.9 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#15 of 17 in Talkeetna
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totem Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Hotel & Suites

Property: Totem Hotel & Suites
Address: 144 E. Egan Dr., Box 648, Valdez, AK 99686
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Totem Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful hotel and suites combination, located 1 block from the harbor and Prince William Sound with the best breakfast in town! We look forward to your visit with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Totem Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Totem Hotel Valdez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing