We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat the location if you're taking the ferry”
Review of Keystone Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valdez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keystone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location if you're taking the ferry”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The staff at the Keystone are really friendly and helpful. It's located right around the corner from the ferry terminal so you can't beat that location. The hotel itself is very average, however it's moderately priced and clean. Those are two of my most important criteria. There's a laundry room and they serve a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    29
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
21
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The title above is what I look for in a hotel. This place had all four covered. The rooms are small but I don't know who would spend a lot of time in a hotel room when in the beautiful area of Valdez. We only were looking for somewhere to sleep. The room was extremely clean, the beds comfortable and the shower had hot water and lots of pressure. It was nice to have breakfast right at the hotel in the morning and they had free coffee, tea, hot chocolate and apple cider 24 hours a day. The staff was very friendly. Also, it was a nice surprise they had laundry on site and we left with clean clothes and a good night's sleep.

I would stay here again when in Valdez.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter_Gatherer_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We looked all over Valdez for a hotel that we could afford over the 4th of July weekend. The search took about 5 minutes. The hotel was nothing more than a converted man camp which had been made into a hotel. But hey, the TV worked as did the remote, It was extremely clean and I'm totally serious when I say that and the shower had an output on it like a waterfall. So I was very happy. For 90 bucks it was by far the best value in town. We had stopped by a place that was about 20 minutes to the north and they wanted like 400 dollars per room. The other places in town were double what we paid. Over all I was very happy when I checked out the next morning.

Room Tip: If you don't expect much, you will be happy when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikewatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

So you need a place to stay in Valdez that's basic, not fancy, can get a good night's sleep ... well this just might be it. However, if you are staying some place for a hotel experience (e.g., pool, view, nice lounge, restaurant, or just about anything else), look elsewhere.

The interesting thing is that this hotel is constructed in the sort-of-northern bunkhouse style ... you'll see what I mean when you get there. It works.

Continental breakfast is very basic. For a memorable breakfast, go to the Totem Inn restaurant. Great food, great choices.

Room Tip: I would request the ground floor. But I suppose there might be someone noisy overhead ... though we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AK_Steve_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
162 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is nothing to look at and it does at times feel like I'm staying in a freighter container. But who cares when you pay less then half of what you would pay for a hotel like Best Western. The hotel room was very clean, the shower was good, the towels were soft and the bed very clean. The internet was surprisingly quick. Staff was very friendly. I highly recommend for anyone visiting Seward to stay at this hotel and I would stay again if I visited Valdez again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Keystone in Valdez twice so far. It has been perfect for us. We only need a place at night to sleep, shower in the morning and off we go to enjoy Prince Willam Sound! It is very clean, friendly staff, and a limited conntinnetal breakfast. On Memorial weekend the snow was still covering the first floor windows! The rooms are small, comfortable beds, good shower and large bathroom and great for what you pay. Parking was good even towing a boat. Valdez is small and walking from the hotel to anything you want to see or do is easy. The muesum is great. One can really learn the history of Valdez which is very interesting. Valdez area has some very dramatic epic stories of wealth, death, boom and bust, and of course beauty. Thompson Pass and the waterfalls are nature at its best. Watching the fishing fleet come and go in the harbor is interesting and seeing the huge tenders unloading in the harbor cannery is amazing. The people of Valdez are friendly and helpful and we will be going back soon. We will be staying at the keystone for sure.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have more than one bed, so count how many need a place to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

In our trip, this is the only place I could find in the town when I finalized the plan! I could not find anything thorugh all the major travel sites. I ended find this one by self. The staffs were very nice to help me booked it through phone/email. Actually I changed my plan a couple of times, and they were very patient w/ me. The location is very good near the harbor and port. This hotel is kind of a giant trailer, but it is very clean inside. We stayed in the 1st floor inner side, so we did not hear any funky noise like other mentioned, maybe because it was raining in the night. This is the only hotel to provide reasonablely good, free continental breakfast during our 2 wks travel in Alaska. The breakfast area on the 2nd floor is pretty nice w/ microwave and lots of tea bags and apple cide bags, which my kids like.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdez
0.4 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
0.5 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
41.3 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Hotel

Property: Keystone Hotel
Address: 401 West Egan, Valdez, AK 99686
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Keystone Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Keystone Hotel Valdez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing