We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always very friendly,helpfull,and very accomindating. Best in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always very friendly,helpfull,and very accomindating. Best in town”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I travel to Valdez several times a year and stay here as often as I can. The rooms are always clean and tidy. The staff has always been very helpfull with directions and suggestions about the local resturants and attractions. It has new management and they are making some really good improvement and upgrades. The free breakfast is second to none. Always a pleasure to stay here and I bring my family a couple of times a year also.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk83_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    220
    141
    55
    18
See reviews for
117
248
26
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
near Jasper, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in Valdez in September, having booked at least 3 weeks in advance for a pet friendly room. This hotel was chosen because it purported to be pet friendly. We are adamant non-smokers, and these folks put us into a seriously disgusting smelling smoking room and told us that their pet-friendly rooms are smoking rooms. Our clothes, entire contents of suitcase, and personal belongings still smell of the cigarette smoke that was latent in that room....we had no choice....they were full, or so they said, and couldn 't or wouldn't do anything to accommodate us.
I found the desk staff very unfriendly, both day and evening desk people. THe girls were not interested in pleasing anyone but themselves. I'd fire them if I were the manager.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BCTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Although this is an older property, I found my room to be very clean, including the crisp fresh bed linens. There was no musty odors anywhere, or dirty grout lines in the bathroom tiles. All of the staff was very pleasant throughout my stay from the desk clerks, to the servers in the restaurant and in the bar, to the housekeeping attendants cleaning up in the lobby. The continental breakfast was the standard fare - waffles, scrambled eggs and sausage, dry cereals, muffins, breads, yogurts, beverages, and fruits. The shuttle was there to pick me up when I arrived and took me back as I departed. It was the same friendly driver both times, offering interesting bits of information about the area that I appreciated. The view from either the dining room or the bar is absolutely incredible, even on a cloudy rainy day,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiredSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel, and found the service so bad that if it were not the only major hotel in town, I can't believe anyone would stay there.
1. We requested first floor rooms for an elderly couple traveling with us (there is no elevator), but the receptionist said none was available when we checked in, even though it was clear that the hotel was not very full.
2. We asked directions to a drug store, and the same receptionist, said "It's in town." and no more. When we asked how we got to the drug store, she said you "walk out the front door." In fact the drugstore was several turns and blocks from the hotel.
3. We tried to make a reservation for dinner, but no one would take it. When we did get seated, the waiter was either on his first day as a waiter or incapable of doing his job. We waited..and waited... for him to take an order, even though there were people at only 2 other tables.
4. We were seated at a table near an opening in the wall to the bar, where a football game was on the TV. One of the bar patrons came up to the opening and started yelling into his cell phone in our direction, probably needing to talk so loudly to get over the sound of the TV. We asked the bar/restaurant manager to please have him talk on the cell phone someplace other than where we were seated, but she said he needed to talk there so as not to disturb the people watching the football game. When we pointed out that he was disturbing us, she didn't respond. When I asked him to please take his cell phone elsewhere and not bother us, he ignored me. I asked a second time, with the manager right next to him. He said, "No, I'm not going to move and if you don't like it, you can leave." The manager, overhearing the conversation, did nothing. We never ate there again during our trip.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poolroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I had a nice experience, clean room, quiet, friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I read the reviews for this hotel, and I got a little worried. I was coming with my husband, who was making a business trip . We checked in, with no problems,got to our room, which was nice, bed was comforatable, the room was clean. The hotel IS a little older, but it was kept in pretty good shape. Our door decided to reset itself, so it wouldn't lock, but they fixed it within 10 minutes. And the staff couldn't have been lovlier. Overall, it was a great stay. The staff was helpful in recommending things and answering questions, and the breakfast was very filling. It's not a luxury hotel, but it's nice. I will stay here again when e come.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2017
Thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This hotel has a great location and may be one of the better motels in Valdez, but I would rate it a 2 star at best. The edges of the room look like a vacuum has never touched them and the bathroom smells of either urine or mildew. The front desk person is very nice and a real plus. I would recommend staying at a B & B and avoiding the hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaskarookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdez
0.2 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
208 reviews
41.1 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
54 reviews
148.3 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#15 of 17 in Talkeetna
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn

Property: Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
Address: 100 Harbor Drive, P.O.Box 468, Valdez, AK 99686 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Valdez Harbor Hotel Valdez
Valdez Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing