We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on Harbor, so so rooms, little view, spendy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Reviewed September 22, 2009

we live in Anchorage, and tried a few B&B's, but little response, so we paid $152,99 plus tax for a king bed, refrig, flat screen tv room, 2nd floor, little view of the harbor unless you stuck your neck out the window. bed was nice. breakfast was fair, cereals, rolls, overcooked eggs. friendly staff. but the price was high for past Labor Day. We'll look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 592 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2009

Valdez is a great spot with quite a lot to interest you as you look around but the locals starting at the hotel seemed disinclined to be friendly. This hotel had a very sulky unhappy looking receptionist when we checked in and the girl on duty the next day when checking out was only marginally better, However, the room was fine and we enjoyed a pretty good meal in the restaurant. The location was great.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank nettie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

This is a decent hotel and is similar to most other best western's I've been at. It is in no way a resort and reminded me of a hotel you might find in a run down town on the highway in the middle of nowhere, except that it's built right on the harbor in Valdez. The hotel is in good condition, clean and pretty quiet. Checking in we had some issues with our reservation because the travel agent made a mistake, the front desk people were very polite and helped us work through the problem quickly and allowed us to cancel an extra room that had been reserved in our names without any penalty.
Our room didn't have a view (didn't seem like the rooms had views in general and it was so foggy most of the time it didn't matter). We spent very little time in our room (why would you, you're in Valdez?). We had a wonderful time exploring the town, hiking and fishing and would go back in a second. The room itself had plenty of space, internet access, a desk, a fridge, a comfortable bed and a functional, though somewhat dated bathroom. The TV worked fine and had plenty of stations. Our only complaint about the room itself was that it seemed like there was no control over the heat in the room and it was quite hot at night, though a fan was provided and opening the window helped. The hotel was not particularly quiet and unfortunately we were right next to a room being renovated, though to their credit renovations did not start until after 9am and ended before dinner time and were reasonably quiet. Breakfast is above average and is continental, though has hot items and a decent selection.
The hotel has a restaurant attached to it, which seems oddly out of place (it's too fancy) and we felt like the food was overpriced for what we got, though the view was nice. We ended up getting our other meals from the grocery store (which has an amazing prepared food selection).
The hotel is right on the water between the harbor and ferry terminal and is in easy walking distance of everything, though if you want to do more exploring a car is a good idea.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank big_ribbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I booked a room at the Best Western in Valdez, in response to their ad, that the inn had a view of the harbor. When I booked the room several months in advance, I was guaranteed this 'view'. When we checked in, the room had a view of the parking lot. When I questioned this; I was told that I would have to pay more $$ for a view. BEWARE.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I made reservation a month ahead, for a room with two {2} queen size beds. The hotel
staff that made the reservation promised that I would have a room with two {2] queen size beds. Upon arrivial, the lady at the front desk was the most un-friendly person I've
every encountered in my world of travel. {I've traveled in 45 states, Europe, Israel, Egypt, Jordan, Japan, ETC.}. I informed the desk clerk {lady} I had reservation for two [2] queen size beds. She proceded to inform me that they did not have any rooms with two {2} queen size beds {very sarcastic} and only had rooms with two regular beds. I again informed the very sarcastic lady that my reservation was for a room with two [2} queen size beds. The sacastic lady proceeded to book me into a room and upon arriving at the room, I found it only had two {2} regular size beds. Being late I accepted but regretted the decision later as it turn out to be the worst night of all I've every encountered in my travels.

If I was the director or manager of thsi hotel, the front desk, especially evening shift
[4 P.M - midnight} would be replaced in a heartbeat. The evening shift leave a bad taste / representation for your other wise lower range hotel chain.

There are other places in Alaska such as Homer and Seward to catch cruises so one
can enjoy the glaciers.

Respectfully

Tourist from Oklahoma..

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRIZZLY09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

It's a normal hotel, with all services you need: coin laundry, ice machine, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker in room, and also free wireless

the room is ok but bad maintained

the staff is ok and professional

the price is very expensive: 151 $ for a simply double room with buffet breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thor_odt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

My friend and I stayed at this hotel since we wanted to stay somewhere were we knew what to expect. Like the other reviewer said, the room was a little dated but was clean and big enough. There was a coffee maker, iron, fan (no air conditioning), microwave, and refrigerator in the room. The continental breakfast was not bad either and we saw people constantly coming in to replenish it. Just a decent place to spend your night(s) that was affordable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentuckyMom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdez hotels
0.2 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
143 reviews
27.1 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
214 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn

Address: 100 Harbor Drive, P.O.Box 468, Valdez, AK 99686 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range: $103 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Valdez Harbor Hotel Valdez
Valdez Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing