We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For such a small town, this is an excellent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were on tour an very fortunate to have stayed at the Harbor inn. It is right next to the steam wheeler and right on the harbor. The scenery was spectacular. It was very easy to walk around the town from here. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning, but they do provide a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDWLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

My staff and I would like to Thank you we are glad you that we were able to make
Your stay an enjoyable experience. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 595 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a very good motel. It's rooms are large and clean and it has a great breakfast. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Though it is not new, it is well-maintained. What really makes it a great place to stay in Valdez is it's location. It is adjacent to the harbor and within easy walking distance of tour companies and their docks as well as a variety of restaurants. In fact it is within 100 yards of a major boat tour company and a fine restaurant with a beautiful view. We stayed here 2 nights and would certainly stay again if we resturn to Valdez in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

My staff and I would like to Thank you we are glad you that we were able to make
Your stay an enjoyable experience. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

As far as I could tell, this is one of the nicer places to stay in Valdez. That doesn't mean it's a top notch hotel, but it means you can get a reasonable room with a nice view. We chose a view room when we reserved, and we were not disappointed. The view of the boats going and coming is worth the extra price. They even provide a fan you can put near the window (if you choose), so you can keep the window open and get crisp outside air rather than air conditioning. The people at the front desk were very nice and helped direct us on our walk to the local Dock Point trail (which is a fun little 1-2 mile walk, though not entirely scenic). An employee wedged the back door to the hallway open and left their cigarette pack on the top of the stairs outside the door. Fortunately, the smell of smoke did not get into the hallway, but I'm sure it could have. The cost of this hotel is too expensive, but the value is good considering the other choices in Valdez.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank garbagecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

My staff and I would like to Thank you we are glad you that we were able to make
Your stay an enjoyable experience. Hope to see you again.
Scott Malone/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Can't understand the complaints about this motel. Location is great, staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast great with plenty of sitting room. Had accessible room and shower was a little strange (no door or curtain) but was able to dam up water with towels. A little inconvenent but not major. Great town--how could anyone complain about it? We visit Alaska annually and this is one of the best towns we have been in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRC36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

My staff and I would like to Thank you we are glad you that we were able to make
Your stay an enjoyable experience. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western for one night while on our 14 day Alaska tour. It was clean and comfortable with all the amenities of home. Very comfortable beds and it had a small fridge,microwave,coffee pot,hair dryer,ironing board and iron. Overall it was a good experience.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank wdrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

My staff and I would like to Thank you we are glad you that we were able to make
Your stay an enjoyable experience. Hope to see you again.
Scott Malone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

No frills but friendly, clean and comfortable. We stayed here at the start of our kayaking trip and stayed at the Mountain Sky on the back end. Hands down wished we had stayed at the Best Western on both ends. Staff was super friendly and welcoming and rooms more inviting and comfortable. Great location and if you're lucky you might even get a room with a water view:-)

Room Tip: ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

My staff and I would like to Thank you we are glad you that we were able to make
Your stay an enjoyable experience. Hope to see you again.
Scott Malone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The bathroom floor was sticky, there was a leftover pepsi in the fridge, mold in the bathroom, shabby in general. My reservation was messed up and the front desk staff couldn't care less. I drove around and couldn't find an obviously nicer place to stay so I would recommend not staying in Valdez at all if you don't have too. Seward or Homer are much nicer.

Room Tip: It is in a good location- close to the harbor but noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILUVAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

My staff and I would like to apologize for your experience at our hotel this is not the norm and I wish you had brought this to my attention while you were here so I could rectify the problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdez hotels
0.2 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
143 reviews
27.1 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
34 reviews
0.8 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
214 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn

Address: 100 Harbor Drive, P.O.Box 468, Valdez, AK 99686 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range: $102 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Valdez Harbor Hotel Valdez
Valdez Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing