We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

There is nothing wrong with the Harbor Inn in many ways - in a not very attractive town it is most definitely the best of a bad bunch. The breakfast area is small, as others have noted, but the room was fine, albeit with a view over a nearby shipping container - not exactly the scenery that Alaska is renowned for.

My main complaint is that the Harbor Inn is incredibly overpriced for what it is - a typical American motel style hotel. In other places the rooms would not pass for more than $80 but sadly the proprietors are taking advantage of the location and lack of choice elsewhere in Valdez.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephdlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I am sorry you feel like we were taking advantage of you with our price ,our price's reflects all mid class hotels in Alaska. Things are expensive here the same reason you picked Alaska as your destination is the same reason for the expense, We are the last frontier we are out in the middle of no where with all of it's beautiful scenery comes a price everything has to be shipped or trucked to
us from the lower states.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    210
    130
    52
    17
See reviews for
112
228
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Really don't agree with previous two reviews. Didn't consider the rooms old or small. Although there mid-July 2012 can't remember if they had A/C or not. But who needs it in Alaska. Our room was clean and staff were friendly and helpful and had no problem with the breakfast area as fine for us. Our only disappointment was the restaurant on the property which to me was an overpriced coffee shop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2iks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego California, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

very old building. management knows there are not many options around. so they dont seem to care. staff were not friendly, some of them bordering rude. rooms were not clean, tiny bathrooms, tiny breakfast area ( there was a line outside in the morning). would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soakuptheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon, AL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Would not return, rooms were nice, except no a/c. After walking the harbor it would be nice for a little a/c. The front desk people were very unfriendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bharper-1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice amenities like fitness room and barber shop on site. Convenient location by the harbor and close to all restaurants and adventure trip offices. The laundry room with washer-dryer was really useful after a day of kayaking when we got some clothes a little wet. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Beware of the hot tap in the shower, the water that comes out is scalding hot...turn it slowly. Great breakfast in the mornings. 'Off the hook', the hotel's restaurant is definitely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pranko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
My staff and I would like to Thank you we are glad you that we were able to make
Your stay an enjoyable experience. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for one night here. The location couldn't be better. It is on the harbor and within walking distance to the two interesting museums and shops. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff were all friendly. We had a delicious dinner with a drop-dead view of the harbor and mountains. Even though the waiter was very busy, he was gracious and attentive. The second floor rooms probably have better views, but we were happy with our ground floor room because we were there only to eat and sleep, having spent most of our time just walking around the town enjoying the breathtaking scenery. We appreciated the ample parking and the closeness to the ferry.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
My staff and I would like to Thank you we are glad you that we were able to make
Your stay an enjoyable experience. Hope to see you again. Sorry about the restaurant
I will make sure to speak with them about the attitude given.
Scott Malone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
223 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Spent two days here in Valdez. We found the room very comfortable for two, laundry services were available and the hotel is easy walking distsances to restaurants and shops in Valdez. Howevery, there is no need to eat anywhere else. The King Crab was the best we had in Alaska, and the sweet potato fries are second to none. All the salmon,halibut dishes were top notch. Great waterfront view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccerdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdez
0.2 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.8 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.1 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn

Property: Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
Address: 100 Harbor Drive, P.O.Box 468, Valdez, AK 99686 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Valdez Harbor Hotel Valdez
Valdez Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing