We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay at this hotel or in Valdez ever again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Reviewed July 14, 2011

As part of our recent family trip to Alaska, we decided to try something different and take a water ferry from Whittier to Valdez. I must say that the ferry ride was outstanding and the whole family enjoyed the views and wildlife - but it takes 6 hours! So, we booked the Best Western in Valdez for the night before continuing on to McCarthy, AK the next day. Thank GOD we did not plan on staying in Valdez for anything other than a quick night stay because the hotel, and in fact the town of Valdez has little to offer a family.

The Bad: We had to wait in a long line to check in as there was only one person at the front desk. When it was finally my time to checkin, it seemed to me that the girl at the front desk couldn't care less that I existed (I don't think she ever looked at me while we were checking in). The room was a non-smoking room, as reserved, but still smelled of something (not exactly sure of what). The room was small and cramped. The bathroom was small, outdated and the lighting seemed dark. The rooms are not air-conditioned and the night we stayed there, it was warm. We had to leave the window open but the screen was almost falling out. I was a little afraid to sleep too soundly as we were on the ground floor and anyone passing by could have easily reached into the window and stolen anything within reach (or worse!). To top it off, the "free breakfast" was pathetic compared to other hotels we stayed at in Alaska.

The Good: Well, uh, ummm, let me think - think real hard! Well, the .... the rabbits! Yes, the rabbits! Valdez has lots of rabbits running around the town for some unknown reason so my two kids kept busy chasing after them for an hour or so before bed (see the attached pictures from my 8 year old's camera). Now the ferry ride from Whittier to Valdez was outstanding and a must do! Also, the drive north OUT of town was absolutely beautiful - including the drive through Thompson Pass. It ALMOST made up for the disappointment of Valdez and our "uncomfortable" stay at the Best Western Valdez, but not quite.

After breakfast we immediately packed up and left Valdez - hopefully never to return! If you have to be in Valdez because of business, I would suggest that you try another hotel - but there just doesn't seem to be much of anything in Valdez worth staying at that I could see. The Best Western might be the best that Valdez has to offer - that is sad! If you are traveling with a family for fun and adventure, I would advise you stay away from Valdez entirely. It really is so sad that a town that has the potential to be something - with all the oil money there - is really nothing much at all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheFlyingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 589 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

Claimed it wasn't smoking room but it was the only room without non-smoking sign and it reeked with smoke. Desk could care less about my reservation and only wanted to . argue

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ramblerman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The room was smelly and too warm, though the hit was off. The only window was adjacent to the parking lot, so people there were almost inside our room when the curtains were open, and we had to open them because the smell and the hit.
The toilet door did not close properly, and did not lock - not fun.
At least we had a fan in the room that really helped...

Room Tip: not first floor.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank ziv_harpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We reserved quiet rooms. The very unfriendly (very moody, no welcome, no smile) female receptionist gave us small key envelopes without further explanation. On the doors of our rooms was a note that maintainance was being done on the outside of our rooms. If that would be a problem, we should contact reception. The receptionist claimed she didn't know anything about the maintainance, the hotel was fully booked, take it or leave it. We asked her to call the manager. She didn't want to disturb him, he was having dinner. (More important than unhappy guests!). We insisted and didn't leave the desk. Then she made a telephone call. The hotel was indeed booked to capacity. Then we asked for a discount, which was granted. The toilet in one of the rooms was clogged. We reported it to the receptionist. She came to the room with a plunger. We had to do the job ourselves. However, the toilet remained clogged. The next morning we put the plunger in front of the toilet as a sign for housekeeping, but it was not rapaired. There was a note in the room that, if we wanted to use wi-fi, we should inform reception and ask for a password. When we did, the same unfriendly receptionist snarled that she had given the information already. Indeed, there was a small note in the key envelope, about which she had not informed us. Also the personnel in the breakfast area was unfriendly and empty bowls were not replaced by full ones. ("We ran out of.... etc.). When checking out the reception was not occupied. We had to wait for 10 minutes. This (nice) hotel is badly managed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aquarius46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Not sure what is comparable in Valdez, but this hotel is right on harbor- great location, tries hard with new furniture, new fixtures, TVs, and hearty breakfast included. However, the building is a bit old, no air conditioning, and no elevators to 2nd floor

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hsingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The rooms were clean and comfy; the staff was very responsive to our needs; the bar and restaurant were terrific; THE VIEW - none better! The managers were very friendly and proud of their hotel. I won't stay anywhere else when I visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erma942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Scott and Deborah, the managers, and the entire staff were just terrific and made our stay just lovely. The renovations are beautiful.. big screen tv, refrigerator and microwave and the staff did everything to make our stay easy and wonderful... and the new restaurant!!! wowo!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faith253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdez hotels
0.2 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
143 reviews
27.1 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
214 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn

Address: 100 Harbor Drive, P.O.Box 468, Valdez, AK 99686 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range: $103 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Valdez Harbor Hotel Valdez
Valdez Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing