We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Galore!”

Mike's Palace Ristorante
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Valdez
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food Galore!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

We are traveling with Fantasy RV, from Idaho through Alaska and back (although we are form NY). We stayed in Valdez for three days and on our last night I suggested we all go to Mike's since they had a private room. We went "dutch treat" so you can imagine how time consuming that was for them, but our waitress kept her smile and they produced a host of delicious food from pizza, to lobster ravioli to seafood specials! Thank you Mike's Palace!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    79
    51
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pizza In Alaska”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We have had several pizzas while in Alaska this summer but this was the best. Pizza was delicious. Crust was perfect and quality ingredients.

Helpful?
Thank GaryandKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

The food was adequate in that while not above average it was quite nice at least for our first meal. There was one server who was outstanding with great attention to customer service and detail - I wish we knew her name. We ate there more than once having been told it was the best in town. Our first meal of crab was decent but either the crab was frozen or slightly overcooked, still it was passable and the ambience that evening and the excellent server made the whole evening worthwhile. We unfortunately had very bad experiences with the other meals we tried there with poor service and food reaching us only slightly warm. The rest of the staff seemed much more interested in catching up with the locals and not that interested in the customers. We would recommend supper here once (on the off chance you would be served by that amazing server) but I am afraid we cannot recommend beyond that, nor can we endorse their food preparation, presentation or service overall.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoie_and_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Nice atmosphere, good service, great items and prices on the menu ~ I had my mind set on pizza this day and it was very pleasing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LadyKenai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
414 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Large menu and efficient service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is one of the better places to dine in Valdez. It is always busy so sometimes a wait to be seated is necessary. The staff whilst not friendly in a matey way were definitely very efficient and polite considering how many tables they were dealing with. The food is very Alaskan and that is large portions and unimaginative so live with it. In terms of pricing Alaska is expensive so this was average in comparison. Good views of the harbour.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mike's Palace Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing