We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome small Museum”

Maxine & Jesse Whitney Museum
Ranked #6 of 23 things to do in Valdez
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Trufant, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
299 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Awesome small Museum”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a great small museum. There is a lot of large animal mounts long with alot of scrimshawed Ivory and native items. It is small in size, but makes up for it in the quality of the displays.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Free Museum”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent free museum about native Alaska history. Lots of exhibits. Tells about the people who collected all of the artifacts.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mimisue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stuffed Alaskan wildlife”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family and I really love this museum. We love looking at animals when they are alive, but this is the second best to being able to see them alive. Even though we live in Alaska, we haven't been able to see all of the wildlife that they have here in this museum. It gets the questions going when my kids visit. Then we get to look up more on line about all the animals they saw.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L_with_theRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda MD
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Definite must see”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice little museum attached to the community college. Fascinating variety of native arts and stuffed Alaskan animals. Entrance is being renovated so should be more presentable soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DocLeJeune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous place. Go Go Go...”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Valdez is blessed with two excellent museums, the Valdez Museum and the Whitney and both are quite different. The Whitney is located at the Community College in an excellent venue, parts of which were under construction while we were there in June. The museum designer did an unbelievable job on the exhibits. The wildlife that's on display will absolutely dazzle. Just about every mammal of Alaska is on display in life size. Unless you're standing next to one alive, and with all the bears you wouldn't want to be, this is as good as it gets. To find a museum like the Whitney anywhere, let alone a Community College in Valdez, is remarkable. Not only that, it's free. And the displays of carved ivory are second to none. It wasn't well advertised but all the locals know it's a do not miss opportunity. Ask directions and go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happycampersabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxine & Jesse Whitney Museum also viewed

 

Been to Maxine & Jesse Whitney Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing