We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stuffed Alaskan wildlife”

Maxine & Jesse Whitney Museum
Ranked #6 of 23 things to do in Valdez
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stuffed Alaskan wildlife”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family and I really love this museum. We love looking at animals when they are alive, but this is the second best to being able to see them alive. Even though we live in Alaska, we haven't been able to see all of the wildlife that they have here in this museum. It gets the questions going when my kids visit. Then we get to look up more on line about all the animals they saw.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L_with_theRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda MD
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Definite must see”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice little museum attached to the community college. Fascinating variety of native arts and stuffed Alaskan animals. Entrance is being renovated so should be more presentable soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DocLeJeune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous place. Go Go Go...”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Valdez is blessed with two excellent museums, the Valdez Museum and the Whitney and both are quite different. The Whitney is located at the Community College in an excellent venue, parts of which were under construction while we were there in June. The museum designer did an unbelievable job on the exhibits. The wildlife that's on display will absolutely dazzle. Just about every mammal of Alaska is on display in life size. Unless you're standing next to one alive, and with all the bears you wouldn't want to be, this is as good as it gets. To find a museum like the Whitney anywhere, let alone a Community College in Valdez, is remarkable. Not only that, it's free. And the displays of carved ivory are second to none. It wasn't well advertised but all the locals know it's a do not miss opportunity. Ask directions and go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happycampersabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Unique Alaskan Memorabilia”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This museum is a located at the community college and portrays a lifetime collection of Alaskan life and art. You will see a variety of wild game, Eskimo arts and crafts, as well as many other unique and interesting items. Visiting this museum is free of charge and the building is also air conditioned to help preserve the contents.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callahan, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great assortment of stuffed animals and stuff”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Really good collection of trophy mammals of all kinds found in Alaska. Would be worth the money even if it wasn't free. Near Prince William Sound Community College on the back side of town, so you have to look for it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WileyFahma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxine & Jesse Whitney Museum also viewed

 

Been to Maxine & Jesse Whitney Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing