We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rose is the best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valdez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Roses By The Sea B&B Retreat
Ranked #4 of 14 Valdez B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We loved our stay with Rose. She shared local knowledge - where to hike, where to eat, etc. Her place is beautiful, in a quiet neighborhood, with a wonderful view. Her breakfasts are terrific too!

I made the reservation over the phone but Rose followed up with emails, staying in touch until our trip. And we've exchanged emails since our return, since she wanted to know how the rest of our vacation went. She's truly a people person and we enjoyed getting to know her.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gretchen251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 79 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

This review is totally overdue as I stayed at this B&B about a year and a half ago (Sep 11). I brought my parents and they were amazed as well. Rose was seriously born to host as she is not only a wonderful cook, but full of so much knowledge on the local area and recommendations for what to do. She is such a genuine person...it shows greatly in the pride w/ which she cares for her home and her guests. The rooms are very well appointed and have such gorgeous views. The living area is also quite large and very welcoming.
Very CLEAN and well kept. It's also a great location, far enough away that it seems like your'e in the middle of the woods..but then close enough to downtown/marina (quick 5-10 min dirve) to get dinner and/or activities.
The view from the living room and kitchen are out of this world. The view we had from our room (upstairs master bed) was the best i've ever had staying in AK. I would say better than the top hotel in Anc.
Ok so for my fave thing from this experience at the B&B....Rose was very kind and open w/ my parents. My mom and her had a conversation about how Rose likes to make her own herbs in her garden etc. and how they both loved tea. On our last day there, Rose packed us some muffins for our trip home (5 hour drive) which was such a sweet touch. Fast forward a few months...I got a little package in the mail and it was from Rose (can you beleive that!) She had sent us some herbs/tea to try for my mom, she said that she found some new ones and thought how my mom might like it. I was amazed...what a lady! She had no reason to do so as she knew we were probably never goign to come back down there (I have since moved back to the lower 48) yet, she was just being thoughtful and kind.

As most of you know...with B&Bs..the host/hostess make or break your experience. At Wild Roses...you literally want to move in. Enough said right? best B&B experience ever.
Thank you Rose.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed in B&Bs all over North America--and this is one of the best we've experienced. Rose is a lovely person and her attention to detail is outstanding. The views from her home are wonderful. We could see the ocean from her living room (and through a cute little window cut through the wall over our bed) and the river from our room. We stayed in the Canyon Suite and everything in our room was perfection, as were the meals. Our only regret was that we only stayed there for two nights. The drive to Valdez and our stay at Rose's was definitely the highlight of our Alaskan vacation.

Room Tip: The Canyon Suite was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Knoisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had 3 very comfortable nights and loved every minute of it when we were there. So glad we made the right choice. Rose made us feel extra special. We loved the great cooked breakfast which was different every morning. I shall be recommending Wild Roses by the Sea B&B to any of our friends going to Valdez Alaska.

Room Tip: The room we had was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddy31043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Gorgeous house in quiet area with absolutely amazing views across the Sound. Rose was very friendly and full of helpful advice to make our stay as good as it could be. She lent us guides for walks and wildlife and really made us feel at home. Our room was very spacious, clean and well equipped. Her breakfast was devine. Definitely one of the highlights of our amazing Alaska tour.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mayfield5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

What a great place to stay and Rose you are really a great hostess! We had the suite which was enormous with a gorgeous bathroom! Very clean and really comfortable.The view from the living room is simply spectaculair. This was really the nicest place we stayed during our Alaska trip! Rose is simply amazing. Her house is your house during your stay and I don't think we ever had such a nice breakfast in a B&B ever! If you are visiting Valdez this is the place to stay. Rose thank you again for this great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkusvdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

So glad we persevered in getting hold of Rose in the depths of winter, this B & B is superb. The breakfast just kept coming and do ask about the sour dough starter. The bed was extremely comfortable and there is a wonderful view across the bay. We were lucky enough to watch a grizzly bear with 4 cubs down by the canning factory which Rose told us was very unusual, she was very excited by our photos. A lovely place and a great hostess.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdez hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
1.2 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
143 reviews
28.2 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
85 reviews
1 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Roses By The Sea B&B Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Roses By The Sea B&B Retreat

Address: 620 Fiddlehead Lane, Valdez, AK 99686
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Valdez
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing