We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food.. high prices”
Review of The Fat Mermaid

The Fat Mermaid
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Valdez
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Fat mermaid sits on the waterfront with a great view of the harbor and mountains. Chef Joel Brown has a fresh and innovative way to create seafood dishes that everyone enjoys and appreciates. We have a love for preparing great pizzas, burgers, steaks and pasta from scratch. We also produce gluten free, healthy and vegan items. Our bar host spirits and over 15 different craft beers on tap.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Food.. high prices”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Ok yes the prices seem a bit high but....for Valdez.. maybe not any worse than anywhere else. The food is usually very good. The wait staff a little hit and miss.The last time we went we waited 15 minutes to get our order taken and we were the only ones there! That being said..when we did get our food it was good and the french onion soup was awesome!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    91
    41
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beer, Pizza, what else do you need?”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My diet was destroyed here, beer and pizza. I liked it. A large pie was big enough for 2 with leftovers, perfect!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Pizza & Loads of Beer Choices”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stepped off our Prince William Sound tour boat and walked across the street into the Fat Mermaid. (Had seen this place a few days earlier, and pledged to eat here based on the name alone!)

Noticed a number of other patrons were enjoying pizzas, and saw another leave on a takeout order...so being the perceptive type, we decided that the pizzas must be pretty good.

Ordered the Thai chicken pizza and it was very good. Large was enough to fill two guys, and still had room for a couple of beers. Their selection of beer was extensive.

Service was fast and attentive.

Would definitely recommend this place and will certainly return next time I'm in Valdez.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJH-SFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitland Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Group breakfast went well”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our John Hall' s group of 44 had breakfast here and the food was hot and delicious. Some kind of eggs and corn mixture that really hit the spot with warm biscuits and gravy. Service was minimal because of the buffet style but everything was fresh , good and plentiful. No idea about the prices.Nice way to wake up in the morning---good coffee.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wdrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Try their wood room”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Food was tasty and service was good. Know that a bunch of kids come to Alaska from all over and work the summers there. So each restaurant will have one or two kids that are a little green. Standard pricing compared to the rest of Valdez (which is expensive). If you're cold, sit in the room to the far left, lined with wood and a wood burning stove. Very cozy, reminded me of growing up with a wood stove in our living room. Great view of the harbor.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fat Mermaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing