We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pangaea Adventures Day Tours

Pangaea Adventures Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 13 Tours in Valdez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided sea kayaking, rafting and glacier hiking. Join our upbeat, knowledgeable crowd, as we offer a unique means of exploring a remote and stunningly beautiful corner of Alaska. Ice climb, camp, backpack, water taxi, kayak rentals and guided half-day, full-day and multi-day trips abound. From sea kayaking amongst the icebergs of Prince William Sound, to whitewater rafting the canyons of the Chugach Mountains, to backcountry hiking into the depths of Wrangell-St. Elias National Park, we offer a wholesome array of fun ways to experience the Alaskan wild. Explore with us for a day, or take all our trips and fuse them into a week-long multi-sport adventure! We customize many of our trips, so we are confident that we can find you the perfect fit.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We were scared at first about the 10 hour kayaking but we never felt it. We actually kayak for 4.5 to 5 hours the rest of the time is for lunch and travel on a boat to the kayaking location. We had 2 guides who were with us and they were great. Kayaking around the icebergs is beautiful. We were out on a rainy day but we still had a great time

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachaelswetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    38
    15
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific kayak outfitter; great group of people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I just came back from an amazing trip to the Shoup Glacier. Pangaea is the only group in Valdez that will rent out kayaks to individuals, as long as you can prove you have the skills to keep yourself safe. This way you can have the liberty to explore the beautiful waterway and glaciers all by yourself. But warning to newbies - unless you really know how to do a self rescue on open water in freezing temperatures, much better to stick with a guided tour.

I even left behind my cherished campstove behind in the kayak, and these good folks were awesome enough to mail it back to me!

Would love to come back some time soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BackpackDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Kayak glacier tour is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The views are fantastic. You have a very good chance of seeing wildlfe. We saw sealions, sea otters, seals and a blackbear.
Very professional crew and guides. Very memorable trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Worthington Glacier Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went on a full day hike on Worthington Glacier with our guide Eric. It was an amazing experience to be right on the glacier and to be so close to the ice. It really impressed upon us the incredible power of nature and time. We saw successively larger crevasses and moulins, Eric had great knowledge of the glacier and could point us towards the most impressive structures in the ice. He also helped make the experience safe by showing us how to use our crampons and how to safely get up the ice. It was our first time using crampons and being on a glacier, but it wasn't too challenging. I would recommend that someone doing the full day hike be a comfortable hiking up a relatively steep hill, but it's not very demanding. But if you want this experience and something less strenuous, I heard that they also offer a half-day hike. However, I think that the full day hike was worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Freezing trip but warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

In 2012 (early Aug.), we took the Columbia Glacier full day trip that included a ferry ride and kayaking. It just happened to be one of the coldest days of the season and raining (as it usually is on the coast). Even though we were freezing, we had a wonderful time! Warning to anyone taking this trip, it will be colder on the water near the glacier than it is on land and even though they provide gloves, I recommend an under-layer! The guide (Zach?) was very understanding and did everything he could to keep us positive, including as much hot tea and hot cocoa as we wanted! :) We maneuvered around many beautiful icebergs and did a lot of exploring. One nice thing about a cloudy/rainy day is how blue the ice is! Thanks for the adventure, guys!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pangaea Adventures Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Pangaea Adventures Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing