We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accommodations.”
Review of Mountain Sky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Sky Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
West Chester, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Adequate accommodations.”
Reviewed September 5, 2006

Stayed at Aspen Inn in Valdez on August 30, 2006. While room was adequate, we were on the backside of the facility. There was a lot of noise with semis and buses parked behind. Also, heat had been turned on, and it was very warm in the room. I would check out other hotels (perhaps, Best Western) in Valdez before staying here again.

  • Liked — Price.
  • Disliked — Exterior noise and heat.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugz4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    41
    79
    30
    21
See reviews for
38
71
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2006

We needed a place close to the harbor and close to services before and after an extended kayaking trip. The Aspen was comfortable and convenient and surprisingly quiet. Staff was friendly. Continental breakfast was good.
We hadn't expected to stay in Valdez on the trip back, but it looked so inviting on our return to Valdez that we went back for another night.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DelightedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbanks alaska
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2006

we stayed in a standerd double room. the rooms are a fair size but arent alaskan in any way. i live in alaska and have worked in a hotel and i know tht guest tht vist the great ak like to see alaaska theme i belave they should offered a better chanel of the history of there city and surandening citys.
valdez is just a fish town not much to do there with young kids tht is why the pool is a big plus it would be alot better if it was bigger but its all good if just four people are in there.
in all i loved the stay and the breakfest that was good also there is enough choices for the whole family to be happy! the price is pretty fair its about the same as all of the other deceant hotels they have to offer there.
i was unhappy tht i sent an email for speacials or to be contacted and i was never contact still to this day so tht part of there sight is a waste of your time

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank akstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2006

We (mom, dad, 13, 10 and 5 year old) stayed in a family room for two nights early in July.

We were satisfied in most respects and would stay here again, although the hotel is very average by "chain hotel" standards.

Pros: family room was large - there was a room off the main room with bunk beds, as well as a queen and a queen sofa in the main room. Each room had a TV. Curtains were heavy and did a good job of excluding the midnight sun. Breakfast was ample, if somewhat standard fare, with make your own belgian waffles a big plus. Hotel location is on a central cross roads, five minutes walk from Stan Stephens excellent Prince William Sound tours. Has one of the few pools, albeit small, in Valdez.

Cons: Room decor is standard drabness, based around a dark green. Hotel seems to be very popular for tour parties and finding somewhere to sit at breakfast was very hard. Staff were efficient but not overly friendly. No particular Alaskan theme or feeling to the hotel, which lacked atmosphere in general.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diversitylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 31, 2005

pool too small, staff not too friendly.....rates too high for what they had to offer!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2004

Stayed here mid July for one night and really enjoyed the super clean room & surroundings. We did laundry & used the free internet. Also enjoyed the very big breakfast in the morning..Would come back here next visit !

Helpful?
4 Thank BackHomeOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2003

This is the sixth time I've stayed at the Aspen in Valdez. The room accommodation have always been excellent. The continental breakfast with "make-your-own" Belgium Waffles is great. The location of the hotel is very good also. It is close to all the major restaurants and facilities.

Helpful?
8 Thank W6994BTjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdez
0.6 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
0.5 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
40.8 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Sky Hotel

Property: Mountain Sky Hotel
Address: 100 Meals Ave, Valdez, AK 99686
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Sky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the head of the Azure waters of the Prince William Sound, nestled beneath the Chugach Mountains - Mountain Sky Hotel & Suites is the perfect choice for the adventurous traveler and the home-away- from-home vacationer alike. Enjoy the largest standard rooms in the area with easy access to adventure and the stunning wildlife of the sound......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Mountain Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sky Valdez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing