We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Likely the best you'll get in Valdez” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Sky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Sky Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Likely the best you'll get in Valdez”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was fine. It's a typical hotel with a bed, TV, and bathroom. The pool is broken and they said will likely never be fixed. The highlight of the stay was the Tornado foosball table and awesome waitstaff at the hotel bar. The $2 PBR didn't hurt, either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DigginLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your review. The pool is permanently closed. The last unruly guest decided to take a bubble bath in the hot tub and jammed up all the pumps. It was not a cost-effective amenity to keep available.

The restaurant is longer in business and has vacated the premises.



Jason H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    40
    78
    30
    21
See reviews for
36
71
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I took a spontaneous overnight trip to Valdez, and Mountain Sky Hotel was very accommodating. The man at the desk made sure to get something available to us that very afternoon, and additionally offered us a room upgrade for very little extra cost, and an Alaska resident's discount. Kudos to the staff, who were friendly, efficient and helpful.
Our room was warm, clean and quiet, and had wireless internet available. We didn't get time to check out the pool, but we definitely will on our next visit. The bar was nice and had a great atmosphere. Our rates included a continental breakfast, which was really nice (loved the fresh waffles and coffee!)
We recommend staying here, and we will be booking in again. Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FenraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a room that smelt badly of mould or cigaretts. When we complained to the reception we were advised to write a complaint on one of the cards when we leave for management to follow up. The rooms were clean but we did find some stains on throw pillows and couches. The bathroom was clean though.
The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OKAPRANOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Front desk didn't know who we were on check-in although we were a booked tour group. Had to call the manager who did eventually locate our booking. We have stayed here before, two years prior and we are back, so I guess that says something for this establishment.
Staff are friendly including which the restaurant staff. Meals OK. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BongoBickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nothing memorable about this place. It's your typical two-story (no elevator) run-of-the-mill hotel.

Front desk staff was friendly. Check-in was quick. Construction/renovations going on during our stay, but we were there for just one night so no real impact on our stay other than the hallways and stairwells being a bit messy.

Decent continental breakfast.

You could do better (and spend a lot more) but if you're looking for a basic place to stay for a night or two, this should serve that purpose.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJH-SFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Beware if you travel to Valdez NONE of the hotels have elevators, granted they are only two stories but if you don't do or can't do stairs be sure to request a bottom floor up front. Now to the Mountain Sky: yes we got three early and thought it wouldn't hurt to ask if the room use ready it wasn't--no big deal we needed to get lunch any way (2:00). We went back at 3:00 room still not done and the desk clerk ran upstairs and I think did a little chewing. It still took till 4:15 to get your room,which I move pretty slow and could of cleaned it in less than two hours. If the desk people hadn't have been so nice I would have only gave it two stars. the free breakfast is not bad, toast cereal ,bagels,jams, coffe,tea, etc. The one other problem we had was with the heater, it would NOT shut off, after waiting for the room we didn't want a maintance man in the room and didn't want to have to move so we solved the problem-- cranked open the window and left it open all night, on second thought it probably should be two stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains they are beautiful, you can't see much of the harbor anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The staff were very helpful. I had 2 certificates, each for a 2 day stay. When making reservations, the hotel was completely full on the 3rd might of my stay. When I arrived for check-in, the clerk was extremely helpful and was able to find a room that was available for all 4nights of my stay. Considering this was the busy holiday weekend, I was very pleasantly surprised.

The room itself was a king handicap room and was comfortable, though the bed was very firm. There is no A/C in the room, but I left the window open overnight and didn't have an issue with noise from the road or town keeping me awake.

The restaurant in the hotel had an excellent menu (I recommend the eggplant dish), reasonably priced. Their current liquor license is limited to beer and wine, but they may expend to hard liquor I. The future.

The hotel is located a few blocks from the harbor and most restaurants, just at the end of the Richardson Highway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPinAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdez
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn
0.5 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.6 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
40.8 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#3 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Sky Hotel

Property: Mountain Sky Hotel
Address: 100 Meals Ave, Valdez, AK 99686
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Sky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the head of the Azure waters of the Prince William Sound, nestled beneath the Chugach Mountains - Mountain Sky Hotel & Suites is the perfect choice for the adventurous traveler and the home-away- from-home vacationer alike. Enjoy the largest standard rooms in the area with easy access to adventure and the stunning wildlife of the sound......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sky Valdez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing