We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful kayak adventure”

Anadyr Adventures Day Trips
Ranked #3 of 13 Tours in Valdez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Half day to 7 day wilderness kayaking expeditions departing from Valdez Alaska. Glacier kayaking at it's finest with small group sizes and naturalist trained guides.
Auburn, IN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful kayak adventure”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our traveling party (four of us) took an afternoon guided kayak tour at the Valdez Glacier Lake with Anadyr Adventures. What a great time! We had a little bit of light rain off and on, but that couldn't dampen the experience. Our guide, Laura, was excellent and the scenery was beautiful. Having hot chocolate on top of the glacier was just like the icing on the cake. So glad we included this in our Alaska itinerary.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bellsINAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    16
    5
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Superb in every way.. Sensational guide :) Safe and great food!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 3 day Kayaking experience through Sawmill Bay and Shoup Bay and Glacier. Darcie our guide was wonderful- Her knowledge of birds, ocean and land creatures was outstanding. The company was well prepared for our tour providing us with snacks and mosquito (face) net and toilet items as well as providing sleeping bags, mats and quality tent. Darcie went out of her way to ensure that we felt comfortable throughout the adventure and cooked up the most delicious meals- We had requested low fat meals and Darcie ensured that we had lots of fresh fruit and vegetables. Darcie was very safety conscious and made sure that our equipment was well fitting and in good working order. Our visit to the area near the end of the glacier was a highlight as we were able to paddle within a close vicinity and see the amazing colours hidden in the ice. Whilst out paddling we saw sea otters, Stellar Seals, Harbour seals, a river otter, multitude of eagles, black bear footprints, arctic terns, a mink and so many salmon that jumped and swam - sometimes in a frenzied flurry beneath our kayak. We would highly recommend this trip to anyone in good general health. My husband and I are both over 55 and were able to cope with the demands of the kayaking- We were also able to leave our packs at Anadyr whilst we were out paddling.Wanting to add to your bucket list? Make sure you put this adventure near the top of your list! An adventure to cherish! Thanks Darcie and Anadyr for making our 3 days of Kayaking around Valdez so memorable :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rh0nda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Columbia glacier kayaking tour”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

excellent equipment, very safety orientated and very helpfully in recommending clothing requirements. 1.5 hour boat ride each way on katamaran's with very smooth seas. Vessel leaves at 10am and returns at 5pm. Kayaking amongest very large chunks of iceburgs that calved off the columbia glacier. Important note, you will not be kayaking near the face of Columbia glacier, as the face is about 10 to 12 miles away from where you will be kayaking. they provide boots and rain gear. we enjoyed it very much.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davenicolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Day!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went on a Kayak trip to the Valdez Glacier, and it was a great day! Even though it was below 50 and raining, the folks at Anadyr Adventures had outfitted us in attractive (not) rubber pants and boots, and even rubber paddle grips/mittens, so that we stayed warm and dry. Our guide was knowledgeable and pleasant. The pace was good for people of varying kayaking skills and strength. There were two groups of us out that morning, yet they kept the groups small and away from each other so that we could enjoy the sights and sounds more. We paddles through the glacier field and up to large ice formations. We were able to nose into ice caves. We got out of the kayaks for lunch next to a rushing stream, then paddles over to the glacier itself. We were able to hike around on top of the glacier. It was fantastic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Capable guide, well-organized outfitter”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The full-day Colimbia Glacier sea kayak trip was lovely, affording us the chance to see up close a surprising variety of landscapes and north country features: beached icebergs, icebergs in the water, the glacier, forested islands, isolated beaches, etc. Our guide was low key and competent and very pleasant to be with all day. All the logistics were exactly as advertised and the whole day proceeded without a hitch. My only reason for not awarding five stars is a lack of enthusiasm among the staff we encountered. They weren't unhappy by any means, but I didn't sense a deep love of the outdoors or a spirit of adventure that it so enjoyable in other nature guides. Being upbeat counts!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnview9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anadyr Adventures Day Trips also viewed

 

Been to Anadyr Adventures Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing