We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overview” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of the Aleutians

Museum of the Aleutians
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Unalaska
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great overview”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

A whole new education about this fascinating part of the world. The perfect introduction to the history of the Aleutians and its peoples, and how/where they fit in to today's world. Some incredible artefacts. One only needs 1-2 hours to cover everything, so should not be a problem for aching hikers' legs. Highly recommended - only $5 - and a great gift shop with never-to-be-found-again items.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
214 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“I was researching Aleut culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This museum is loaded with interesting things. One unexpected treat was the Russian icons for sale in the gift shop

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashlandbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
178 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I spent a very pleasant 2-3 hours here recently. Even though I had seen some of the exhibits at the state museum in Juneau, these provided more detail and information on the Aleutian specific parts. The staff was super helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend stopping in here if you're in Dutch. Well worth the $5 admission price.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank NomeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutch harbor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ms.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Not to my liking, I am a traveler to historical sites. I believe they could do better here. Too many politics in the way. People in small commuities usually tell the story their way, not necessarily the factual stories.

Helpful?
Thank thebering_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unalaska is worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I wanted to go to Unalaska, Alaska (aka Dutch Harbor) just because I had never been there. I was amazed at the place. Did you know that it was bombed in WWII? I didn't. Take a tour with Bobbie Lekanoff of Extra Mile Tours and hear all about it. Into bird watching, Bobbie is your person. The Museum of the Aleutians is very well done and worth a visit. The Grand Aleutian Hotel is the only hotel and a nice one.

For something out of the ordinary, visit Unalaska and combine it with the Alaska Marine Highiway ferry service.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Aleutians also viewed

 
Dutch Harbor, Unalaska
Dutch Harbor, Unalaska
 

Been to Museum of the Aleutians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing