We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location and Views with a "Just Average" Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing Location and Views with a "Just Average" Lodge”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Princess Wilderness Lodge is one of those places that is far from extraordinary, but exists in an absolutely wonderful location. Great views of the mountain are coupled with plenty of places to explore via walking. The staff seemed a little behind on certain things, such as getting rooms ready and honestly came across as disorganized. They were friendly, just not the most accommodating of hosts. The facilities are nice though and you'll have what you need, if not everything you want. Of course you've come for the views and on nice days you'll most definitely get those. If you can get around the pricey middle-of-the-road nature of the lodge itself, the environment is worth the trip alone. We stayed as part of a larger tour package and definitely didn't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    391
    188
    54
    30
See reviews for
230
510
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband & I stayed here 2 nights as part of a Princess land tour. The room was nice & clean (king bed, nice bathroom); similar to other state lodges we have been to. The lodge deck was great for sitting and enjoying the mountain vistas. We enjoying sitting around the fire at night and talking with new friends. Food was a little pricey but it was everywhere we went in Alaska. We bought the $10 round trip shuttle into Talkeetna, which is a neat little town. At the end of Main street there is a little beach where 3 rivers meet and there is a beautiful view of the mountains. There are several walking trails around the lodge; two were closed while we were there due to a mother moose and her calf (we could see her thru the trees). The resort has multiple buildings and ours was far from the lodge but a nice walk. There is a shuttle if needed. We had the breakfast buffet and rate it just OK for the price. My husband was very impressed with the huge cinnamon rolls he had from the Cafe in the lodge.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were lucky the Mtn showed while we were there, YAY, other than that we had a rough stay at McKinley, room not ready, room not clean, when we voiced concerns we were told to sit in the lobby and wait, room was never cleaned properly. We were served pancakes w/o syrup after waiting 45 mins to eat breakfast, We spent 1.5 hours waiting on the room after check in time, and 45 mins to be seated for meals, that is a lot of time wasted waiting around at t place we had less than 24 hours to visit. We did complain to Princess and they sent us a voucher for 120.00 ship board credit on our next Princess cruise. I honestly doubt we use it. I hope it was just an off week and a new unseasoned staff, if not this place has issues.

Room Tip: we did not get to pick our rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,243 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife, a friend and myself stayed at MT. McKinley Lodge for one night and it was OK. Everything is very expensive, but you'd expect that from Princess. The rooms are spread out and they do have a shuttle service that goes around to all the buildings. We were extremely lucky the day we arrived to be able to see the mountain. We were told it was not visible the whole prior week. The following day even though it was clear out the mountain was not visible. The rooms are OK, nothing great, they don't have Wi-Fi in the rooms, just in the main lodge which was about a 10 minute walk that was easy. They have 3 restaurants at the lodge and we ate in the upscale one which isn't very upscale. We picked it because it was the only on to take reservations. The next day before leaving we did eat in the Grizzly Bar which was OK too. The staff everywhere are all very nice and helpful. The shuttle large buses have great drivers who are very informative, some are better than others. Princess handles things so so, by that I mean they seem very confused, but things do get done. The location of this lodge is spectacular and that makes everything worthwhile.

Room Tip: It's the luck of the draw where you'll be, but in the end they all have pluses and minuses s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Resort is very nice with great views to my mckinley and good selection of eateries. Also very nice to sit around the open fires taking in the views in the long summer evenings. Only drawback is that without transport you are somewhat restricted apart from taking the tours the resort offers.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietraveller1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, MI
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our group stayed here two nights as part of the cruise/land package with Princess Cruises. The facility is a gorgeous property and the starting point for tours and provides excellent views of Mt. McKinkey. The resort provides complimentary shuttle service to Talkeetna where some tours begin. Otherwise the $10 round trip can be purchased. The small tourist town is one hour away and has a few decent restaurants. The resort has wifi in the main building and the 20320 restaurant. The food is very good with a wide variety. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Drit45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here as part of a Princess tour, like most people, and found the hotel was good. The location is fantastic with great views of the mountains, unfortunately Mt McKinley was covered in cloud but that's the luck of the draw. On a down side was the restaurant and how long people had to wait to be seated and then get their meals. Waits of 45 minutes were standard just to be seated and then the restaurant would be half full. We were told this was because there is not enough kitchen staff to handle a full restaurant so they only let a certain amount of customers in at a time. Members of our group actually had their bill given to them before they had received their meal. Princess needs to employ some more kitchen staff because this was the main talking point and complaint within our group when leaving. There is also an outside fire pit area which also serves drinks etc into the evening but for some reason stops at 10pm. It was still daylight and there were plenty of people enjoying the area, buying drinks etc and then the fires were out out and we were told it was time to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapper Creek
17.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
962 reviews
16.6 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
21.9 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
260 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
17.3 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 19 in Talkeetna
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Mile 133 Parks Highway, Denali State Park, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Location: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Mckinley Princess Wilderness Hotel Trapper Creek
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing