We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Hemel
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a great overnight stay here. Our bedroom was in a seperate block as most are and was very comfortable. The main lodge building is fantastic with the huge panoramic views of the mountain.
Lucky for us the weather was excellent so we had great views of the mountain both by day and bunder a bright full moon at night after we were woken for an aurora alert
The small bar did excellent food and drink but we opted for the main restaurant and were not dissapointed - excellent food and great service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hardwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    391
    186
    54
    30
See reviews for
229
507
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I were planning our own trip (not with a tour) and we wound up staying here because we thought it was all there was with internet in the area. We were wrong and wish we had stayed in Talkeetna at one of the Inns.

This place is very strange. I had expected luxury because it's cruise associated but instead it was just a lame fake lodge with scratchy linens, bad food and a lot of fat Americans.

The staff were pleasant enough - for the last three days of the season - but we will also wish he hadn't stayed there.

Room Tip: go to Talkeetna if you can. It's much more authentic, charming and the food is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethLesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The picture perfect wilderness lodge with it great room with its impressive fireplace wher you can sit with a drink looking out at MT McKinley (if you can see it). All dining is in the main lodge and while the cabins are over a large area the lodge dose provide a complimentry shuttle to it if needed. There is allso a shuttle to Talkeetna. Tour desk very healpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This lodge is run by Princess Cruises. It has some of the most spectacular views. If the clouds clear you can see Mt. McKinley from their large deck. Just call the front desk and ask to be put on the call list for this event. Rooms are comfortable and the buildings are laid out for privacy and views. Both restaurants are good. There are even a couple of easy hiking trails around the property with some beautiful views. It is remote - an hour outside the closest town of Talkeetna. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tahoekahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here in early September for two nights and really enjoyed being there! The restaurants were very nice, staff was excellent. We played cards in the main, very large open lobby area by the fireplace with the massive deck to the front and side of us. Very enjoyable time! Rooms were basic but very clean. We were only in our room to sleep and as everything worked very well, no complaints! We did ask for a room in a bldg close to the lodge and that request was met, which we really appreciated! Loved it there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renemomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the McKinley Lodge in mid-September near the end of their tourist season. The employees and staff were very friendly and engaging but ready to move on to other activity during the off season. The site of the lodge is outstanding about 40 miles south of Mt. McKinley and offering breathtaking panoramic views of the mountain, when it allows you. We stayed in two story, Bldg 5, which was very comfortable. The room was clean and spacious, a great "lodge" environment. The building did have a fire suppression system system as well as smoke detectors and annunciators.

The lodge does have three excellent restaurants, the Mountain View Restaurant, the Grizzly Bar and the 20,320 Alaskan Grill. They present some excellent choices but there are few alternatives near by.

This is an excellent location for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The room was comfortable but would have appreciated an elevator since my husband just had surgery and couldn't lift any luggage. We listened to the talk on Athabascan Indians, which was very informative. We also viewed a film series on the northern lights, which I had hoped to see for real, but this was close. This is one of the best places to try to see Mt. McKinley. Deck and lodge were very nice. Gift shop personnel were helpful with shipping and we got our stuff without any problem.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapper Creek
17.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
956 reviews
17.0 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
16.6 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
263 reviews
20.1 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
259 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Mile 133 Parks Highway, Denali State Park, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Location: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Mckinley Princess Wilderness Hotel Trapper Creek
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing