We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant views of Mt Mckinley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is run by Princess Cruise Lines (PCL) and is meant to be an extension of one's cruise. For some reason that little bit of information as obvious as it is did not click with me till we arrived at the lodge. People literally arrive by the bus loads either from Talkeetna or from Anchorage or from some other location in Alaska. The lodge is huge, but you really only notice the crowds during meal times or if you happen to be in the lobby when a bus is leaving or arriving. PLC has many activities for people to take advantage of from trips into Talkeetna to riding the rapids, so people are coming and going all day. The park rangers have a desk at the lodge and they present several talks each day. There are also educational lectures about Alaskan history that are fascinating.
As I said the lodge is huge. There are maybe 10 buildings with large hotel style rooms spread out through the property. The rooms are extremely comfortable. Be aware that the rooms are not airconditioned, so if you arrive on a really warm day (which is usually not the case in Alaska) you may be warmer than you prefer. The rooms are equipted with overhead ceiling fans and oscillating table fans that you can set near a window to help circulate the air to make you more comfortable.
The lodge is about 45 minutes or more from Talkeetna and is rather isolated (thus the wilderness part of the name) so don't expect to pop into town for lunch or dinner. The restaurants on the property provide excellant food. Our bus driver recommended that we explore Talkeetna when we first arrived from Anchorage after our train trip, so we did. We had lunch in town and popped into several of the fascinating gift shops. We had planned to return to Talkeetna on our last day, but that did not work out as we had expected.
Mt Mckinely is about 25 miles from the lodge. The views are fantastic when the weather complies. This summer many guests were accorded the opportunity of seeing the mountain with unobstructed views. The day we arrived the mountain was shrouded in clouds and ever so often the wind would push the clouds away so we could have a peak at the mountain. Then everyone in the main lodge hurried out onto the deck to see what they could see before the mountain disappeared once again. The second day was even better with longer periods when the mountain was visible, but on our third day the views were absolutely phenominal. We could see from one end of the range to the other end without a cloud in sight and there in the midst in all it's glory was Mount Mckinley.
Besides the fantastic views of the mountain we took several short walks along the various paths throughout the property. I came home with many wonderful pictures. The property has loads of wild flowers and the occasional bear that will show up. Moose are also meader by from time to time. We did not see either, but we had heard that a bear had been seen hanging around on one of the hiking paths. The rangers closed that path due to the danger the bear presented to the unsuspecting tourist that might not realize how dangerous the bears actually are.
We did not go on any of activities off of the property, but rather hung out at the lodge and enjoyed the views. We live in Alaska and had just wanted a quiet weekend in the country and that is exactly what we got.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has views of the mountain. If you like a dark room then request that you not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sun&oil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

I'm sure if the clouds cleared, there would have been a great view of the mountain from the beautiful lodge but we had to just enjoy sitting in the comfortable chairs and sofas. Dinner at the Mountain View Dining Room was good as was the service. Our room in Building 20 was a brisk 5 minute walk from the main lodge, however, shuttle service was also available and run regularly. Although our room was not ready when we arrived, there was a comfortable lounge at the end of the hall where we waited while very hard working young people quickly cleaned our room. Our room was large, comfortable and had a ceiling fan--internet access was in the main lodge. The grounds had lots of wildlife statues to see and a big gift shop but that's about all there was to do without taking a long ride on a shuttle bus. A one night stay is plenty of time to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choicegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed only one night at this beautiful lodge but we enjoyed it very much. Even though there was fog and we couldn't see the mountain at all. We had dinner at the lodge that was so nice.
It was in the middle of now where but it suited us for that one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

McKinley princess lodge is really out in the middle of nowhere. It was very cold the night we were there and rainy. You could sit around a fire at night and keep warm. The grounds were beautiful and lots of trails to walk if you like hiking. The food was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were thrilled to stay here for the first day after our Princess Alaska cruise. The view of Mt. McKinley, now called Denali, couldn't be beat. However, if it is cloudy you probably won't see the mountain at all. We took a walk at dusk and saw three moose on the property. However, unless you plan excursions through Princess from this location you won't be able to go anywhere else. It is in Denali State Park, in the Alaska State Park System, and NOT in Denali National Park. So you don't have access to all those national park buses. The view of the mountain can't be beat, but otherwise you have access only to Princess restaurants, Princess shops, Princess excursions, etc. So on our second and third days at this lodge there wasn't much to do except take hikes. Our rooms was VERY dusty and fairly rustic. The service in the bar was TERRIBLE, but the service and food in the main dining room were good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although far removed from what one would consider civilization, the lodge was great. The facilities are spread out so you don't have crowding and the restaurants, bars and especially staff were great. If you really want to relax this is the place as you have nothing close by to visit, but to see the wilderness and experience Alaska at it's finest was what we were looking for. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I would only suggest you get familiar with teh layout and then walk throughout as the fresh air is c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice place to stay. While no cooking facilities in room, staff very accommodating to microwave our special meals.
Shuttle to talkeetna.
Staff will help on suggesting things to do/places to go.
We got to see Denali from the hotel. Just beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhgscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapper Creek
17.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
16.6 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
17.4 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
279 reviews
16.2 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
186 reviews
17.3 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 18 in Talkeetna
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge

Address: Mile 133 Parks Highway, Denali State Park, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Location: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range: $156 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Mckinley Princess Wilderness Hotel Trapper Creek
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing