We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Hamilton, OH
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The lodge was very nice. We were all in out buildings. We arrived from our cruise. We were given a suite of living room, dining are, bathroom, and sleeping area. The suite was awesome. We could easily walk to the the lodge in 3 minutes. There were 3 restaurants on the premises with good food. We saw Mt McKinley all three days we were there. they say 30% of visitors get to see it. We could see it from our living room window. Would advise this over Denali Princess Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    354
    176
    51
    27
See reviews for
208
464
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OSHAWA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We only stayed one night but this Princess lodge is one of their best and the location is second to none! Views of Mt. McKinlay, 40 miles away were just awesome!
The lodge was modern, very clean, the rooms comfortable. They don't have airconditioning, but you would not expect that in Alaska; however, we experienced an unusually warm summer there. Food and service in their 20320 Restaurant and Mountainview Dining Room were top notch.
We rate this site as a must-see.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justretiredlovinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Princess Lodge in Denali right before staying here and really preferred this one. Although the rooms were virtually identical (minus the frayed towels in Denali), the grounds were beautifully landscaped (with a "natural" look) and filled with bronze statues of Alaskan wildlife. The interior of the lodge is nicely decorated with lots of comfy seating and a roaring fire. We had dinner in the 20320 Restaurant and enjoyed good food and good service. But what we enjoyed most were the Park Ranger presentations (free) in the theatre and the "Aurora" movie ($8) showing the aurora borealis. The lodge is 40 miles from Mt. McKinley and you can use the viewing scopes on the deck to see it even closer. Wish we had more than 1 night here!

Room Tip: Rooms are scattered in different buildings but the property is pretty level and it didn't seem d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PNWsnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a tough place to rate. Most (70+%) guests stay only one night as part of a tour package, but we stayed four nights. The rooms are very average. On the negative side, there is no A/C in the rooms, only a fan (usually not a problem, but it's a very warm summer in Alaska) and the TVs are old, but if you came to watch TV, shame on you! On the plus side, the grounds are beautiful, the location is remote and picturesque (even when Mt. McKinley is not "out"), the restaurants have great food, and the staff is top notch. The lodge balcony is a great place to relax, enjoy the scenery, and make new friends. You are quite a distance to the nearest town, but that adds to the charm. There are shuttles running all day to Talkeetna - a quaint little town about an hour away with lots of good restaurants and shops. If you have the time, walk around the grounds, they are nicely landscaped and decorated. Finally, don't forget the mosquito repellant!

Room Tip: Shuttles pick up regularly at all buildings, but if you prefer walking to waiting, get a room near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed at McKinley Princess for one night as we traveled through, but I wish I could have stayed longer. Beautiful facility, great lodge atmosphere. Room was clean and spacious. It is kind of far away from the action. Check in/Check out was fast and efficient. Nice place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

As part of the cruise tour, we were booked to this lodge. The rooms are very basic and just barely clean. They smell stale and the bed covers are on the worn side. The sink had gross rotting caulking that was peeling out ftpm under the sink. We were in bldg 25. Fine for us, but a long walk if you have any issues with walking. We were traveling with 4 kids ages 3,7 and 10 - there is little to nothing for them to do. We did use the little playground one morning, but the hot tubs were so far away we never even tried to get the kids there. The trails on the property are a joke. You really have to search for the hill trail as it is poorly marked and you find it from the upper road off of a gravel lot. The other trail was closed due to wildlife sightings... Hummmm, didn't we come all this way to see wildlife?? We walked a dirt road we saw the wagon ride come out of off the upper road and were told by the man driving the wagon that we would have to leave. There were no keep out it private property signs- we just wanted a walk off the road. We had hoped to get to Byers lake to do a hike around the trail ourselves. There is no transportation available. You cannot order a cab. Princess will not allow you to buy transportation on any of their vans or bus unless you are buying an excursion. You can pay to take the bud to Talkeetna, for us that is $50 for a family and then try to find transportation to where you want to go. We spent the day trapped. So we tried to find walking places. After bring kicked off the dirt road, we walked down the access road to the highway and climbed down to the river where the kids threw rocks into the water. It really was the highlight if our stay. By the way, the beer in Talkeetna at Denali brewing is tops!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAMommyof2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Big clean rooms. Location speaks for itself. Meal choices are lacking. Did not eat at the real expensive restaurant. The 20320 restaurant was bad for both breakfast and lunch. Food in the bar by the outside deck was good. Closest town to visit is about an hour drive one way and costs about $10 per person. However, transportation fee is included in price when you buy an excursion in Talkeetna.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elcidkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapper Creek
17.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
16.6 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
16.6 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
16.7 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Mile 133 Parks Highway, Denali State Park, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Location: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Mckinley Princess Wilderness Hotel Trapper Creek
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing