We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saw the mountain.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was a one night stay as part of a Princess Tour/Cruise. The view of the mountain was spectacular on the first evening but clouded in the next morning. They have a lot of rooms here in different buildings. Our room was about a far as possible from the lodge and up hill. View of a spruce tree trunk from the room, but clean. The hotel is isolated, not near anything, but they do have a paid shuttle to Talketna. (If you are taking the train to and or from Talketna they will shuttle you one way for free. We went to town early, had lunch and then caught the train.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gopherhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our stay at the Mt. McKinley Princess Lodge was part of our land tour package. We didn't expect such a nice place in the middle of nowhere land. The property is rustic and reminds me of an Alpine village. Our room was rustic and comfortable. The main lodge is large and well maintained. We ate pizza at a bar within the resort which was very good for non-east coast pizza.

We had dinner in the King Salmon Restaurant. The king crab legs were large and good. The fish and steak were cooked to our liking. We had a great view and great service. TV channels are minimal but you there for the scenery. Hot tubs overlook snow-capped mountains and the river below. There are many Denali tours which leave from there. The lodge is close to the train depot and the park entrance.

In all, The Mt. McKinley Princess Lodge was a great place to stay. Between the magnificent views and their service, any one should have a great, relaxing time.

Room Tip: We were on a tour. Our rooms were chosen for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our tour only included 1 night at the McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge (MPWL) but I wish we could have stayed longer. Similar to the Denali Princess Lodge, this lodge is a large, sprawling place with 25 guest buildings, a main lodge and an another restaurant. We had a lovely suite in building 5 with a partial view of the mountain. The weather was unseasonably warm so the room was quite warm and stuffy during the day (no air conditioning). The ceiling and table fans helped immensely though and it did cool down enough at night to be comfortable sleeping.
The best attraction of this lodge is the magnificent view of the Mountain from the outdoor deck. We were very lucky to have clear weather the whole time we were there and we couldn’t get enough of the view. The morning we left was beautiful and we had plenty of time to enjoy the view with our breakfast. We had lunch and dinner at the Grizzly Bar inside the lodge. The food was very good and the beer was very cold – good enough for us. Other couples in our group had dinner at the 20,320 and said it was very good as well.
Since the place is so huge, we did not receive our luggage until after 4pm (and we arrived at noon). Had we known this we would have packed our swimsuits in our carryon so we could enjoy the hot tubs while we waited. The only complaint we really have about the place is the laundry facilities. There was only one (in building 14) in our entire section (buildings 1-16) and some of them were out of order. All of the others were on the other side in buildings 18-25. So we surely got our exercise lugging laundry all over the place. Word of advice: plan to do laundry elsewhere, especially if you have only 1 day here.
The service in the restaurants, gift shop and front desk was excellent. We were traveling with 3 other couples but only 2 of them were in the same building as we were. The third couple was placed in building 19 way on the other side. When we asked at the front desk if they could be switched to our building, they were very accommodating and moved them for us.

Room Tip: We received our room assignments as we boarded the bus in Denali so you don't really have much c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2CruisePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This place is probably better if you're with the larger Princess tour group than independent travelers like us, but if you wait until the last second to book your trip to Denali (::ahem::) and everything reasonable within 100 miles is booked up, you can't go wrong. This is probably a pretty good option if you're visiting Talkeetna.

We loved that it's secluded but it's about a two hour drive to Denali National Park, so that's the only thing that would prevent us from staying here again. That said, the views of Denali from here are phenomenal. Possibly the best photo op we had of her was on the deck of the main lodge.

Our room was quiet, and our housekeeping attendant, Nick, kept our room clean. The parking is not right outside the building, but you can pull up to unload your stuff. We didn't, however, see an elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs if you're on the second floor.

Shuttles continually go around the property, so it's quite easy to get from your room to the main lodge if you don't want to walk, and, conveniently, a number of organized tours leave from the property.

There's a small cafe if you need some espresso or something quick to get you going in the morning; breakfast in the main dining room is yummy but sort of pricey. There are three separate dining areas for dinner, so we felt like we had options that would fit in our budget.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The MPWL was the second resort on our Princess Cruise and Land Tour package.

After our mini-suite on the ship and our two-room suite at the Denali Princess Lodge ...well, this average motel style 10-room log cabin style building was less than impressive. It was clean, simple, and comfortable but nothing that you'd want to just sit around in. So, that's why you put on your skeeter repellent and head for the main receiving lodge with a massive back porch that looks directly at Mt. McKinley ...on a clear sunny day, which we had all day ..up until 11:35 PM.

The food at the bar was good (not impressive), but resort priced. If you've ever eaten at a ski resort or Disney you will know what I mean. They did have some decent sales in the gift shop on cold weather jackets and last seasons t-shirts.

They have an espresso bar, three eateries, a theater that has nice educational videos and speakers ...but it's not a place to go to do more than stop-n-plop. You'll either have to book an activity through the tour desk or pay $10 round trip for the 50-minute ride into Talkeetna and back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards Mt. McKinley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanc30NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The McKinley lodge is in a great setting. Make sure you enjoy the view from the back deck..great views of the mountain. Hard to believe it is still so far away. Make sure you get wake up call if you want to be notified when the mountain comes out. Enjoy the hikes around the area. While we were there they had moose warnings out, so we were somewhat limited on where we could walk. The rooms were very nice, and food in bar was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The McKinley Princess Lodge has an amazing view of Mt McKinley and the Alaska Range. We were extremely fortunate to have great weather while we were there in late May, so we could really appreciate the Lodge's setting. Although you're 40 miles from the mountain, it still fills the horizon on a clear day. Dining and service are what you'd expect from a National Park facility (even though it's privately operated) - inexperienced and ill-trained staff. The nearest town, Talkeetna, is an hour bus ride away. We didn't want to waste time riding the bus, so we stayed at the lodge both days. We enjoyed a horseback trail ride and relaxed on the Lodge's expansive deck, drinking in the view and sampling Alaksan brews.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, take a room that's not too far from the main lodge, that way you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapper Creek
17.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,089 reviews
16.6 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
16.2 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
279 reviews
17.3 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 18 in Talkeetna
297 reviews
16.5 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#12 of 17 in Talkeetna
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge

Address: Mile 133 Parks Highway, Denali State Park, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Location: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range: $198 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Mckinley Princess Wilderness Hotel Trapper Creek
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing