We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Main Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here as part of our Princess Cruisetour package. The main lodge has great views and very nice restaurants that we enjoyed. The rooms are spread out in different buildings that contain two floors of 20+ rooms. The rooms really could use some updating, but were clean and comfortable. Tube televisions with very limited selections seem to be the norm.
It was cloudy and we did not get to view Mt. McKinley, but we did spend quite a bit of time in the lodge around one of the fireplaces. The restaurant was very nice and food was quite good.
We only stayed one night, but it is located in a very secluded and beautiful area. Fortunately, we were in a building close to the main lodge....some of them were very far away from the lodge.

Room Tip: Try to get close to the main lodge. If too far away, you will need to walk very far or take a shutt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EphrataKanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Arrived at the Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge on 9/10 as part of a Princess CruiseTour package. The lodge building is impressive and our views of Danali were nothing short of amazing as we were lucky to arrive on a crystal clear day. The property also has abundant bronze wildlife statues which are nice, although a few seem out-of-place..

THe guestrooms are made of up of 32 room "dorm structures", or at the least the one we stayed in was. 16 rooms downstairs, 16 rooms upstairs. We found our room, and our luggage was waiting on us from the ship. I needed to use the restroom, and discovered a surprise in the toilet. While the bathroom looked to have been cleaned, someone had used the toilet and either not flushed or the remains didn't flush entirely. Called the Front Desk to let them know, but too late in the evening to change rooms. These rooms have obviously had a busy season, as the walls need painting badly. Scuffs and marks are abundant in the hallways too. We had to depart early the next morning for Denali Nat'l Park, so our stay was short. Breakfast in the main Dining Room was delicious (Fresh Blueberry Pancakes) and served by a warm, smiling short-haired blonde lady (did not get her name). She mentioned that "our group brought good weather with us, so we weren't allowed to leave"...very pleasant. Received no follow up call from management or other, regarding our bathroom surprise. That would be a comped room night in any hotel in America...but we're pre-paid captives of Princess.

Room Tip: Really didn't have enough time to experience more of the lodge. Wanted to go to the hot tubs, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsumtnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

You are in the middle of nowhere when staying here. You can't even see it from the main road...which has nothing on it for miles and miles. Talk about captive audience. The lodge is huge with restaurants, a gift shop, theater, and fireplace. The rooms are standard hotel rooms spread across the campus, 2-story. There's a bus system that roams the grounds taking you to each building. You have to schlepp your bags a ways from the car and there's no elevator to the 2nd floor. Nothing to do here except hike (who's gonna do that) and wait to go to the next hotel. Talkeetna is a crappy little town, so don't bother with the shuttle. No internet in the rooms....UGH!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Well, your out in the middle of no where and the great land of Alaska is all around, but your like 100 miles from the closest hospital. The property is clean and nice with good food and reasonable prices considering your location. However, the property is dated. I remember my hotel rooms at the Motel 6 being just one step below these. But Hey for one night you can do anything as long as it's clean and tidy. And they are that.

Room Tip: Bring an umbrella or rain gear as you walk everywhere and the weather is unpredictable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is actually just a Princess stopover point. My room was 680 steps from the lobby, in the pouring rain. No shuttles in sight. Some rooms closer, many still farther away. Spartan room, plastic cups and tiny towels. Nothing special. Surprising for Princess-their other properties far exceed his one.

Room Tip: Demand a room in lodges 1 thru 10. Unless you are a hiker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lermndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Although I am a huge fan of Princess Cruises, I can't say I am a huge fan of their hotels. We were on a whirlwind vacation in Alaska. After having the time of our life on the Diamond Princess Inside Passage Cruise, we took a fun 5 hour train ride to the small town of Talkeetna, AK, from there it was another hour by bus to the Lodge. The Main Lodge is fabulous, huge stone fireplace in the center of the main building, wall of windows framing Mt. McKinley (when it's visible) in the main section of the Lodge, with ample seating inside and out to view the spectacular scenery. The main lodge also houses a great little coffee shop, a gift shop, activities desk, wilderness information desk, two restaurants; The Grizzly Bar and the Mountain View Dinning Room (which is by far the best restaurant at the Lodge). Do not miss the free lectures in the "theater" through out the day. (It's really just a conference room in the basement, but they call it a theater). These lectures are extremely interesting and very informative, we listened to two; one on the history of climbing Mt. McKinley and the other on the 1964 Alaska earthquake.

I'm talking a lot about the Main Lodge because this is where we spent most of our time. Our actual hotel room left little to be desired. Although it was large and very clean, it was just your basic motel room with very stark accommodations. The thing we really didn't like were the walls and ceilings are paper-thin. We heard all the activities the couple above us were doing all evening long. We heard doors slamming all day and night. Also, we were there two nights, and our room was not cleaned until about 4:00 pm the second day, we saw only one person cleaning rooms that day. This is what I don't understand, Princess cruise lines are almost over staffed and the Lodges in Alaska seem to be under staffed. I do realize you are in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness, I just expected better construction of the hotel buildings.

Now, even though I wasn't a fan of the actual hotel room, I must say Princess knows how to run things very smoothly. When we arrived on the bus we were given a packet that had our itinerary, keys and room number. It was kind of like camp, you had to find your building and then your room. It was fun and you didn't have to wait in line at the hotel desk at all, more time to explore the vast wilderness all around.

We then went from here onto Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge, now this hotel could teach the McKinley Lodge a thing or two.

Room Tip: Thin walls, but the views of Mt. McKinley make it worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gbutlerfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The setting is really great at this lodge. We had a real bonus as we had a beautiful clear day and Mt McKinley was worth the trip. The lodge was very comfortable. Great restaurant and great service. it is set in a very wilderness area and that makes it even nicer.

Room Tip: Rooms preassigned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nevada_Travelers_R-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapper Creek
17.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,094 reviews
16.6 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
16.7 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
267 reviews
16.2 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
188 reviews
17.3 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#2 of 18 in Talkeetna
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge

Address: Mile 133 Parks Highway, Denali State Park, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Location: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range: $99 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge in Denali State Park, you know you’re somewhere special. A subsidiary of Princess Cruises, Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge is located south of the National Park near the Chulitna River. With a host of recreational activities, exceptional amenities, and awesome views of Denali (especially from our brand new Treehouse, featured on Animal Planet's Treehouse Masters!), the lodge is a true wilderness retreat! Plan a day trip into Talkeetna with our daily shuttle service for only $10 roundtrip, relax on the deck at the lodge after a walk on one of our many hiking trails or make a s'more at our fireside patio. Our premier wilderness lodge has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Mckinley Princess Wilderness Hotel Trapper Creek
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing