We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great View!”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

If you're debating staying at the My McKinley Lodge vs. the Denali Princess there is no debate. The McKinley Lodge is situated up in the mountains with a great view of Mt. McKinley! Lots of walking paths and nice staff. We drove past the park and up to Cantwell, saw the Denali Princess and we both looked at each other saying we made the right choice! The Denali Princess is right on the main road with no mountain to be seen!
The food was average but there are 3 restaurants on the property.

Room Tip: The room was a nice size. I had asked for a king bed but upon arrival all that was available were 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3parrotfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    359
    177
    51
    27
See reviews for
209
468
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for our 12th anniversary weekend. We live in Wasilla and drove up. We booked the room online through their website & paid $90.
The property caters to travels taking a Princess land tour and has been design for that.
Here are the pros & cons for this place:
PROS:
~The property is very "Alaskan" looking, not just a generic hotel. The property is in good shape and the main lodge is great looking.
~When the mountain is out (it wasn't this weekend) it's the best place to see it from. One of the channels on the TV is a camera at the lodge pointed at the mountain so you can see if it's out from your room.
~They've got some walking trails. We did a short walk down one of them.
~They've got two restaurants on the property
~The rooms are decorated in an Alaska theme. Our room had a ceiling fan, which I really liked. There was also a small unit heater in the bathroom which my wife liked.

CONS:
~The curtains did not block out all the light. In the land of the midnight sun, this means that the room was full lit at 5am.
~Check out is at 11am. At 9:30am housekeeping was knocking on our door. People on the Princess cruise tours & expeditions were already up and on their way, but we were trying to sleep in. Granted, I hadn't hung out the do not disturb, but still....
~At 7am the Jeep towing a baggage cart begin making it's rounds, gathering up the cruise tour luggage. It was loud.
~There was no mini-fridge or microwave in the room. Again, for a cruise tour travel, this may not matter.
~The TV only had 19 channels. Yes, yes... We are in Alaska and we shouldn't be watching the TV, but we were...
~Our tub drain didn't work without holding down the little drain tab.
~The property is remote. Talkeetna is a 45 minute drive away. The hotel offers shuttles into town.
~There wasn't much parking for vehicles near the rooms. Again, if you are a cruise tour traveler, this wouldn't really matter.
~We couldn't here much noise from the rooms on either side of us, but all the sounds outside came through the walls. The baggage cart going by was loud, we could hear kids out side, we could here peoples' luggage wheels on the walkway.
~Room was kinda plain.
~We could receive an AT&T cell signal, but it was their Edge network, not 3G. So it was very slow. This isn't the hotel's fault, but I wanted to mention it.
~The only wifi was in the main lodge.

So overall, for $90 it was a great place to stay. We'd do it again for a weekend get away.
I gave it low mark for service because of the knocking on the door from housekeeping. The front desk clerk did a good job when checking in.

Room Tip: The property is pretty spread out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, AZ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The second time was for one night on June 18 after previously staying here two nights in 2007 in conjunction with a Princess Cruise Tour. We love the feel and beauty of the lodge setting. The lodge rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. We finally got to see the top of Mt. McKinley/Denali on our second visit. the 20320 Restaurant is very good, although we were disappointed in the breakfast this time after raving about it on our previous trip. Lots of excursions you can book; on our first visit we did a float trip down the Chulitna River. Saw lots of bald and a few golden eagles.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is a beautiful property. The rooms basic, but very nice and clean. The lodge was very nice with plenty of seating for viewing Mt. Mckinley. There are a couple of restaurants on the property, breakfast was very good and reasonable. Be sure to visit Talketna....worth the visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpcdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, WY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My friend and I stayed at this hotel as part of a cruise package. I would definitely come back. The view of Denali was absolutely breathtaking and the hotel itself was very nice. They had a shuttle bus to the nearby town of Talkeetna (50 miles away) and while we were in Talkeetna, a lady at the visitor's center suggested we walk to the end of main street and see where the rivers converge and also have a panoramic view of Denali. That was one of the highlights of our trip. We also visited the Climber's Memorial at the end of town. So glad we spent time here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our stay was part of a Princess Cruise Tour (If you're doing the inside passage cruise, it's worth the extra money to add the 3 day tour, but do it before the cruise, because the travel times can be tiring). Our rooms were very nice, the restaurants were good and the service and staff enthusiasm were excellent. The walking trails were gorgeous, but the best part was waking up to a beautiful sunny day and the breathtaking vista which centered on the snow covered Mt McKinley. Such a sight makes an American realize how blessed we are to be Americans, even with all of our country's problems.

Room Tip: Rooms are preassigned but if you ask to be close to the lodge they will try to accommodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mycounsel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge as part of a Princess Cruiseline arranged landtour. Our room was clean, quiet and pretty dark at night (even in June). However, I felt that the lodge grounds were limited and we either had to entertain our kids with cards and games (this is what we did) or go to Princess arranged entertainment with it's attached price tag. The trails around the property are fairly short and we knocked them out in less than a day. Unless you have a car, you are pretty much at the mercy of Princess and have to eat at the lodge restaurants which I thought were pretty average. I did enjoy the ambiance at the 20,320 restaurant and the view of the top of Mt. McKinley we got from the large windows facing the mountain during breakfast was pretty incredible. It definitely had some magical parts, but was more confining than I would have liked.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapper Creek
17.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
16.6 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
16.6 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
16.7 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Mile 133 Parks Highway, Denali State Park, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Location: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Mckinley Princess Wilderness Hotel Trapper Creek
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing