We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVER SOLD!”
Review of Gate Creek Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trapper Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gate Creek Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Julian, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OVER SOLD!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

First let me start by saying our cabin was clean, well-kept and had all the equipment we needed. Sandi was polite.
This is a “NICE” property. But I must say: “Shame on you for the extremely misleading website”. I would not have hesitated giving this property a good review if it wasn’t for the blatant, purposely misleading info on the website and in the brochure.
This place is definitely over sold. The “small lake” was no more than a large pond. Not worth getting into the canoe and paddling the few hundred yards across the pond. The “beautiful flower gardens” were merely a few small yards beside some of the cabins. There is no “coffee shop”. They do sell flavored coffee and drinks in the office area.
But most of all I booked this place because I was lead to believe we might get a view of Denali from the property. Or any views for that matter. There definitely was no view of the mountain anywhere to be seen on the property. During check out we were told that you could see a very small portion of the top only from the highest point of two of the cabins and from the front porch of the office ONLY if you held your head just right and looked through the top of the trees you.
Also this property is noisy. The cabins are closer to each other than they appear on the website. Our first day there all we heard was heavy equipment running in the front yard.
POINT OF INTEREST: In our entire time in Alaska the best views we had of Mt McKinley ARE only 2.5 miles down the road and worth the time to see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAGrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy R, Manager at Gate Creek Cabins, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
PA. We are sorry that your recent stay at Gate Creek Cabins did not meet your expectations. We regret that it was necessary for us to run some heavy equipment, during the day, while you were here, to clear some winter damaged areas. At Gate Creek Cabins we do our best to provide every visitor with a clean cabin, and a comfortable, refreshing stay. Our large, fully furnished 1-3 bedroom cabins, at comparatively low rates, do make us one of Alaska’s best lodging values. Since we had a late start to summer in Alaska, you may have missed our over 700 feet of planted and maintained gardens, which surround the 3 lawn areas, since they are just now beginning to flower. A walk around the property would reveal the planted perennials and ferns surrounding the cabins, plus many hanging and potted annuals. In addition, our surrounding acres of wild flowers are just now blooming. Our website and brochure clearly state that, “we are are located on 2 small stocked trout lakes”. Gate Lake is 8.5 acres; 5 acres is considered a lake by ADF&G. Many visitors do enjoy the water activities on our protected environmental lakes. While we do have good views of Mt. McKinley and Mt. Foraker from our property during the winter months, in summer the leaves on the trees obscure some of the view. As you discovered, the best views are just a short walk or drive away. We strive to provide every guest an enjoyable, and memorable stay at Gate Creek Cabins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Gate Creek Cabins are well worth the drive in. If you are looking for a place to relax and be away from the crowds, this is it! There are 8 cabins and all are wonderfully furnished and very clean. We stayed in the Trapline which looks over one of the ponds. There were loons calling and a bull moose visited every day. There is another pond you can walk to and canoes are provided. Small trout were jumping all over while we paddled around. You can fish there - it is a stocked pond. There are BBQ's provided; no food is available, so bring your own or drive out the 10 miles to some restaurants. All linens and cookware are provided. The Petersville road continues on 33 miles beyond the cabins and is very well worth the drive! Be ready for some bumpy parts though! I recommend a sturdy vehicle, and be sure to gas up before you head out. The road eventually crosses a small stream ,and there are the Cache Creek Cabins at the end - very rustic. Food is available there. Keep your eyes open along the way for moose, bear, and ground squirrels on the road!

Room Tip: Any cabin is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We just returned home to Wisconsin after a week in AK we rode 4 days using Gate Creek rental sled (2012 Ski Doo Summits). To say we had a wonderful time would a huge understatement. Craig and Susie were more than accommodating. We got wonderful directions as to where to find the best snow,being it was our first time in the area they were awesome. The cabins were very nice and spacious. I cant say one bad word about our entire trip. They even gave us tips on where to go for good food. (Excellent). I would highly recommend Gate Creek Cabins.

Nate S.
Wisconsin

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate3aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bundanoon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

After travelling around Nth America from Australia for a month we took the recommendation from some other Australians and stayed at these beautiful Alaskan holiday cabins. Suzie & Craig as hosts were interested & really helpful , but above all considerate of the travellers needs. The cabin we stayed in was perfect. It was relaxing whilst maintaining "log cabin overlooking a lake" (which is what it was) feel. We saw moose and enjoyed the morning serenade of native birds as they scurried around the garden having their breakfast of insects. (Needless to say the insect population was held in check by the birds so we didn’t need spray, “brilliant"). If you are an Aussie and want to taste real Alaska don’t miss this must visit destination. We will be back in Winter in the future to enjoy the Snow Machines. They sound like a lot of fun and we cant enjoy them in Australia so it sounds like its back to this awsome destination when the snow falls.

Room Tip: If you are a gardener, Craig has done a beautiful job of creating a gardeners delight & leave ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesBundanoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Had a wonderful time at Gate Creek Cabins. The facilities were great, the hosts helpful and friendly. We stayed for 6 nights. We did an ATV trip into the mountains, went on a jet boat trip on the river, and up thru Hatcher Pass. Wish we had more time, way more to do and see. Would highly recommend staying at Gate Creek Cabins. Craig & Susie you guys are the best!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Site was peaceful; a great Alaska experience. Was there for a friend's wedding on the neighborhood. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matsuvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed at the lovely Denali Cabin with a complete kitchen and view of a lake and the mountain (behind the clouds). We were fortunate to see the mountain the past two days, so that was ok! We enjoyed cooking in the kitchen. Had a nice deck -- peaceful too.

What was most unbelievable was the beautiful landscape and flowers. Craig, who has to be a master gardener, gave us a private tour of the flower gardens and prestine yard. Susie and Craig are delightful hosts. We would highly recommend!

Would be a great place in the winter too, but we enjoyed 24 hours of sunshine!!!!!

Room Tip: Call early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhMarriedForever_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapper Creek
14.4 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,001 reviews
13.9 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
14.6 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 19 in Talkeetna
291 reviews
14.9 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
261 reviews
15.4 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gate Creek Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate Creek Cabins

Property: Gate Creek Cabins
Address: 21800 South Towns Place Road, turn right at Mile 10.5 Petersville Rd, P.O. Box 13390, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Location: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delivering the "Alaska Experience" with all the comforts of home. Open all year, with road access 10.5 Scenic miles off Parks Hwy 3. Large furnished 1-4 bedroom cabins, full kitchens and baths. Decks have charcoal grills. View of MT. Denali. Beautiful gardens, fishing in stocked trout lakes, wildlife viewing with gold panning in the area. Snowmobile rental and trail rides in winter. Access to 100s of miles of groomed snowmobile trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gate Creek Cabins Hotel Trapper Creek
Gate Creek Cabins Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing