We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable little cabin in the forest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cleft of the Rock B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Tok B&B and Inns
Mars Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Comfortable little cabin in the forest”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Off the road a bit, this place has several cozy cabins. Simple but with all you need for a nice stay and very comfortable. Love the cabin decor. Breakfast is in a separate house where the hosts live. It's an excellent hardy breakfast including freshly cut fruit, fresh off the griddle pancakes, reindeer sausage, and home made breads. A separate Bibical scripture is at each place seating -a nice touch for us. No wireless in cabins but we were welcome to come into their home to check email. Loved walking in their woods looking at all the wild mushrooms (while keeping an eye to my back due to frequent sightings of moose and bears). The place is for sale but hope if it's sold, new owners will keep up the hospitable traditions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msburddawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed one night in room in the main house and had entire area to ourselves. Clean, spacious room and very quite. Hosts are very friendly and provide an excellent breakfast. Would highly recomment if you are staying in Tok area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisR321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

A very good B&B in a town where you might not expect to find one. The hosts were very helpful as we were trying to re-arrange our travel plans. Our cabin was a bit small and rustic, but comfortable. The breakfast was very good and plentiful, although it was only available at one time (8:00, as we recall).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torontoseniors-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

What a find. We absolutely loved our stay and have reservatioons to stop here on the way back to the lower 48. Our cabin was perfectly sized for the two of us, was vey secluded, we could park at the door and it was spotlessly clean. The hosts are warm, friendly people who serve a delightful breakfast.

It should be noted that this is ot the traditional B&B that is contained within an oversized house, but has, instead, individual cabins. Further note that intenet is only available at the hosts residence, not at the cabin location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gramps-nanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We only had time to stay here for one night but would have happily enjoyed the hosts' hospitality for more. I guess we had chosen the smallest of the available cabins but it was adequate with a comfy bed, shower, fridge, table and chairs, etc. and space to park the car right outside.

The location is peacefully secluded a little way from the restaurant-centre of Tok and you will need a car, but it is well worth a visit. We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere around the breakfast table where the hosts as well as other guests all joined in the friendly chatter and sharing of travelling experiences - we find we can learn so much from such occasions. The food, of course, was excellent and more than plentiful - this place is certainly on my "return" list

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed here one night but have been here in the past years ago. What a nice find!! We thought the breakfast was awesome and the hospitality easy going and informative. The cabin we were in was a bit small for us but they come in different sizes. We will definately stay here again when traveling through Tok.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divergirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploiesti
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

The Cleft on the Rock is practically build in a forest. The cabins are very clean, beds are comfortable, although the night is too short there. The breakfast is absolutely something you don't want to miss. Abundant, tasty, very Alaskan and very American. Appreciate the hosts want to have all the guests together for breakfast since they have the possibility to socialize, to tell about their experience in Alaska. A big pro for the reindeer sausages.
I also appreciate that everything was ready when I arriced there. The key was put at the main house door outside with my name on it. Great!
Thank you again Bob and Betty Lou. I will try to comeback.

Adrian, Romania

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianPloiesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tok
0.8 mi away
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
3.4 mi away
Tok RV Village
Tok RV Village
#3 of 8 in Tok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge
3.3 mi away
Sourdough Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleft of the Rock B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleft of the Rock B&B

Property: Cleft of the Rock B&B
Address: 0.5 Sundog Trail, Tok, off the Alaska Highway, Tok, AK 99780
Location: United States > Alaska > Tok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cleft of the Rock B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy cabins plus rooms in the main house in a quiet spruce forest setting. Enjoy a hearty hot breakfast to start your day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cleft Of The Rock B&B Tok, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing