We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, even during the shoulder season”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabins Outback and Burnt Paw Gift Shop
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Tok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My boyfriend and I were travelling up the Alaska Highway for work in April. After night after night of unfriendly Canadian hotels, the Burnt Paw cabins were so unexpected and wonderful. We called the night of to make reservations, and the lady was extremely kind and helpful. While there weren’t any puppies yet (too cold!), the Prospector cabin we stayed in was warm, cozy, and just what we needed after an 11 hour drive. The breakfast was casual and tasty, and the ladies were again very friendly. Thank you for welcoming us to Alaska, Burnt Paw!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MT_in_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 96 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2010

This place is quite a gem. After staying in a few cringe worthy hotels throughout our drive from North Carolina, this place was a very pleasant surprise. I called earlier in the day to see if they had space available. They were very pleasant when I told them i was traveling with three huskies. They themselves have husky puppies that are available for tourists to hold and play with while browsing their gift shop, located in front of the four cabins. To be honest, I think the only reason they let us stay with three dogs, was because they were huskies. Which, many older tourists, loved our dogs and thanked us for letting them see them. The gift shop itself, has a large variety of items and wasn't very expensive. The log cabin we stayed in had two double beds, cable TV and was it's "theme" was the Iditarod, with various pictures of the dogs and articles hanging on the walls. It was very clean and cozy. As another reviewer mentioned, they asked both my husband and I what we would like for breakfast the next morning and it was homemade. My hubby got a belgian waffle and I got the biscuits and gravy. It was very delicious and a nice change from the usual "hotel" food. They did offer internet, though you had to pay for it. I can't tell you the quality as we opted not to buy/use it. The shower had nice water pressure, and we never ran out of hot water. There was no microwave or fridge in the cabin. There is only one restaurant in town, though I hear it's a big tourist area and really nice. No "fast food" places in town. There is a grocery store and gas station. Basically, a one road town.

One of the problems we had though, was the pet deposit. I understand the need for one and was happy to pay it, just for them letting us stay there with 3 dogs. Yet, they wanted it in cash and would not put it on our credit card. The nearest atm was down the road inside the grocery store. Since we hardly carry cash it was kind of a pain to have to drive to the grocery and back again. It was only $25 and we were told, depending on the condition of the room, we would get it back, or not. The next morning during our inspection of the room, the lady said it had "a lot less hair" than she thought it would. And was pleased as punch, until she asked if the dogs were on the bed. When we told her yes, one of them was, she became very upset. She told us dogs are not allowed on the bed and then only gave us back $10 of our $25 saying they would now have to "clean" the blankets. Why wouldn't they clean them anyway? There was nothing to indicate dogs "were not allowed" on the beds. It's hard to keep down dogs that have been sleeping with you for 5 years. I always thought people took pet deposits for destruction of property. There was no destruction at all and as I said, she seemed surprised at the good condition of the room. Anyway, as we've paid a lot more for pet deposits in the past that were non refundable, I know $25 is a steal. But, the situation was still odd and annoyed me a bit, since I felt we did nothing wrong.

Overall, great place and I enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huskyluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Fantastic little cabins and a "nice" breakfast - they take your order when you check in and fix it especially for you the next morning when you go to the eating area - located in the back of the gift shop. We rode our Harleys to Alaska and stayed here on our way up and back to/from the lower 48.

Each cabin has a "theme" and are nicely decorated. The staff are very friendly and treat you as friends.

If you need WIFI - it's a pay as you use plan...and not very user friendly. Since the cabins have sod roofs - they recommend that you sit at the picnic table. We opted to not use it. In reading other reviews - there are restaurants in town that have it available if you can't live without it. :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyPassenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Awesome cabins and a great breakfast fixed special for those staying there, in the back of the gift shop. We rode our Harleys to Alaska and stayed "going" and "coming" in this great little spot. The cabins are small, but great decor and comfy. The people are friendly and it's very clean! They should get better internet than having to pay and then sit at the picnic table with the mosquitoes - but if you don't need to "connect", it's perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

This is a spendy B&B but the cabins are unique and the beds are great. If you plan to use the internet be advised that you have to pay to do so. They have sled dog puppies and it's fun to watch them. If you need free internet drive to Fast Eddies resturant (which also has great food at decent prices) the wifi is free there. At the time we were there the password was hotpizza05.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MZHUSKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We had low expectations for anyplace in the middle of Alaska, and we were pleasantly surprised. The cabin was clean, the proprieters were friendly, and the breakfast was good. They even had adorable huskie puppies for sale while we were there. It's a great place to stay. It was charming and cozy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJtravelerDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We spent 16 days traveling all over Alaska and this was hands-down our favorite place. I have never, ever seen such clean, inviting cabins! I am such a clean freak that I bring our own sheets no matter how expensive the hotel, but in this place I was completely comfortable. When we arrived the cabin was pre-heated and the lights on for us. The shower was sparkling clean with nice fluffy towels and a heat lamp. We stayed in the Bush Pilot room, and it was decorated well without being cutesy. The bed was very comfortable and there was a cool guest log and it looks like In the morning the owner made us Belgian waffles, coffee, juice, eggs and homemade berry jams (included in the room price). We could take a tray back to our room but we chose to sit in the breakfeast nook with her while she told us great stories of homesteading and raising sled dogs. The rest of staff too was crazy helpful, and the grounds were really interesting with exhibits everywhere. The gift shop was full of a diverse collection and seriously reasonable prices and we got a lot of our gift shopping done there. We saw some of the best prices for local arts there. We bought a sled dog harness and got advice on how to begin running dogs (the owners ran and finished the first Iditarod). It was truly a highlight of a really extensive, wonderful exploration of Alaska! We will for sure go back the next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COtoAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabins Outback and Burnt Paw Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins Outback and Burnt Paw Gift Shop

Address: 1314.3 Alaska Hwy, Tok, AK 99780-9800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Tok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Tok
Price Range: $99 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabins Outback and Burnt Paw Gift Shop 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins Outback would like to welcome you. Our cabins are private with showers, indoor plumbing, microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer and free WIFI. Breakfast is included and served in the registration office at 7:00 am to 9:00 am. Homemade Belgian waffles are our specialty along with other food choices. Gluten free foods are available. BBQ grill and picnic tables are provided. We are motorcycle friendly and offer off-road parking at your cabin. We have kickstands, water hose to wash your bike and rags. Pets are welcome but are limited to 2 and under 50 lbs. There is a refundable pet deposit (ask for details). We are centrally located and walking distance to local Visitor Center, grocery store, gift shops, gas station, Alaska Public Lands info center, eating and drinking, Tok Lions swimming pool and great walking and bicycle paths. Our staff's main concern is to make your stay and shopping memorable.....Thank you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins Outback And Burnt Paw Gift Shop Tok, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing