We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A calm in the drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Tok
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
“A calm in the drive”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our relaxing stay here was the highlight of the journey from Anchorage to Haines! We spent time relaxing and enjoying the beauty of interior Alaska at this lodge outside Tok. Arrive early enough for Jill's dinner as it is wonderful and John's breakfast are a great way to start a day. The cabins are clean and comfortable. Bring your boots and go for a hike on the trails to explore the area around. Your time at the log Cain Wilderness Lodge is well spent and provides a piece of heaven in Alaska.

Room Tip: The rustic cabins are very nice, you can use the shower in the main house. The newer cabins have sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmoami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
39
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska, USA
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We started our summertime driving trip through the Yukon Territory in Skagway, Alaska and ended up in Haines one week later, just in time to catch the ferry south. We have lived in Alaska for thirty years, but seldom have taken the time to wander around in the Interior. We intentionally made time to stay with John and Jill at the Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge, knowing it would be a unique and interesting experience. It met all our expectations. Both John and Jill are warm and welcoming hosts, who enjoy company and so obviously love the land they have cultivated. They are excellent sources of information about the flora, fauna and animals of the region throughout the seasons, including the dead of winter. They also know much about the Ahtna people, history and culture, which makes staying with them even more interesting. Their creativity and interests in the latest technology made staying with them a learning experience on another dimension - we learned a lot about heat exchange and solar power. On a walk out on their land after a delicious dinner we found enormous bear prints in the mud, saw a river otter swimming in the Tok River and began to understand why this terrain is good for moose as well. Our evening ended in the hot tub - we were too tired to try the zip line over the creek ! We felt well cared for in every way.
The wilderness ingenuity and self reliance of John and Jill are a big part of the memories now etched in our heads, and a big part of the stories we are telling. We recommend this place without reservation. It is worth the drive.

Room Tip: We loved our log cabin by the creek, one of the newer cabins, where we fell asleep to the sound of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 505Annie505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCrosse
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We found this place after our reservation in Paxson was flooded! Fate intervened and provided us with a totally serene stay. Jill and John were wonderful hosts, the food was great, and the wilderness was inspiring. I don,t know if we will ever make it back, but if we do we will stay here again

Room Tip: These were individual cabins and only one has indoor plumbing. We had the opportunity to see them a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKTLaCrosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a group of 15 geologists stay at the lodge and hold a full day of meetings and discussions. The property is beautiful, the cabins are cozy, the food was excellent, and the hospitality was top notch. The main lodge is spacious and comfortable, and John took care of all our a/v needs for presentations. I will absolutely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardington, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Five fellow educators and I spent a memorable and adventuresome week at this lodge. While I know our daily rate was higher than the usual, so were our adventures. We snow machined to out of the way places, learned first hand about dog sledding, experienced a snow shoe hike to a peak overlooking a large valley near the lodge, toured a Native American school near Tok, cross-country skied on groomed trails and experienced a breath taking flight over the nearby mountains, rivers and glaciers. This was all organized and lead by our hosts, John and Jill Rusyniak. They were extraordinary hosts, and made us feel at home. Did I mention the food? Each morning we were provided a hearty breakfast that often included eggs, pancakes, French toast, meat, and fruit. Suppers included fresh fish, meats, side dishes and desserts. The entire experience was extraordinary and accommodations wonderful. Thanks John and Jill!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place defines the phrase "Off the beaten track". 28 miles west of Tok and 2 miles off the main road, but well worth the trip. The setting is beautiful. We spent one night in June. Our little cabin was very nice, cozy and clean. Our hosts were a really fun and interesting couple who provided us with an excellent dinner, a fun evening of conversation and a great breakfast. They have lots of activities to choose from and stay open year round. We'd recommend planning on more than one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tw3retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milowai Resort at Maalaea Bay, Maui
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Don't miss this lodge - the isolation of this stellar setting might make you think you'd be roughing it - you'll be wrong. Immaculate and modern accommodations, tasteful decor, exceptional cuisine, and the most personable, gracious hosts you could ever encounter. It's definitely on our list for a return visit.

Thanks so much, Jill and John, for generously sharing your amazing lifestyle with us and others! What a treat it was!

John & Nancy, Juneau, AK

Room Tip: All the cabins are right on a crystal clear stream. You can't miss with any choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tok hotels
23.4 mi away
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
24.6 mi away
Tok RV Village
Tok RV Village
#4 of 8 in Tok
51 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sourdough Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge

Property: Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge
Address: 98.5 Mile Tok Cut Off Road, PO Box 122, Tok, AK 99780
Location: United States > Alaska > Tok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Tok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, escape the rat-race, and slip into a bit of our Alaskan Heaven Add a memorable stop to your journey through Alaska with a stay to the Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge, where your hosts, John and Jill Rusyniak, invite you to share the dream they are living.The property is perfectly named: well-maintained log-cabin accommodations in the wilderness of the Little Tok Valley, a breathtakingly beautiful area in the Mentasta. Mountains region of interior Alaska. It is the ideal location to step away from the pace, noise and distractions of your daily life, to relax and catch your breath while traveling and absorb both the grandeur and simple delights of nature.Located 28 miles south of Tok, 300 miles northeast of Anchorage, 240 miles southwest of Fairbanks and six miles from the nearest neighbors, John and Jill's 11 acres are surrounded by millions of acres of public land. Though off the electrical grid and far from the nearest cell phone tower, free WiFi service is available to visitors of at this intersection of rural and modern living.Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge is the complete package of amazing scenery and frequent wildlife sightings, comfortable buildings – some historic, some just a couple of years old – hearty home-cooked meals, a variety of activities. Moreover, a visit to Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge stands out because it includes the opportunity to experience the lifestyle and daily activities of year-round residents.John and Jill have been building toward the reality of Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge throughout their lives together and officially opened the business on May 18, 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge Tok, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing