We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge
Nearby Hotels
A Hyde Away Inn B&B(Tok)(Great Value!)
$148
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
75
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tublog cabinzip linean amazing experienceawesome locationopen airgreat hoststhe main roadjillcreeksummeralaskaparticipantselectricitycampfirelodging
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 78 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We found this place after our reservation in Paxson was flooded! Fate intervened and provided us with a totally serene stay. Jill and John were wonderful hosts, the food was great, and the wilderness was inspiring. I don,t know if we will ever make it back, but if we do we will stay here again

Room Tip: These were individual cabins and only one has indoor plumbing. We had the opportunity to see them all, and I wouldn't,t hesitate to stay in any. We love to stay away from boutique hotels. This fit us to a tee
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKTLaCrosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a group of 15 geologists stay at the lodge and hold a full day of meetings and discussions. The property is beautiful, the cabins are cozy, the food was excellent, and the hospitality was top notch. The main lodge is spacious and comfortable, and John took care of all our a/v needs for presentations. I will absolutely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Five fellow educators and I spent a memorable and adventuresome week at this lodge. While I know our daily rate was higher than the usual, so were our adventures. We snow machined to out of the way places, learned first hand about dog sledding, experienced a snow shoe hike to a peak overlooking a large valley near the lodge, toured a Native American school near Tok, cross-country skied on groomed trails and experienced a breath taking flight over the nearby mountains, rivers and glaciers. This was all organized and lead by our hosts, John and Jill Rusyniak. They were extraordinary hosts, and made us feel at home. Did I mention the food? Each morning we were provided a hearty breakfast that often included eggs, pancakes, French toast, meat, and fruit. Suppers included fresh fish, meats, side dishes and desserts. The entire experience was extraordinary and accommodations wonderful. Thanks John and Jill!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place defines the phrase "Off the beaten track". 28 miles west of Tok and 2 miles off the main road, but well worth the trip. The setting is beautiful. We spent one night in June. Our little cabin was very nice, cozy and clean. Our hosts were a really fun and interesting couple who provided us with an excellent dinner, a fun evening of conversation and a great breakfast. They have lots of activities to choose from and stay open year round. We'd recommend planning on more than one night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tw3retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Don't miss this lodge - the isolation of this stellar setting might make you think you'd be roughing it - you'll be wrong. Immaculate and modern accommodations, tasteful decor, exceptional cuisine, and the most personable, gracious hosts you could ever encounter. It's definitely on our list for a return visit.

Thanks so much, Jill and John, for generously sharing your amazing lifestyle with us and others! What a treat it was!

John & Nancy, Juneau, AK

Room Tip: All the cabins are right on a crystal clear stream. You can't miss with any choice.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews