We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PANCAKES ARE REALLY DELICIOUS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sourdough Campground
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Tok
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE PANCAKES ARE REALLY DELICIOUS!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stopped here on the way to Anchorage. The campground is nice enough, has full hook-ups and a nice laundry facility. One of the real attractions here is the evening pancake toss! They really encourage and seek all campers to participate and it makes for a very nice evening gathering. If you toss your pancake into the bucket you win a free breakfast. My 12 year old made it! My husband and older son followed it with a friendly game of horseshoes against a team of Canadians. Very nice and friendly atmosphere. The other great attraction here is the breakfast! Honestly the best pancakes I can ever remember having! They were that good! They come out with reindeer sausage. Delicious!! A VERY hardworking couple man the busy kitchen and dining room, as well as the registration and gift shop. Definitely worth a stop for breakfast if not staying overnight!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ada J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place is a god send after hours and hours of Alaskan Highway. Very clean, very modern, and very welcoming, the Sourdough campground even had nightly live music. The on site laundry is reasonable and the showers are great (and included). I tent camped and it was a relatively soft (in a good way) surface to camp on. Place is quiet around 10 through morning and easy access to be back on the road in/out of Alaska. Eat breakfast at the campground or bring something. Tok has VERY limited food options.

Room Tip: If you are tenting, B7 is among the best sites. Close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ectothegecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

If you ever stay here the pancake toss is so worth going to! They have a little skit and make the entire experience a lot of fun. My 6 year old got to be the "special helper"! The bonfire afterwards is fun too! The kids enjoyed the free marshmallows!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TiffPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Sourdough campground is a real "hoot!". The campground is nice and spacious, the sites are fairly private, and the facility is very, very clean. The showers were hot, the bathrooms clean, and the campground quiet and family friendly. Ann, the proprietor was very professional and helpful, and the campground staff went out of their way to be sure everyone was having a great time. Dave, who ran the pancake toss when I was there, was a real character and this place is not to be missed. Full hookups for RVs, separate sites for tents, and a community area accommodate everyone. I found the tent sites to be more than adequate for one vehicle and an 8 x 8 tent. The RV wash station is a nice touch too. Even with a State-wide burn ban, the campground had a community fire pit which was just great. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WR_4549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We've been here previously on our way out of Alaska and stayed again on our return. The Sourdough Pancake Toss is a fun rustic event and the big fire pit is a social gathering spot where marshmallows are roasted. If you get a sourdough pancake in the bucket, the prize is free pancakes the next morning. There are no individual fire pits but the fun is in getting to know your neighbors by the fire pit.
TV reception is not very good so bring a book, video or a satellite dish.
A dog walk area is also available with old military trucks and mining equipment placed for viewing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GINayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This isn't directly on the Alaskan highway, and you have drive 1.5 miles or so on the Tok cutoff, but it was SO much fun! We were moving from Texas to Alaska and came through there on July 4. It's a nice campground that has a unique flair for getting campers together. There is a central campfire area and there are free marshmallows for the kiddoes to roast. When we were there, there was a salmon bake with salmon that the owners caught themselves!!! It was awesome. We all participated in the nightly Pancake Tossing Event and my daughter won a free breakfast for the next morning. The breakfast is AWESOME and NOT to be missed if you stay there! The RV sites have lots of trees and looked level and private. There is a neat open air museum and the gift shop has fun stuff in it as well.

The owners (Dave and Ann) went out of their way to make it a fun stay for everyone there. They accommodated us as we were hauling a UHaul, 2 kids and 2 pets. We tented there and we had a nice place to pitch the tent. There was sawdust thrown down to cut the fact that there had been lots of rain the day before and we had a wonderfully cushy campsite.

The kids had a blast and we are planning to go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VCJackson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Maybe the woman assigning sites thought we were teenaged runaways. Maybe she didn't like our look and was trying to scare us away. Maybe this just isn't a good campground. We were given a site that was literally about 3.5' by 6' and swampy. There was barely room to set up our very small two-person tent, and no way to take any more space because of the trees. Not privacy-and-quiet-providing trees. Not even shelter-from-the-rain trees. Just drippy spruce trees blocking us from even sitting anywhere on our teeny plot. Meanwhile, the neighbor sites on each side of us were spacious enough for four-man tents (despite only having another couple in one and a family who slept inside their minivan in the other) AND a picnic table. It was the worst site I've ever seen, including at free, ungroomed campgrounds. We didn't bother complaining because we were only there for one night, but we will never go there again. (It's not even like we're picky people. This was just ridiculous.)
And for what it's worth, we are not teenaged runaways. We're both veterans--a fact we don't generally like to announce, but maybe we should start.

Room Tip: Refuse to take site D3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASuB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAnn60, Owner at Sourdough Campground, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
After reading this review I am in awe as we get the raves on our private wooded spacious sites. Possibly you got one of the last un reserved tent sites. None of our sites are 3.5' wide. 6 x 8 is our smallest tent site, we have (2) that small, not including space for car. Did you return to the office to ask for a different site or referral to different campground? We are good to refer our guests to another site or campground to meet their needs. Again I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sourdough Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourdough Campground

Property: Sourdough Campground
Address: 1 Prospector Way, Tok, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Tok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Tok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Sourdough Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sourdough Campground Tok, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing