We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic second trip”
Review of Resta Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resta Reef Resort
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was the second visit to this hotel and wont be the last. On arrival we got such a warm welcome and the staff remembered us from last year, they even gave us the same room we had the previous year. Nothing is to much trouble for any member of staff. Chelsea and Kate from the animation team are such lovely girls, the hotel wasnt very busy the first week we was there but chelsea and kate were busy sorting activities. The bar staff were always ready to serve your drinks to your table there was never any queuing at the bar and service was excellent. The staff in the dining room also provide such an excellent service. Food is of excellent quality my husband is a very fussy eater and he always impressed with his meals. You often saw the chef asking people how their meal was. The room was cleaned every day and was spotless with fresh towels each day. Unfortunately for us Thompson are not going to this hotel next year but my husband and myself certainly will somehow. Never had service like the service we recieved at resta reef in any other hotel that we have ever stayed in AMAZING

Room Tip: Our room was 4112 with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chorleygirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Resta Reef Hotel, with my partner. Had a great holiday in the hotel. The hotel really does it's part very very well, and the staff are all excellent and very friendly, and nothing is too much trouble.

The hotel is a little dated in parts, but it's very well looked after, and the gardens are excellent, but after all, it's only a 3 star, and we need to keep that in mind at all times. Buy it is very good for a 3 star. Some people I think expect too much for 3 star money!!!

The restaurant provided good food, a fair variety of options available, and the quality was always consistent. The staff in there were great, especially Mustafa, who picked up on us on our first breakfast there, and kept us amused the whole holiday with his great attitude, and humorous banter :)

The staff at and around the various bars were all great too. They soon picked up on our personal drinks of choice, and were always very quick to supply a full glass in replacement of an empty one :) Special mention goes to 2 younger staff members Osama and another Mostafa, aged 20 and 19, both very good always with a smile during their very long shifts, 7 days a week. Good luck to both those guys in their futures. Nothing against any of the other staff members, but these are the 2 we got to know best.

Unfortunately while we were there, the black flag on the jetty was flying far too often for our liking, stopping the snorkelling because of high winds and choppy waters on most days. But on the few occasions that we managed to get in to snorkel, the reef was good, with many fish to see.

The entertainments team tried hard, but with low numbers of guests in the hotel because of the situation in Egypt at the moment, their job was never easy. Chelsea, greeted us on our arrival and gave us a little info about the hotel on our way to our room. Room was very adequate, and we had a great view over the beach bar and the beach and sea, room 4108, very good location.

Chelsea is very enthusiastic about her job, and always willing to help or chat, if either were needed. Her side kick, Katrina, also did her best, and again, was happy to chat with guests. In the second week, they were joined by their main man, who's name we could not pronounce, but he was very good at his job, and hosted the evenings well.

We had local "entertainment" on a few nights, but that's all we can say about that, not great.

Our BIG gripe bout this hotel/holiday, is the fact that once you are in the hotel, there is not much else to do, or places to go. The area is actually about 40 miles from Marsa Alam, and only 4 hotels in the area. We were free to travel to and in the adjoining sister hotel, Resta Grand, but not allowed beyond there beach end. And we were not allowed to walk along the beach to explore or try neighbouring reefs to snorkel. We were stopped at our hotel limits by security, and told we were not allowed to travel any further, unless we wanted to pay 20 euros each.. No thanks.

We went out the front of the hotel once, but apart from a few small shops, there was nothing to see and nowhere to go, we really were in the middle of nowhere. This isolation really did annoy us, and other guests who also would have liked to explore a bit more :(

The isolation didn't spoil our holiday, we still had a great time at the Resta Reef, and would happily recommend the hotel to anybody you wants a cheap and good value break, and happy to stay within the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 4108, great view of complex and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hotel and staff was very good. Whole week was a great weather. Was a good food.
In this date was a wery few another guests. With our travel we were satisfied. Hotel have a good position. Hotel is very near by the sea. We are got a bad room but after consulting with staff we are got better room.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel could be the more clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Booked this holiday late so didn't no what to expect but was very impressed, as soon as we got there we were told our room had been upgraded free of charge, fab start, then everything else went better and better, everyone there just couldn't do enough for you, Hamada went all out to make my mother as comfortable as possible everyday, musthafa always made us a cocktail every evening, Ahmed on the beach had the biggest smile every morning and the head chef could not do enough for us, Chelsea and katarzyna the animation team were fantastic as they got everyone at the night time all playing games together which made everyone feel at ease, I feel Thomson has lost out here and hope they get back to this resort because I will certainly go back there, I can't thank everyone in this hotel enough for all they did for us,
Many thanks
Paul and Josephine Southall
Ps I would recommend the body scrub and massage

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just returned from Rest Reef Marsa Alam
This was our second stay at this hotel and we had a great time.
The staff can,t do enough for you. Will defantly go again but will have to book
direct with the hotel because Thomsons are no longer going there.

Room Tip: we had the same room as last time over looking the pool and we could also see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Well where do you start with a review of a hotel that certainly ticked al the boxes for our group?
From the moment we arrived at the hotel (just 10 minutes from the airport) it became apparent that we were in a hotel where the staff treat you as more than just guests.
We were met at the door by Charlotte (guest relations manager) and Chelsea (animation team) among others who explained the book in procedure and showed us to reception to begin the process. This took all of 10 minutes (including a welcome drink) and we were off to our rooms where our cases were already waiting for us.
The room was exceptionally clean and kept that way by the house keeping staff. Not only were the rooms kept spotless but we were often greeted when we returned to our rooms by the most creative towel art! Our room, although basic (awaiting refurbishment) was spacious and comfortable and certainly exceeded our expectations. (We were later shown rooms that had been refurbished and they were bright and airy).

After being shown to our rooms we were then off to the restaurant for dinner and again were most pleasantly surprised by what we found.

Dinner is a buffet affair with rice, pasta and potato dishes, different vegetable choices and various fish, chicken, beef and lamb dishes. There are also dishes prepared on the outside bbq a few times a week. There are always various salad dishes to chose from too. Deserts are mainly pastries and cakes plus various fruit platters. Definitely something for everyone and guess what, if there is something you would like that's not on the menu just mention it to Abdo (head chef while we were in resort) and if it's possible, the chefs will do it for you!
Lunch and breakfast are buffet meals too and as with dinner the choices are many and varied and there should always be something for every one. As for the restaurant staff, we have already mentioned Abdo who was amazing. At every meal he will go to every guest to ensure that the food is ok and that there are no problems. We booked a candlelit dinner at the end of the jetty (a definite must) and Abdo even turned up there to make sure all was ok. This attention to detail didn't end with Abdo but went through the entire restaurant staff - well done all of you.

As well as meeting us when we arrived, we saw Charlotte on a daily basis as she would go to all the guests and sit for a chat, offering advice and generally making sure everything is ok. We did have a problem with ants and this was mentioned to Charlotte. By the time we next went our room it had already been sprayed and all signs of the ants removed. Again first class service so if you have a problem in resort, don't wait until you get home and moan about it tell Charlotte or for that matter just about any staff member and the problem will be sorted. Charlotte - a big thank you for helping us have such a great holiday!

Not only did we see Charlotte on a daily basis but also Chelsea and Kate from the animation team. Again they would come round and chat with all the guests making sure everything was ok and also to see if you wanted to take part in any of the daily activities. These were stretching, water aerobics, dancing and Boule in the morning and darts, water polo, volleyball and football in the afternoon. The afternoon sports were always particularly well attended.

Chelsea and Kate, along with Leda and DJ Alex would also put on evening entertainment that included quiz nights, pool party and a sketch show that was very amusing. The animation team really did work hard while we were there so Chelsea, Kate, Leda and Alex well done and thanks.There are also occasional local acts performing but the entertainment is low key so if you are expecting Royal Variety Performance type shows then Resta Reef Resort is not for you!

The hotel has two pools one with a swim up bar. The swim up bar has quite exceptional staff in particular Ramadan 'The pup's nuts'. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was always up for a laugh and eager to help and certainly went a long way to making our holiday special. Osama and Hamada also did there bit to give us a good laugh at the pool bar. Well done to you all.

The pool staff also deserve a mention in particular Ahmed who'd share many a conversation with us every morning. Ahmed loved not only to teach us Egyptian but always wanted to learn more English. It was a pleasure meeting you Ahmed.

We were also very lucky in that the other guests at the hotel during our stay were such a brilliant group of people - you know who you are.

One other person who deserves a mention is Ahmed the Thomson rep who went out of his way to help us by arranging transport and even a pool match with another hotel. Thanks Ahmed.

We think we have covered every one but if we have missed anyone we apologise. Thanks again to each and every one of you, you made us feel so welcome and helped make our holiday one we will not forget. Hope to see you all again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamandPamCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

What a fabulous hotel, sited on the most amazing house reef going.

We were two ladies holidaying without husbands and felt safe and cared for the whole trip. We picked the hotel purely because, after doing a bit of research, it seemed to have the most accessible house reef at the end of a well kept jetty with professional life guards who prevent people going in when the sea and its currents are dangerous.

Due to trouble in Egypt, we had decided to not go out of the hotel, but when we got there we quickly realised that Marsa Alam is as far away from the trouble as Inverness is from Portsmouth! We promptly booked a snorkelling trip from Port Galib and another to the Islands of Mahata. Unfortunately the island trip was cancelled due to lack of customers - a common problem at the moment - and we swapped on the super safari instead, which involved racing through the desert in 4x4s and then onto our own quadbikes with the option of camel rides for those that wanted. We then ate an amazing meal and watch traditional dancing in the middle of the desert. When the stars came up we had the opportunity to view Saturn and Venus through a telescope and have the star formations named and pointed out. It was amazing how much you could see with no light pollution. then we were back into the 4x4s for the return journey at the same crazy breakneck speed through the desert in the dark!

Could not fault the hotel and its lovely amazing staff at all. As there were so few guests, we all seemed to be blessed with a ground floor sea/garden view room.

If you are having a wobble about booking Egypt, don't worry, just go. It is fine in Marsa Alam and this hotel is one of the best I've stayed at.

Room Tip: We had room 4002 which had a sea, garden and pool view and was 30 seconds from the beach bar! Perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
22.9 mi away
Dreams Beach Marsa Alam
Dreams Beach Marsa Alam
#38 of 68 in Marsa Alam
725 reviews
45.6 mi away
Resta Club Marina View Port Ghalib
19.2 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resta Grand Resort
Resta Grand Resort
#29 of 68 in Marsa Alam
2,074 reviews
23.1 mi away
Coral Hills Resort Marsa Alam
Coral Hills Resort Marsa Alam
#39 of 68 in Marsa Alam
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resta Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Reef Resort

Address: KM. 65 Quoseir - Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Marsa Alam
#4 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: $28 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resta Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly in tune with the landscape around it, Resta Reef Resort is a luxury retreat right on the shore of the Red Sea. Resta Reef Resort has a beautiful sandy beach on its doorstep, and a number of swimming pools set amidst lush gardens and tranquil waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resta Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Reef Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Reef Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing