We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Resta Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resta Reef Resort
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely smaller hotel. With that is friendly and you feel at home. Bars, swimming pool, room, sea everything you have at hand. Rooms are cozy and clean. Every day he goes cleaner. The staff was very helpful, caring and friendly. If you had a problem trying to solve it immediately. The food was of course amazing. While we waited for some local specialties, but even so the food was excellent. A large selection of salads, main dishes, side dishes, ...The waiters and cooks were also super. Very friendly. What we most stuck in the heart are animators. Very friendly and lovable. Every day, walked around the beach, pool, ... Every day there were a few activities ... although it might be more dance club ...Then after dinner you all walked around, saying what will then be a program and talk with you.
Pity I was there only a week. I'd love to go back there.
So all very much recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoblovaDenisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    625
    174
    71
    37
See reviews for
355
788
103
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I chose to visit The Resta Reef in Marsa Alam for our 1st wedding anniversary.

The transfer time from the airport is very short, 15 mins maximum. On our arrival we were greeted by various staff members and given a lovely cocktail.

The hotel is in great condition and very clean. The staff all went above and beyond duty to ensure we felt thoroughly spoiled on our holiday.

The events team were fabulous, in particular Solo and Lisa who when not performing would go out of their way to introduce themselves and check every guest was happy.

Our room cleaner was a wonderful man whose towel art was amazing :-) made me very happy. The room was always spotlessly clean.

Ramadan who worked the pool bar deserves a special mention - he was always so cheery and again made you feel like a VIP .

Charlotte who is the managers PA was always around too,checking everyone happy.

The food was good at the hotel, in my opinion too much choice at lunch but top quality food nonetheless. The chef, I believe was called Mr Abdo , was such a wonderful guy , who greeted you each day and even cooked me and my husband and a couple we befriended a few specials :-) and a cake for our anniversary.

All in all this hotel made us feel like VIP's and we will be going back next year for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Smugmarried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Sadly there is some bad so let's get them out of the way first. The air con in our room kept packing up, 6 nights out of our two week stay we had to call to get it fixed as it was not cold enough. We were offered to move rooms however the room we had had an amazing see view which I did not want to lose, this is due to watching the sun rise.... Which is an amazing sight & i recommend that you do this at least once on your visit - Eventually though the people in the room above us went home & we were offered that room, happy to take this as the views were even better. It was sad that we had these issues as every evening we were worried about the air con working so found it difficult to relax. However, all the staff were very helpful in getting it fixed. Big thank you goes to Kareem on front desk for your patience and also to Ramy for your understanding. Otherwise the rooms are comfortable & clean.

Now the good stuff.

The hotel is a 10 minute transfer from the airport. Upon arrival check in was swift & we were within our rooms within 20 minutes of arriving. Luggage was taken to the rooms by staff members.
The hotel has amazing gardens which are cared for on a daily basis. All the rooms have excellent views, whether it is the gardens or the beach & beach bar or the adult beach.

Two pools which are cleaned regularly & tested during the day. The pool bar is in my opinion the best of the two. The staff there are excellent, Mostafa is a young lad who is learning English, sat with him on a few occasions helping him with his lessons, he wants to learn so much, am sure by next year he will be fluent. Next is Ramadan, very helpful, funny & up for a laugh! He also remembered what you were drinking & would ask if you wanted another as soon as you finished. Both these guys helped to make our days perfect. Can't comment on the other pool as I didn't use it..... But it is next door so short walk to the bar for drinks or ice cream.

The animation team, Blaedir, Solo, Giulia, Liza, Jessica, Davida & new arrivals Alan & Jay. All of these guys work hard to help make your holiday enjoyable. They arrange games during the day which they will ask if you want to join but will not pester so it all feels comfortable. They put on a show 5 evenings & every single one is different but very much enjoyable. Some shows have audience participation but again no one is pressured into joining in. The shows are put on in the amphitheatre & you can get drinks from the beach bar which is just behind or if you prefer a quiet evening you can sit up outside reception & restaurants & have waiter service.

Food - there is something for everyone & a good variety however there is chicken for lunch & dinner everyday & this became boring if you didn't like the other mains........

Beach - Sadly we had a black flag for most of our holiday so didn't get to snorkel from the jetty, however the rock pools are amazing & we had a sting ray swim directly underneath us! Dolphins swim past the hotel regularly, when they are seen a whistle gets blown so you know to look. Scary at first as thought it was being blown as a warning! They go past between 6am & 8am most days & return later in the day.

I have found my dream holiday & will be looking to go back. It is a shame that Thomson are looking to pull out, however talking to the manager Sherrif, it's easier to book direct so we will look to do this next time.

Big thank you again to all the staff for making our holiday what it was, we will be back, just hope you are all still there!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suebedoo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

relaxing hotel and friendly staff.and i hope you take care of the towels and sheets cleaning other than that all was very good, and very friendly staff, especially restaurant staff.i will recommend it to anyone who wants to go to Marsa Alam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Yasser_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in July 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed the excellent facilities and brilliant team of hard working people who make this resort so special. I will now name the people that made our holiday so memorable. Waiters Osama, Mostafa and Ramadan along with Ehab are all true gentlemen who work tirelessly to make you feel welcome from the start of your stay and keep you well and truly "topped up" with drink when required without having to ask. The animation team of Bledi, Davida, Solo, Julia, Lisa, Juliette along with new recruits Alan and Jay (both English) are working hard all day to keep everyone entertained but if you dont want to participate they do not pester you, but still find time in the evenings to come and have a chat which is a nice touch. The food in the main restaurant is of very good standard with lots of choices for even the fussiest eaters and all the waiting on staff are very helpful and so friendly you feel at home from day one. The snorkelling pools just off the very good beach area are awash with different colours and breeds of fish. There is a jetty that also allows you to discover the beautiful reef that is absolutely amazing on first sight!
This hotel does exactly what it says on the tin and all aspects of the resort are so well run we have nothing but praise for what they do. All the rooms are very nice but like a lot of other people have mentioned, they do need a refurbishment but nothing major as lets face it you only sleep and shower in there after all. The swimming pools are spotlessly clean as are the garden areas with gardeners attending to them all day, every day. The Pool bar and Beach bar are no more than a short stroll (or swim) away, wherever you are on the resort.
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday were you are totally looked after by people who genuinely care about you having a great holiday then this is the place for you! Oh and just as importantly the weather is amazing every single day.
Thanks also to Charlotte who is always there asking if you are happy and everything is ok and sorts any issues or problems that you may encounter.
Finally Ahmed the Thomson representative is on hand to give you any advice on anything to do with Trips, money, resort info and help you need throughout your stay.

ALL IN ALL ON E BIG THANK YOU TO EVERYONE INVOLVED IN MAKING OUR HOLIDAY SPECIAL - WE WILL RETURN!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank roosternina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My self and my husband stayed at the resta reef hotel for two weeks in June 2013, we couldn't have picked a better hotel to stay, staff absolutely amazing catered for your every need, nothing was to much trouble. The candle lit dinner on the jetty was something else thanks to Abdul....Fantastic holiday all round. Can't wait to return at a later date.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

After last years very comfy and great stay for 2.5 weeks coming back for a 3 week stay I was pleasantly surprised with the improvements made since.
At a mere 10 minutes from the airport the hotel is perfectly situated with a very nice beach, two nice pools, spacious layout, a great main restaurant and several bars around the grounds.
As a scuba diver having a divecenter on the resort makes life very easy and relaxed, just the way a diving holiday should be.

Expecting last years great service and rooms Resta Reef Resort even improved on it with upgrades to the rooms, the all-inclusive was great, food very nice and good, loving the not-too-busy restaurants due to long opening hours with room to spare for all guests, food and drinks can be found from 07:00-00:00, the all-inclusive worthy.

Reception, waiters, (head) chefs and staff in general are very friendly and helpful, never pushy or grumpy and of course from the first hour of return being recognized as a return customer is a great feeling, feeling like a VIP all day long.
For those who like to be entertained the animation team did a great job, very friendly and never pushing you into anything, with a 2 week cycle for the daily shows (21:30-22:30) nobody gets bored with the same routines if the stay is longer than a week, the third week improvements and changes to shows made it worth watching and/or participating even more. Great job on fridays beach party too!

In summary, great place, great personel, easily recommended.
Looking forward to more trips to Resta Reef Resort, next one is already being planned!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
5.1 mi away
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
#17 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#8 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resta Grand Resort
Resta Grand Resort
#23 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Three Corners Sea Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resta Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Reef Resort

Property: Resta Reef Resort
Address: KM. 65 Quoseir - Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Resta Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly in tune with the landscape around it, Resta Reef Resort is a luxury retreat right on the shore of the Red Sea. Resta Reef Resort has a beautiful sandy beach on its doorstep, and a number of swimming pools set amidst lush gardens and tranquil waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resta Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Reef Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Reef Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing