We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Full of Eastern promise' and it delivered!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Resta Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resta Reef Resort
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'Full of Eastern promise' and it delivered!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the 'Resta Reef' last December. Unfortunately we have not been able to post this earlier as we have been moving house and have had no spare time to give it justice. We have only praise for the staff at the hotel, they couldn't do enough for us! The hotels either side may be grander but after taking a tour round we knew we had made the right decision in staying at the Resta Reef. The rooms may be basic but the beds are extremely comfortable. The room service was excellent and we were well looked after by Mustafa who amazed us with his awesome use of the towels. One day we returned to our room to find a monkey hanging from the bed post. He kept the room spotless and he always had a smile and a greeting for us. On arriving at the hotel we were greeted with smiles and a welcome drink. Our cases were taken to our room by a very friendly and handsome chap (whose name escapes us) but we came into contact with him frequently and he always treated us exceptionally well. We felt very well looked after! The staff in the restaurant were exceptional! We made so many friends, in particular Mohammed who we miss dearly. He is a little treasure and an asset to the hotel. When feeling unwell one particular day he insisted on coming especially to our room with a tempting breakfast and some Egyptian medicine. I am pleased to say it worked very well! The food was always well presented and there was a huge choice. Guests have no excuse for going hungry. The hotel provides food to suit everyone and it is nice and hot. The waiting staff are brilliant, each and every one, and made us feel like Royalty. This also applied to the waiting staff round the pool and in the disco. We made so many friends who made our holiday so very special. The highlight of our holiday was meeting Mohammed who ensured we had lovely clean, fluffy towels every day. We spent much of our time talking to Mo asking him lots of questions about Egypt and he readily responded in perfect English. We thoroughly enjoyed spending time with him and were delighted when he invited us to the staff football tournament. We had a great time and the staff made us feel so welcome. We felt honoured to be invited and were so disappointed for Mo when the Housekeeping Team lost in the final. A special mention must go to Elisa, the Guest Relations Staff Member, who proved to be great company and even arranged for a cake to be delivered to our room on our Wedding Anniversary. It is the first hotel we have visited where the Manager spends so much time with the guests and makes every effort to ensure they have a wonderful holiday. We enjoyed several evenings being entertained by the team and were particularly impressed with Fabio and Alessandro, they worked extremely hard and were so friendly. It was a wonderful, relaxing holiday. The snorkelling was out of this world. We saw an octopus, turtles and on our last morning several dolphin swam by. The fish were beautiful, the sea was stunning and the sand was soft on our feet. We had great weather and enjoyed relaxing by the pool or swimming off the end of the pier. There are several trips you can go on but having previously visited Egypt hubby decided to go on the quad bike out into the desert and one day we visited Port Ghalib. The hotel may be 3 star but the staff deserve 10. We hardly spent a bean but what we did spend was on tips for the wonderful staff. Thanks go to them for a wonderful holiday and for making the guests' enjoyment top priority. Well done to each and every one of them. 'Go Mo!'

Room Tip: No tips - every room seemed to be in a good position. However, some of the footpaths were slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDuffill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    625
    174
    71
    37
See reviews for
355
787
103
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here over Christmas and New Year. Hotel had good points and bad.
Good -
Good food, great beach bar (spent most our time here), superb snorkelling, nice choice of drinks.
Bad -
Poor drinks service with meals, smoky bar area and nowhere to sit in an evening for non smokers, poor wifi, Italian restaurant was a joke - three tables in the smoky bar that was the main walkway through the hotel.
We did eat twice in the a al carte restaurant next door in the Resta Grand - excellent meal and service and very reasonably priced.
Christmas Eve Gala Dinner was chargeable - something we've never encountered in 10 years of Christmas holidays - hotel was just being greedy and we didnt participate.
We did the overnight Luxor triip with the balloon ride booked through Thomson. This really was a superb trip and the highlight of our holiday.Also we did the boat trip on Christmas Day which was well worth the money and we were well looked after by Tracey. Marsa Alam is definitely the best place we have visited for snorkelling, much better than Sharm or Taba.
All in all not a bad choice of hotel but we would at the Grand next door if we returned and could get it for a reasonable price, I think it is worth paying the extra.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asuziq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed there for two weeks,16jan 2013-30jan2013, It was great! Staff very friendly and really looked after us, Thanks to Saad, Mostafa, Ahmed and the all team we had a great holiday.Rooms very clean, food was great, good choices and the snorkeling just at the hotel, right there even better.The entertaiment team, crazy italians and Charlotte with DJ Alex kept us very amused.We will definetly be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natividad j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escharen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The overall rating has to be considered in relation to the price of this resort. Resta Reef is not luxurious but offers a lot of things that are valuable or even essential for a nice stay.
First of all the quality of the whole staff from manager to gardner and frontoffice to waiters; they are all extremely service oriented and well accessible.
Rooms are functional and are kept very clean, like also the public areas and toilets. Animation program is versatile and is not forced. Meals are excellent and offer a good variety.

The whole area is of limited size which works out peasant. Number of beach beds and towels is fine. A good mix of nationalities and hapily not that many Russians make it pleasant. During the night when there is westwind there is a slight threat for noise from the powerplant in spite of the distance. A pier into the sea makes snorkeling at the reef attractive when the sea and wind does allow it. Nice intimate beach. Possibilities for excursions are limited. Therefor this resort can specialy be recommended for a stay up to 8 days and then offers more pleasure than many big ones.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here 23rd to 30th January 2013 - what can I say, we were looking for a relaxing week away and that is exactly what we got! A very clean resort, excellent rooms which were cleaned every day (fresh towels and bedding each day), wide choice of food, good service from the staff. Met some lovely people and despite the lack of sunshine we still feel as if we have had a good holiday. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Family rooms are excellent - very roomy for 2, shower very powerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davies99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Here till the 5th feb the hotel it self is 65km away from nearest big town it is in the desert the airport is only 10 minutes away but you probably know that so important information first
Tips we have not felt obliged to tip and the service is still very good but we will leave tips on our last day
Money exchange i brought 1000 egyptian pounds with me which cost £106 to buy from travel agent and i wish i didnt as i didnt need to bring any with me the hotel has a cash machine which also takes credit cards where you can insert english notes which exchanges it for egyptian pounds and 100 english pounds will get you 1150 egyptian pounds so its a much better rate here also at the end of the hotel drive are cheaper shops and a hsbc bank but the shops in the hotwl are about 500% dearer than the shops outside hotel i just went to buy 3 stamps which where marked 1.65 egyptian pounds and that wound be a total of 4.95 egyptian pounds or 50p he wanted 27 egyptian pounds which is about £3.00 6 times the value!!!
It is easy to buy in the shops here even when you haggle they know what people pay but if you want to buy anything then if they say 200 egyptian pounds you will get it for less than 100 but in town you will get it for 50 so it depends how desperate you are kids t shirts they want about 70 egyptian pounds in hotel but only 20-25 in town silicone snorkel is 200-300 in hotel but 100 - 120 £10-£12 in shops you need them here also coral shoes for in the sea are about £4
The hotel food is fairly basic but we havent got hungry if you live on mcdonalds then stay home the sea here was 23oc today 1st feb the heated pool was 32 and the nonheated pool was19
Local beer is fine as is the local spirits ill add more as the week goes on

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5taxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nice hotel for a low cost. Good food, but not much beef/chicken. Their pastas was very good! The snorkeling is fantastic! This is wy you should take this hotel. Not much else to do but the hotel has a variety of sports to do, as football, volleyball, stretching, boule, tabletennis, pool, waterpool and more. The Grand resort nextdoor has a better variety during the evening. The beds and pillow in the room are hard, I liked the bed but not the pillow. But if you need a soft bed, this is not for you :-) The lighting in the rooms are poor ( in case you need to put on any makeup).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monika n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
5.1 mi away
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
#17 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#8 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resta Grand Resort
Resta Grand Resort
#23 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Three Corners Sea Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resta Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Reef Resort

Property: Resta Reef Resort
Address: KM. 65 Quoseir - Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Resta Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly in tune with the landscape around it, Resta Reef Resort is a luxury retreat right on the shore of the Red Sea. Resta Reef Resort has a beautiful sandy beach on its doorstep, and a number of swimming pools set amidst lush gardens and tranquil waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resta Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Reef Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Reef Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing