We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Dream it was”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dreams Beach Marsa Alam
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
newcastle UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a Dream it was”
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Well having just returned from the Dreams Beach I can honestly say it was a FANTASTIC place,after reading some reports on Trip-Advisor we were not to sure exactly what we were in for,some reports were poor most were good,We travelled from manchester to the NEW Marsa airport and on to the hotel off the bus and checked in easy and quick then we were shown to our room and it was clean and cool 2 large single beds 2 arm-chairs and a coffee table the dressing table had the TV on a swivel base and that was about it (ample for a hotel room,the bathroom had the bath/shower a basin hair-dryer toilet and bede marble and tile and again spotless with clean towels daily,out to the balcony 2 chairs and a table looking on to the cntral boat lagoon with 4 plunge pools out side the blocks of rooms (for a dip in the summer) all in all vrey good impression to start the holiday.
The restaurant was the next stop and it was quite small/dark but there was an outside covered eating area where the grilled food was cooked in side the choice was OK but could be better salads/pasta soups and about 10 main dishes and potatoes and veg a little repetative over the week and food for most tastesso no need to go hungry and the breads and sweet were there to fill you upand quite a choice.there were also some satalight eaterys a Italian a grill and the Bedouin experiance also a fish restaraunt some you payed for All in all food is 7 out of 10.
Then the barr area in the foyer was a bit small quite crowded attimes (and the hotel was not full) so when full it will be very crowded,the staff throught the hotel were very polite and helpful and liked a bit joke with the guests tables were cleaned of empties all the time and clean ash-trays put on tables at the same time quite a pleasent area with a singer every night who mingled with the guests and invited then to join in but did not push you to participate all in all very good.
The pool area was also clean with astro turf around it plenty beds and the towel boys were very quick off the mark when you walked to your chosen spot they were there with towels and the pool bar was handy for drinks and snacke with waiters brining you drinks if you wanted and as always with all hotel staff a small tip now and then was a good way to thank them for a small service to make your holiday very relaxing.
The beach was split into 2 with beds and wind-breaks for the breeze the sea was warm but only for a paddle as the Life-guard stopped you going too far in because the Reef is protected and to swin for proper you had to enter the water via the jetty which was out into deper water to protect you and the reef as it is like all coral dangerous and can give a nasty cut.
Apart from the hotel there is nothing else near and if you want shopping the nearest village(1 street) is 30mins away by taxi or shuttle bus it is out on it's own for a quiet break (what we wanted) to do a trip/tour most places are 2hours away not what we wanted so we stayed put may-be if we had 2weeks we would have took a tour would have loved a visit ti The Karnak Temple and the Valley of the Kings but this was a 6hour bus ride away and would be a long haul trip.
Now don't get me wrong we knew what we had booked and it was what we wanted A SHORT RELAXING WEEK in the sun and we got exactly that all i all a great holiday good hotel pleasent staff and clean worth a visit befor it gets like Sharm (built-up) it is a place we would not hesatate to visti again.
And I know some reports are the oposite of mine but every one is different and most reports on this hotel are Good so give it a try and enjoy

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donkey001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    210
    106
    57
    44
See reviews for
227
279
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

we have just returned from dreams beach and we have had an excellent time. the food was fantastic we had a baby with us 17mth old and none of us were ill for the whole two weeks (a first) the service from the staff and animation team was the best ive ever experienced and ive travelled all over the world. I think anyone giving bad comments about this hotel wants to think about how much they paid for it in the first place some people just always want to moan. julio as we nicknamed him the singer was hillarious but that didnt spoil our nights at all it just added to the fun. mickey or minnie mouse comes out to see the kids everynight those girls deserve a medal!!
my only down point was the pool was freezing this time of year but we just used the heated one next to the swimming pool. i only wish we had gone when everything was open as it would have been excellent. there are a few areas that look a bit tatty towards the beach but elsewhere the grounds are stunning and very well kept and its not everyday you can feed the horses and camels the baby loved it ! snorkling was great too and they only let you go out if they think its safe which was very wise as on windy days the sea gets really rough.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyfamily2England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

having just returned from dreams beach hotel we felt we should write this review as before we went we read a few bad reviews the hotel came up to all our expectations answering a few of the bad points on other reviews 1. food not up to standard answer enjoyed every meal 2. resort dirty answer staff cleaning from early morning till late at night very clean
3. outside pool to cold answer swim faster you soon get warm 4. animation team to pushy or not including the british answer only one member found to be pushy this member no longer part of staff had no problems with rest of team all members of staff excellent did not push for tips couldnt do enough for us suggest holiday makers look at airline staff and airport staff to realise how good the hotel staff are if your going with thomas cook buy your duty free from airport leaving britain do not rely on thomas cook or the duty free at marsa alam airport at airport nothing priced and seem to charge what they think they can get out of you on aeroplane did not seem to have what people wanted though on list of goods carried also do not expect pillows or blankets on plane as non where available going back to the hotel i cannot enforsize how good the holiday was thankyou to sami and rabea for the very good personal service they give us as for the problem of not been able to enter sea from the beach we would sooner look at the beautiful coral which would soon be devistated if this was allowed we have ruined our coast line and sea`s so please put up with the rules as for not being five star hotel check cost of holiday did you believe you would get a five star hotel for that amount of money if you know of one please let the rest of us know the five star rating is not uk stars

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliemacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Just returned from here on 9/3, would not rate this as a 5star more 3+.
Hotel staff very friendly & helpful
Food is what you expect in egypt, lots of rice & pasta
Rooms & hotel in general very clean, but some areas need updating (doesn`t spoil your holiday)
Good pub singer in lobby bar at night, not much more in way of animation (shows were cancelled on 4 nights we were there)
Bad points:
Lobby bar area does not have enough seating for number of guests, and no waiter service of drinks you have to get them at the bar , which can be a lottery who`s turn it is to be served.
Thomas Cook rep told us in welcome meeting, we could eat in Grill or Italian restuarants as many times as you liked. This does not work.
I tried booking that day (Tues) only to be the Italian was fully booked all week, it was only when I told manager it was my wifes birthday on fri , he squeezed us in.
People on a 2 week holiday find this situation out and then block book for the whole of the second week.
Told the rep, not really interested , it was hotel management run.
Biggest minus point: have been to egypt 6 times now and this is the 1st hotel where " SAD" people were getting up from 6.45am to put towels on sunbeds. 95% of these were Brits. if you didnt get to pool area by 8am all beds were gone.
Go to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandamNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Before I went away, I had read the many reviews on this hotel and most had mentioned that the food wasn't up to scratch and that many had had food poisoning. Firstly, the food is excellent, there was always something I and my party enjoyed, secondly, will people please stop blaming the resort for food poisoning.

Warnings are provided at the start of the holiday, ie avoid too much sun, wash hands after handling the local currency, avoid spicy food if your aren't used to it etc. However some will choose to ignore this and decide that the piece of beef they ate at lunch, which was cooked to perfection by the way, is the only possible cause of a bout of the trots. Just because the meat isn't cooked to hell, with no moisture or flavour remaining DOESN'T MEAN IT IS UNDERCOOKED.

If you are booking this hotel please ignore the nonsense that is uttered below. These people wouldn't know a decently cooked meal if it arrived at a Michelin Star restaurant, under a big banner saying "perfectly cooked food".

As for the rest of it, the staff are great, the animation team are little nauseating, but nothing out of the ordinary. At around 10.00 every morning an onslaught of very bad Italian dance music begins, to which the over staffed animation department jig along to. The kids seem to enjoy, so i guess that's all that matters.

We went out of season and therefore not all the bars etc were open. Which was a shame as the only place for a beer at night was the lobby bar, which was stalked by a young egyptian man who is the alleged "entertainer". OK, he was entertaining, but for all the wrong reasons. When drunk brits doing karaoke are better than the paid entertainment, something is wrong. The disco was kind of fun, but you couldn't just relax and listen to the music, the animation team were determined to control the fun and try to get everyone on stage for games. Some will love this, maybe i'm just being miserable.

The hotel is secluded and the nearest town is an overpriced taxi ride away, but believe me, you aren't missing anything if you don't go to il quesir. It is very run down and there isn't a lot to do other than barter in the many shisha, sandle, sunglasses and statue shops which are everywhere. This is old egypt, but the buildings are falling down and are being replaced by tacky tourist bazaars.

Overall, the hotel is great, the weather's great, the staff are great, the tennis court is made of sand, bit odd, if you're a serious tennis player, the court won't cut it, but Mohammed the groundsman, is more than happy to be your ball boy for a small tip. Thouroughly enjoyed the holiday and you will too, just go with an open mind, some will expect 5 star luxury at the cost of a 3 star (Linda from London). Be serious, this holiday is inexpensive and is excellent value for money.

Enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mouley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

I have just returned from 8 days at the Dreams Beach resort in Marsa Alam. I enjoyed it greatly and I would consider going again. Here is what I thought.

First, the one and only caveat: Dreams Beach is described as a beach resort. BUT - You Are Not Allowed Into The Sea. This is to protect the inshore coral. So paddling, dipping, casual swims are out of bounds and monitored by staff. Access to deep water is via an iron pier and stairs. 15 meters with some swell at all times. The description skirts round this and gives an impression of standard beach resort. I absolutely appreciate the importance of protecting the coral. But if you or your children want a typical beach holiday with splashing then look at one of the other hotels.

I put that point first because it could be a deal breaker. But that apart, then I really think this is one of the better hotels in the area.

Food - some previous reviews mentioned stomach upsets. I know the hotel took this seriously because thay washed every single thing in bottled water. The cafes had antibacterial rub dispensers, and I saw the staff going through handwash and gloves like a hospital. They were big on cling film use and I even saw all the staff of one restuarant; cooks, managers and waiters sitting round a table testing the food and doing a daily briefing. I had no problems and people I knew ate salad all the time and had no issues.

I found the selection to be wide and fresh. Also if you are going out for the day, go to reception the day before and they will make a packed lunch and/or breakfast. Enough in the one meal for two people!

Staff - were helpful and not pushy about tips. English was spoken by most staff, with the reception and bar staff being the most fluent. The bar staff are helpfl and will make suggestions for days out.

Rooms - very nice. Every room has a balcony with small table and wicker chairs. The hotel is three floors in a wide U shape asround four pools. No one really overlooks anyone else unless they make an effort. TV is Arabic satellite with three English speaking Arabic channels. Fridge and safe in closet.

Location - the beach is very nice and clean. If you use the jetty, the snorkelling is quite good with lots of reef fish, starfish and hermit crabs. After 4.30pm it is almost deseted and very peaceful. The sand is a mixture of yellow beach sand, fine shingle and crushed white coral. It is possible to walk for miles along the coast. The rocks are full of fossilised coral and seaplants.

The nearest town is Il Quesir - aout 20 to 30 mins drive. At 4.30 each day is a bookable minibus. It returns around 7.30pm Price £10. There is a taxi service which will take you there and back for €25, and wait for you. Il Quesir is typical small tourist town. A bit grubby with lots of spice and T shirt shops.

Facilities - there are four or five small shops selling T shirts, jewellery and nick nacks. Good selection of swimming and snorkelling stuff. Prices exactly the same as UK.
There is a dive centre - SIS not PADI. Their briefings seemed competent but a little pricy because they had a local monopoly.

I walked for 45 mins up the coast to a nearby hotel and found their beach to be poky and needing cleaned in comparison to dreams. It also felt very quiet.

Night life - Dreams Beach is not near anything so you have the entertainment provided. I didn't go so i cannot comment. It seemed to be Mr and Mrs type quizzes, dress up nights.

Money - I did not spend much at all. But if you need Egyption pounds for tips there is a cash machine that changes notes. Machine is dependant on phone lines working tho'.

The weather was hot so take plenty sunscreen. All in all I wuld consider ths again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sabaticalbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

My partner and I wanted a hot week away from it all and booked to stay at Dreams Beach Hotel Marsa Alam through Fleetway travel. This was on an all inclusive basis.

The Hotel was very pleasant and is in a great location right on the beach. It is true that because of the coral you cannot go ito the sea from the beach but have to use the jetty provided. Whilst this is commendable both for the protection of the coral and for the safety of people it was a little frustrating, especially when the red flag was flying which was two days out of the week for us. However when you do go in the sea formthe jetty it is spectacular and the coral and fish are amazing even when only using a snorkel and mask.

To make up for the beach the are numerous swimming pools one of which is heated but the large pool was bracing to say the least. I would not agree with some reviews that it was too cold to swim in. I swam and even stood in at the edge reading a book for a while to cool down. The sea was warmer though.

We used the spa and both had a 2 hour suana/massage/body scrub/jacuzzi experience for 50 Euro each. We really enjoyed this and were really chilled out afterwards. A good thing about this was that we were together throughout the experience having our massage in a room together at the same time which reassured my partner who had never had one previously.

There is a dive centre based at the hotel and although neither of us had even had a go at scuba diving before we had a 'try dive' off the jetty. This was again 50 Euros each and was worth every penny. It was one to one instruction andwe both though it was a fantastic experience. Something we will both do again. The dive centre also does trips out to some other areas but we didnt do this.

The food was consistently fine throughout the time we were there. There was enough choice to make it interesting everyday even though it was towards the simple side. There is an italian restaurant that you can book for a candlelit dinner with a different menu each day at no extra cost. Whilst pleasant enough the night we did use this the food was not really any different in quality to the main restaurant though the service was nice.

There are several bars, one on the beach, one by the pool and others in the main building. The cold lager type beer they served at each bar was ok but after a week was becoming dull for me. I didnt mind that it was served in plastic near the pool and beach as I prefer not to have broken glass in my feet though sometimes the half pint was more like 1/3 pint because the head. When its free it doesnt really matter. The red wine was adequate even if on the lighter side we didnt try the white. One thing that struck me as odd was the even though the reception bar was 24hrs wine was not served after 10pm. All other drinks including spirits were though - odd?

The animation team were friendly and though keen and enthusiastic didn't make you feel you had to do anything you didn't want to. We didn't get involved in many of their activities as we wanted to just chill out. The singer in the lobby was ok and we were fortunate enough to have some very good kareoke singers which made for a pleasant time.

The room was very nice and spacious. We thought it was clean and in general the hotel was well looked after in that respect. I have a bit of a phobia about cockroaches but you cannot goto hot places and not expect to see any. However i didn't see one all week which i like very much. As for flies I have had more flies come to a bbq in my garden than I saw all week, so again not a problem.

The service was ok but occassionally they could have had more people behind the bar to speed things up but i am picking a bit with that. When we were on the beach we occassionally had people ask if we wanted to ride a camel, go quad biking, wanted a massage or buy a newspaper. Whis was usually less than twice a day altogether and we didn't feel it was over intrusive.

There were several shops in the hotel and although we looked round didnt buy anything other than some perfume from the perfume shops which was an interesting experience. don't let them kid you they only 100/150ml they have 25ml bottles in the desk drawer! In one of the other shops the assistant had a good chat chat with us and gave us a short but free arabic lesson which i did like.

We took Egyptian pounds and £1 coins for giving as tips. I think if I were to go again I would taken more money as Euros since the spa and the trips were all priced in euros and these were accepted in cash. We were a little surprised that we had to pay about 150LE to buy an entry visa once we got to Marsa Alam airport but this was probably down to not doing enough research before we went.

The one disappointment about the whole holiday was the apparent UNCOVERING OF A SCAM going on at the hotel. I note that while we were there someone has posted a review indicating £110 went missing from their locked safe, well a similar thing happen to us. On the second day we returned to our room to find we could not unlock our safe and the electronic lock indicated we had input the wrong code. After several attempts we called reception and a technician came with the key and reset it. A check of the contents seemed fine. It was only a day later when we counted our money that we realised 200LE were missing. Upon talking to another couple it seemed they too had a problem with their safe the day after they arrived and several days later realised £100 sterling was missing. It subsequently transpired that there quite a few people who had problems with their safe and found that relatively small amounts of money had been taken. At least five other couples. We went to the management about this and one couple went so far as to get the tourist police involved. There was a general feeling of the managment not being too bothered about it and the manager who said he would let us know what they found out never spoke to us again. This was disappointing to say the least even though we didnt expect any positive outcome from their investigation an update would have been appreciated. In the end we lost about £30 sterling and we didnt let it spoil our holiday but it did seem to be common and I imagine most people like us would have not bothered. It was only when we realised that others had the same experience did we report it.

Overall we had a good holiday that we thought was value for money in a pleasant hotel at a good location. Hopefully the thief will be outed and justice done. We would not let one thief( or more) be held the fault of the hotel and we did enjoy the place.

Would we go again? Probably - but we would make sure we sealed the safe somehow.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNMSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsa Alam
22.9 mi away
Resta Reef Resort
Resta Reef Resort
#21 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
27.8 mi away
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
0.0 mi away
Resta Club Marina View Port Ghalib
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Hills Resort Marsa Alam
Coral Hills Resort Marsa Alam
#40 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Onatti Beach Resort
Hotel Onatti Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in El Quseir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
4.5 mi away
Utopia Beach Club
Utopia Beach Club
#28 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Beach Marsa Alam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Beach Marsa Alam

Property: Dreams Beach Marsa Alam
Address: 18 km North of Marsa Alam Airport, Marsa Alam 1111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Marsa Alam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Beach Marsa Alam 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Beach Marsa Alam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Beach Marsa Alam Hotel Marsa Alam
Dreams Beach Hotel Marsa Alam
Marsa Alam Dreams Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing