We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of the best dives in the world...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elphinstone Reef

Elphinstone Reef
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vejby, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of the best dives in the world...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

...sounds maybe exaggerated, I haven't tried "everything" yet, but it certainly was the most beautiful and fascinating of our 50 dives som far. We sailed out to the reef in zodiac in just 17 minutes from the shore, dolphins at the bow, hammerhead in the deep, and loads and loads and loads of live in between. At one point, it was almost like a "fish soup" :-) We will dive this site every time we visit the Red Sea.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    125
    30
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“There's more to Elphinstone than sharks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The reef rises straight from hundreds of metres depth and is washed by a constant N-S current so is plastered with hard and soft corals home to innumerable fish and a few turtles. The north end has a convenient platform at 40 metres where the sharks appear but only at dawn. You can then do a superb drift to the southern end. The southern ridge descends steeply and is pierced by a cave at 55-58 metres. This is a pretty awesome place to be and is only for the most experienced and well trained divers, well out of reach of the average PADI Advanced Diver.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank davidvictorwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Go early to avoid liveaboard build up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My guide was amazing and a small dive group. Viz at 6am was good, but was very choppy when we came up.
What a shame shark are now so rare.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaritaStrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Mids, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Bit of a early morning start - about 2.5 hour boat trip, but great diving with Oceanic White Tip sharks and well worth it !!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank stu1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, Utrecht
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Elphinestone Reef two years later..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Two years ago we went to this place and it was not a good experience. But this year in November we had two nice dives with allot of sharks, at least 8. Very close en good too see. This was one of the best dives in my live! See the pictures!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank timnijhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elphinstone Reef also viewed

Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Elphinstone Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing