We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go early to avoid liveaboard build up”
Review of Elphinstone Reef

Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Go early to avoid liveaboard build up”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My guide was amazing and a small dive group. Viz at 6am was good, but was very choppy when we came up.
What a shame shark are now so rare.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaritaStrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    156
    36
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Mids, England
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great !!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Bit of a early morning start - about 2.5 hour boat trip, but great diving with Oceanic White Tip sharks and well worth it !!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank stu1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, Utrecht
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elphinestone Reef two years later..”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Two years ago we went to this place and it was not a good experience. But this year in November we had two nice dives with allot of sharks, at least 8. Very close en good too see. This was one of the best dives in my live! See the pictures!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank timnijhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haderslev, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great dive”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was also a fantastic dive. We saw small sharks, giant sea turtles, beautiful corals of all colours and everything was so unspoiled and well protected.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteHJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oceanic white tips!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

On a sunny, blustery morning, we just hovered around in the deep blue off Elphinstone watching the sharks as they circled around and through us divers, curious and graceful. What can I say other than that I will always treasure this experience!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Atck4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elphinstone Reef also viewed

Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Elphinstone Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing