We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crowded, lots of fish and a few distant sharks”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Elphinstone Reef

Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
BC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crowded, lots of fish and a few distant sharks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Two live aboards and a few day boats unloaded all their divers at the same time early in the morning. It was a bit crowded down there. As a result a few sharks graced us with their presence from a distance and I was amazed at the amount of small fish on the reef. We were shocked by a zodiak that zoomed over our group and parked above us with the props running when we were near the surface, a very unsafe situation!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank wendyallanbothdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    152
    34
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breitenbach, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“big fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

this time too i.e. lived up to it's reputation,
this time too i.e. reputation
this time too i.e. lived up to it's reputation

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Markku L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sharks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent forget FOOTBALL & take a proper adrenlin buzz dive this reef with the White Tip Sharks & Dolphins an excellent dive with plenty of corals & marine life

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Unfortunately we never seen any of the big guys, but I suppose its all about the luck on the day. Infil and exfil by gemini, went with Emperor Divers. The current was quite strong initially on first dive and some divers were seen clutching the reef. Good strong drift dive. Started at 30 metres and stepped up during the dive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mapesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good (but not great) dive site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was my second time visiting Elphinstone. Since visiting the first time I have amassed another 150 dives and visited many more sites in the Far East and the Maldives.

The reel reason that you come to Elphinstone is for the chance to see big stuff such as Hammerheads and Oceanic Whitetips. We did not see either, just a white tip reef shark, which is just the luck of the draw.

This is undoubtedly the best site in the Marsa Alam area, though personally I would not describe it as one of the best sites in the world, I could probably muster ten sites in the Maldives and Sulawesi alone that I thought were better.

Why is this? Well it is all down to what you can see on the dive if the big things do not show. On the reef itself the soft corals are still lovely, there is some life such as the usual Red Sea things of Giant Morays, Scorpionfish, Anenomefish etc. however the sites in the Maldives/Far East would have more to keep you interested if the big things do not show up, which as we all know is insha allah.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monkeys_Mum_and_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elphinstone Reef also viewed

Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Elphinstone Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing